Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Luton

pleasant hotel 15 mins walk from station

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: décor could be upgraded
Location: walk to station 15 mins. take train to majori (line 3 ) and see the Baltic
quiet hotel staff can speak very good English.breakfast is very good staff pleasant. kettle in room very useful and lift to all floors also a necessity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Classic hotel next door to Dome Cathedral

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Location. Breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautifully decorated.
Cons: We asked for a taxi to go to the airport. They instead ordered a fixed fee taxi that charged us more than a regular taxi. But only extra 3 Euros.
Location: Because you are essential in the center of Old Town Riga all the sites are close by. Also lots of inexpensive places to eat such as Kulture Klub ALA.
The Hotel Gutenberg is a great hotel essentially in the heart of old town Riga. It is a close to all of the major sights in Old Town Riga. A very pleasant hotel, nicely decorated. The rooms are very clean with all the amenities. The breakfast is awesome!! Great value for the money.
5 out of 5
by Graham

Great hotel for a break in Riga.

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Very quick check-in from friendly staff. Very helpful staff in the hotel. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. I would stay here again without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel in old town, close to all amenities

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe breakfast could have been a little warmer
Location: Walking tour, Blackhead museum, shops, Christmas market
Thoroughly enjoyed everything, cosy room, beautiful deco. friendly and helpful staff..
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location, in historical center but not directly on a main square or other noisy thoroughfare; front desk staff exceptionally helpful, loved the historical theme of the hotel decor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry, UK

Peace and quiet in central Riga

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food.
Cons: Access is up a few steps, but I can't see that anything could be done about it given the hotel's location.
Location: Everything in old Riga (Vecriga) is easy to reach. Cafes, restaurants, churches, castle, parks, river trips, all just moments away.
Gutenbergs is in old Riga, where you want to be. Yet it's quiet, just down a side street off Dome Square. Result: everything you want is within easy reach and you can get some sleep. It's also quirky, consisting of several old buildings converted into a superb hotel. The staff are lovely, breakfast is good, the rooftop terrace restaurant gives good views over the old town and the food is great. Just remember that tips are included (look for akpalposana on the bill). We've stayed here before, we booked it this time without looking elsewhere, and will happily do the same again if and when we return to Riga.
4 out of 5
by Mark from Copenhagen

Decent hotel for a good price

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was okay. However the hotel is pretty run-down and our room needed to be ventilated when we arrived, it was way to stuffy, like it hadn't had fresh air in weeks.
3 out of 5
by ANNA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Riga

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel to visit Old Riga. Internet service not great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Central and close to Cathedral Square

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: Its convenient location, very helpful staff, good food and a comfortable 4*.
Location: Very central, Cathedral and other buildings and museums easily accessible. The Art Nouveau buildings were an attraction for us.
Very comfortable central hotel. We had a standard room, small with wooden beams that had to be avoided but it was equipped with everything needed, modern en suite, tea/coffee and minibar facilities. Staff ere very helpful. Public computer and printer for checking-in flights on line. Roof top restaurant only open from May (we went in April), but there is a basement restaurant for breakfast and evening meals and many restaurants nearby. We would stay there again but choose a superior room for more space as we are in our '70s.