Ratings based on 1,133 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Great room and friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Comfortable, clean and brilliant location. Staff were really helpful and their English is really good. Best hotel room I've stayed in. Added bonus of top floor view of the old town and park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location, beautiful Hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Rooms were awesome
Cons: Breakfast setup tables are too close to buffet area...Traffic jams at breakfast
Location: All the old town sites
Checked in got an upgrade, decided to ask about the Suites, upgraded again for $30 each night. Wonderful Hotel close to everything, staff was great, breakfast was also wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Short walk to the Opera House

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Very grand staircase and spacious hallways.
Cons: Would prefer larger fluffier towels for bathroom
Location: Close to the Opera House. Contaced the Opera via email before our visit as we wanted to see Carmen, staff were very helpful and great experience
Chose this hotel as it was close to the Opera House. Had booked Carmen, which was the best performance we've ever seen-so recommend it. Arrived late Friday night, upgraded room for just 10euro. Room was on first floor overlooking park and road, but there was no road noise, we only used the underfloor heating in the bathroom as we couldn't find how to switch it off, but even though it was cold and snowed on Sunday we didn't need any other heating. Room was nicely decorated and large, bed very comfortable. The bathroom towels were a disappointment as they were rather small and of thin quality. Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice and no problem finding a table, service was also very good. Would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Hotel in downtown Riga

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel only provides soap and shampoo. There is no hair conditioner, no body lotion. Towels and bathrobes are worn out and id desperate need of replace
Location: Very central location close to transportation and old town.
Front desk staff was nice and helpful. Hotel only provides soap and shampoo. There is no hair conditioner, no body lotion. Towels and bathrobes are worn out and id desperate need of replacement. Tea and coffee supplies were not replenished during our 6 night stay. Cleaning was sloppy. Location of the hotel is very central and close to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Perfect location. Very friendly staf

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Lovely stay at the hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Location is very central, right in front of the main station. Room was spacious and breakfast was delicious and lots of different options to choose from. Would definitely recommend
2 out of 5
by Ivar

Untidy room

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was unclean, dust all over the place. This place used to be my favorite place to stay, now after this time, I don't wanna go again to this place. Poor breakfast and very poor service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was tasty and diverse!
Cons: n/a
Excellent hotel for everyone! This place is clean and comfortable. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely stay here again when visiting the area, and would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and tidy very good staff and very helpf

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great location close all facilitys walking distance to shops markets and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location, very good condition

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Location, spa facilities, friendly and helpful staff (who printed out bus and train schedules for me), great condition of the the hotel overall
Cons: A) a small gym in the hotel - I desperately needed to exercise and ended up jogging in very cold weather. B) Softer toilet paper...
Location: On the edge of the old town. Architecture is gorgeous so make sure to wander outside of old town as well - lots of Art Nouvea buildings
My stay at the Opera Hotel & Spa was very pleasant: I was originally booked into a room with a shower only but on arrival, I requested a room with a bath tub, which I got without any issues. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and appeared to be newly renovated (as was the whole hotel - I walked into many other 4 start hotels and saw how old and tired they were). The spa was a nice extra as well, esp. during the time in late November that I was there when it was very cold outside. (It was a bit odd that you are only allowed to use it for 1.5 hrs per day at no extra charge, and in only 1 session even though the hotel was about 40% occupied during the 5 weekdays that I was there; having said that, some other spa hotels in Riga charge another Eur 20 for using the spa even if you are a guest there). Some guests commented about the ventilation system - my room was fine, it was neither too warm or too cold.