Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Excellent hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 19, 2016
This our 3rd stop there in the last 4 years. Very central to walk the old town and newer busuness/shopping area. Big, clean comfortable rooms, good size convinient bathroom facilities, fantastic breakfast, everything you need to enjoy Riga.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Famous hotel and lives up to expectations

Posted Jul 20, 2016
My stay was faultless. Staff always pleasant and available. Great room with all of the comforts of home and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

VERY CENTRAL , EASY TO GET FROM EVERY VERE

Posted Aug 29, 2015
NCE STAFF BREAKFAST SUPER GOOD ALL IN ALL I LIKE THIS HOTEL MYNEXT STAY IN RIGA WILL BE ROMA HOTEL IM IN LOVE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: Brilliant breakfast
very spacious design , and great price from Expedia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finland

Excellent situation

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Clean, courteous service, excellent decor. You name it - this hotel has it!
Cons: 'Improving' could only be compared to trying to mend somethng that isn't broken!
Location: Every important museum is within about a ten-minute walk.
Well situated at the edge of the old town opposite a beautiful park. There are many good, but slow-service, restaurants within a few minutes' walk. Reserve at least an hour's wait for food to appear on the table; this means that you can't be hungry if you want to eat in a restaurant. However, the food is always good when it arrives. A taxi from the bus station charged 15 € to take us to the hotel. On arrival there the driver said that there were two hotels of that name and we needed the other one, so he drove another five minutes and charged another 5 € to dump us in another street, saying that it was one-way and he couldn't drive further but the hotel was only 50 metres along the street. It was 500 metres and turned out to be the hotel where he had first taken us. When we checked out of the hotel we took a taxi waiting outside and he charged 4.50 € to take us to the bus station. Moral - beware of taxi drivers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, Ireland

almost perfect

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: good location, quiet, very handy.
Cons: air conditioning, especially in rooms for smokers and a slightly larger TV.
Location: very centrally, close to all kind of shops, restaurants, coffee shops, very handy...excellent!
Well, I was only for one night, being in business trip, I could say it was excellent. Everything I needed I had. Here I mention: smoking room, which I requested, formidable work desk, internet very good, excellent ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel right in the city centre

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Location and included breakfast
Cons: One night we could hear someone else's TVs through a vent in the bedroom not sure what the vent was for or which room the noise was coming from.
Location: Great for sight seeing and shopping. There is a great hop on hop off bus which the ticket is valid for 2 days. Good restaurants near by too.
Staff very pleasant and friendly,hotel right in the city centre opposite the canal and park. Great breakfast included with a choice of English breakfast, cereals, pastries, cold meats and cheeses and fruit. Fruit juices, tea, fruit teas and coffee. The tea is Liptons which is weak so if you want a strong morning cuppa take your own teabags. This is the second time we have stayed here previously named the FG Royal, would recommend it and will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Location, location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Comfort and accessibility.
Cons: It is slowly being updated.
Location: Concerts, opera, malls and restaurants are all within walking distance.
Best location in Riga, overlooking the Freedom Monument and easy access to Old Town, opera, restaurants. The service was excellent and the breakfast, best in Riga. The hotel has recently redecorated the reception area in warm, light colors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2014
The hotel doesn't have air conditioning. We were "lucky" to stay there when the outside temp. well exceeded 30C ((( - which happens in Riga maybe once in 100 years, but still... Bad experience. You would not find sleepers in your room. But you can pay 3 euro at the reception for a pair. A little bit strange custom to my taste...)))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lisa from West Sussex

Good hotel close to all amenities

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: It's proximity to places of interest
Cons: One morning the hotel had ran out of milk at breakfast and a guest had to nip to the local shop to buy some for his cereal. Not good customer service!
Location: Right in city centre close to shops restaurants bars local places of interest.
The hotel staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good, typical European breakfast with cold cheeses and hams, pastries, cereals and a few hot dishes which were unusual for a breakfast, like chicken in bread crumbs with boiled potatoes and hot vegetables. Toast was also available, a selection of fruit teas and coffee and Liptons black tea - nearest to English tea - ok a bit of a weak tea. Rooms were of a good size with nice bathrooms, the atrium seating areas were excellent, very spacious and well kept. Intending to stay here again next year due to it's close proximity to shops, restaurants, cafes and places of interest.