Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen, Scotland

Superb Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The setting of the hotel was wonderful
Cons: Availability to check in earlier than 14:00 hrs
Location: Close location to Dnieper riverfront and boat tours Good location for visit to Old town
Excellently situated for visiting the riverfront and part of the old town.
4 out of 5
by Yuriy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within walking distance of everything

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Excellent hotel. 30 minute walk to city centre. 15 minute walk to the cathedrals/church's. right opposite food/drink with multiple restaurants less than 10minutes away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just alright hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: - great location. As I am from Kyiv I can confirm the location is very central with walking distance to many of the main attractions. - breakfast was
Cons: -staff. Most of them don't speak English fluently enough to provide information and explain things. The lady, who checked us in was good, but not very
I am writing this review from my experience during my last stay at this hotel and as a professional hotelier. I don't think it is a 4* hotel. Cons: -staff. Most of them don't speak English fluently enough to provide information and explain things. The lady, who checked us in was good, but not very informative. - check in. Following previous point. Not informative as I've been with my partner and he is a foreigner, and I've expected reception to give some more details as well for him. - room. The size is fine. But it was facing the street and was VERY-VERY noisy for me, as the tram is in a couple of meters from entrance. I could feel vibrations as well when it was passing by. So I couldn't sleep properly. Shower doors were broken. Room generally wasn't very clean. A/C didn't work. Safety box didn't work. Minibar fridge didn't work. - amenities. Shower amenities were fine, but no additional water provided (you'll find 2 bottles of water upon arrival as welcome drink, that's it). - safety. We came in the evening - no receptionist on spot, only cleaning lady. We came in the morning to check out - still no receptionist. There is no double lock in the room. I didn't feel safe with this situation. Generally, I would say the quality doesn't match the price.
2 out of 5
by Andriy

Good location, horrible WiFi

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
The location is great. The hotel itself is ok and the breakfast is good. My door key would work only one out of every 20th attempt. The most annoying thing, which ruined my stay, was the fact that Internet was so lousy that I (a business traveler) was unable to do even a single Skype call - the sound was all messed up and calls kept disconnecting every 5 minutes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

So posh

Posted Jun 6, 2017
The hotel was so lovely and very we'll kept. All the facilities we could desire and we'll located.
4 out of 5
by Dr. Gregory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Well Restored Hotel in Nice Section of Town

Posted May 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Location: Right around the corner is Garbuzik, a fantastic Ukrainian restaurant. Excellent food, fun service, lots of locals!
The Podol is an elegant, old-school hotel, very nice refurbished. It's in the Podol neighborhood, just north of the center of Kiev (Maiden Nezalezhnosti), Gentrifying, but still some grit. Very nice staff. Excellent breakfast, as long as you get there early. One day we slept in, and got there just before 11, and the pickings were a little slim. So get up early! The last night was not so great -- the couple in the neighboring room were talking and having sex all night, and we didn't get any sleep. The walls are apparently very thin. I was also negatively surprised by one thing: I ordered a taxi from the hotel to the airport. They said the charge would be 500 hryvnia (about $19). We had heard from our guidebooks that the maximum you should pay was either 300 or 400 ($11 / $15). So, I do hope that they are putting their customers' interest first.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Good place for your money.

Posted May 15, 2017
Very close to st. Andrew's church and the down the hill Ave of artists and souvenirs. Hotel was clean and staff was helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
Staff not too friendly. No amenities on arrival. Bed very uncomfortable.