Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A long way from the centre. No food facilities

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We were given a bare room with no chairs and a stained carpet. On complaining we were given a better room. The carpet was still grubby as were the chairs, otherwise it was clean. No air conditioning, very noisy. A loud bell went off at 6am and then at 7 and 8 am. Breakfast was basic and we were asked to leave at 10.05 whilst still eating because the cafe was closing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2016
Pros: Even though we were leaving before breakfast, they prepared a sack breakfast to take along. Never had that before. It was a great help to our travels
Cons: We ordered 2 rooms at the same time, expecting them to be somewhere near each other. They were on two different floors.
We had a quick layover in Riga. We came in late and left early. The hotel corresponded with us prior to our visit, confirming our need for taxi to/from airport. They also offered to have a sack breakfast, since we had to leave before breakfast was served. It was a terrific respite for the 9 hours we were in the country.
2 out of 5
by Inna from Oslo

Skunk hotel))

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, but smell from the bathroom was terrible, in most bathrooms in the hotel actually.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice economic hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: Quiet hotel, helpful staff.
Location: Not in the centre, but centre can be easily reached by public transport. Quiet area.
Stayed a few days in November. Clean and nice, polite helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by Alina from london

Would not choose again.

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
Changed room as wifi connection was not working in the first room. First and second rooms were smelly with dirty carpets. Second room lost internet connection next morning. Not perfect when traveling with business. Receptionist , was very nice and helpful. 5 stars for her.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel.

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is great if you don't mind using Rigas public transport or have access to a car in order to get where you may need to go. The rooms are large and comfortable, and the breakfasts are good too. My only gripe would be that the WiFi coverage needs looking at, as not every room can connect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Value for money hotel out of town centre

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: The size of the room
Cons: Wifi, although free was intermittent unless you were in the lobby area
Location: You would need to go into Riga to do sightseeing
I booked this hotel because it was a good price and a 3 bedded room. The room layout was good as there was a double bed in one room with a door which opened into a lounge area where there was a sofa bed, desk, tv etc. This meant we had some privacy from our 15 year old son. The breakfasts were fine, unexciting but plenty to fill up on. The down side of the hotel was the location, in a quiet residential area but a 20 min trolley bus ride from the centre of Riga. The buses were frequent and cheap but inconvenient if you wanted to go back to the hotel before going out in the evening. We knew this before we booked so its a balance of cost over convenience.
4 out of 5
by BW from UK

Big rooms!

Posted Oct 2, 2013 on Hotels
Kolonna Hotel Brigita is a very nice hotel. The staff are polite, the rooms are very big and clean - much nicer than the pictures suggest. City centre is not far away either. Breakfast was the same every day which made it less appealing to get up for, however all in all it is a really good place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Russia

Posted Mar 9, 2012 on Hotels
hotel is situated far from old riga but there are couple busstops near hotel and it's easy to reach city center unfortuantely there was troubles with wi-fi 2 days without internet, it's difficult for me
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aberystwyth, UK

OK for cheap out of city stay

Posted Sep 10, 2009
If you have your own car, don't mind taking public transport or walking a few miles to the city then maybe this place would be right for you. It's pretty basic and in a residential area with very little to see or do close by. Blocks of flats and very serious and not very approachable locals. I hardly saw a smile outside of the hotel. Hotel staff were very professional and well presented. Free WIFI and an ok breakfast is a plus. Rates go up and down considerably at the low end it's a good deal.