Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Old Town atmosphere.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Comfortable when travelling alone due to location and safety.
Cons: Water is cool and needs to run for a while to heat up a bit. Shelf space for smaller clothing items would help.
Location: Centrally located to all good things of interest.
Very clean. Accommodating and friendly staff and centrally located to everything in Old Riga. Adequate breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfectly located for exploring the old town

Posted Mar 21, 2016
Pros: The character of the building
Location: Ideally situated to explore all of the old town.
Very friendly staff. Ideally situated in the middle of the old town (which, in all fairness is very small), near the main bus stop. A small but comfortable hotel, the breakfast isn't the greatest but there's a fair variety and it's very good given the price of the room which are neatly decorated with deep red colours and wonderful high ceilings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The hotel was extremely friendly, the room was huge, clean, quiet and very comfortable with a big bathroom with bath. Everything was beautifully appointed. It was a little too warm for me, that's my only criticism. But I would most definitely stay here again. The location was very central in the Old Town and this was overall great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel, great location!

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Great family run hotel with everything you need. Huge bed and room, delicious and extensive breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Only small negative is the WiFi was a little patchy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glossop

Excellent location set in the heart of the old tow

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Location, prices and friendly staff.
Cons: Kettle in room and a set of drawers for your clothes.
Location: Location is fantastic. Bars and restaurants nearby are great, museums really good and the beaches at Jurmala really accessible and well worth a visit.
The hotel is a very reasonable price and cannot be beaten for its location in the heart of Old Riga. Staff are pleasant and willing to assist with anything asked of them. the economy rooms are what you need but not much more but then again you do not need to stay indoors in your hotel in Old Riga.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Man-Tess good location/price

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location, value, breakfast
Cons: Soundproofing
Location: Historic old town, art nouveau architecture, canal and river cruise, museums.
We stayed at the Man-Tess in Riga for 6 nights in August. Taxi from the airport was easy after giving the driver the address. (you can take a bus and walk, but you'd need to be good at directions since it's a bit winding in old town.) It was late at night when we arrived, but somebody is on duty 24 hours - the front door is locked at night, but a buzzer alerts the night person to let you in. Good security. There is an elevator so you don't have to carry luggage upstairs. Man-Tess is in Vecriga, the old town. It is close to the canal and the Art Nouveau area of town too. Easy to walk to all the attractions in old town and other areas too. The price is good, breakfast is included and open for a long time every morning. Very good breakfast, coffee made to order. Always cereal, toast, pastries, cheese and meats, fruit, hard boiled eggs. We left and came back, so we experienced two rooms. On the 4th floor, facing the side street rather than the front, we had a nice large room with a comfortable bed and good bathroom, nothing fancy but fine. It was still a bit noisy at night with street noise. The windows open for a breeze - it was hot, but not too hot. When we returned, we stayed in a room on the 2nd floor, facing front. It was smaller, but we hadn't booked it in advance and it was available. The problem with sleeping in front is that the bar down the street is very rowdy at night, all night. Difficult to sleep with noise. Stay on the side if possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Riga pleasure

Posted Jun 25, 2014
We have just stayed at the Mann-Tess and found it to be very comfortable, nice small scale lodging with solid morning light breakfast and very helpful and friendly concierge, wait staff. It is located in the heart of Old Riga. I highly recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel in a lovely city

Posted May 20, 2014
A rather shabby, tired looking hotel, staff not exactly friendly apart from one young woman who was helpful and smiling! Our bed was very hard and uncomfortable, in a large room with dated decor and soft furnishings, the bathroom was okay but the water could have been hotter. The buffet breakfast was simple but tasty, without a great deal of choice and we were only offered one cup of coffee! The hotel is in a great location in Riga old town, within easy walking distance of just about everything you could want to see or do. The huge downside of this was an extremely noisy local bar, with drinkers sitting outside for the whole of the Saturday night, making no effort to keep the noise down. Sadly, I couldn't recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adam from warsaw

Good value, good location...

Posted Nov 26, 2013
Pros: The value...
It's a very well located hotel right in the centre of Riga. Large room, little old fashion but for the price I can't complain, superb value. Good connection from and to the hotel with the Air Baltic Express bus one can book on line. On concern for some people could be a bit of noise from the street as people going back from the parties but it was a weekend...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Baba Duma from Greece

Central hotel close to all main attractions

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: Location, exterior and interior of the building.
We stayed at this hotel on 1st and 2nd August, 2013. Our decision to book a double room there, was based on the very good (sometimes enthusiastic) comments of customers - in this and other relevant sites - and the reasonable price (booked more than two months in advance). Not that we were disappointed but our experience could be better if the room was larger (we could hardly move between the bed and our baggage) and there was A/C (we had to keep the window open but the noise of the drunken people from the nearby bar did not let us sleep until late or, better, early in the morning). The staff was quite helpful and the breakfast satisfactory, though quite limited - but this is the rule in all Baltic countries.