Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnwood, IL, USA

Best hotel in Rijeka

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Bonavia is a fine and efficient four star hotel. On the positive side, the Internet access via Wi-Fi was very fast, the room was very clean, the air conditioning (in spite of 90F) was very efficient, the front desk service was very courteous and efficient. The breakfast that was included in the room rate was standard European breakfast (served in four star European hotels), and the room rate was reasonable. In spite of being located in the center of the city (superbly located), the area is remarkably quiet. On a downside, like most (non-American) European four star hotels, there is no doorman to assist you with your luggage (you will have to carry your luggage ten steps up to the lobby since there is no ramp for the handicap guests), lobby is diminutive, parking (surcharge) is on the public street and may be a challenge to find a parking spot. The garden restaurant caters exclusively to the bus tours (for dinner) and it is off limits to individual gusts. I was offered a table inside a completely empty room that was obviously not acceptable to me. My recommendation is to ignore the restaurant all together. There was no extra electrical outlets in the room or bathroom to charge your Iphone, shaver, or a laptop computer (you must unplug the standing lamp). If you adjust your expectation, you may enjoy staying there. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Wonderful stay

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We enjoyed our stay . I especially loved the wellness and sauna included in the price. Breakfast was good and staff friendly and helpful. Room could use more electrical outlets for charging .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017 by Vlatka Stanic, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nancu, thank you on behalf of the entire team for awarding us with the highest score and recommendations dedicated to the hotel and its related services. We were delighted to read your positive impressions and hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Comments like this one are giving us a special motivation, it’s very encouraging to know that the hard work from our staff is recognized and suggestions are always welcomed. I use this opportunity to invite you to another visit to Rijeka and send my warmest regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Good central location. Friendly, helpful staff. Large rooms. Good wellness facility with very good massage, but fitness room could be larger.
Cons: The shower screen didn't not attach to the rim of the bathtub and therefore flooded the bathroom floor each time the shower was used. better hairdryer
We enjoyed our stay and found the hotel well located for exploring Rijeka. The wellness facility offered good treatments, a sauna and steam room. The staff was very forendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, clean and well appointed. It was also close to the ferry port. We enjoyed our brief stay at the hotel and in Rijeka.
4 out of 5
by Ivan from Miami, USA

Four star

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
This was a return to this hotel after a long hiatus. Still for us four star but hotel looks and fell bit tired. No air condition in hallways nor was the one working in our room. Front desk was ready to help fix this. There is no coffee maker in the room which is big miss especially since we had delux room with great balcony and view. It would be big plus if they install one in the rooms. We eat in hotel restaurant which is highly recommended. Service and food was excellent. Good choice of local wine. Again, aver all will give four star.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Glenwood, NM

Good choice in city center

Posted Jun 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 days for business. Right in city center, good location. Decent value for cost, good breakfast, nice people. Good for business trips to Rijeka.
5 out of 5
by Michael

Great Place

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice luxury room. Very nice bed. Large bathroom. A/C was able to be turned on (unlike most other hotels at this time of year) Elevator quick. Parking space free and right on hotel drive. Fast wifi. Awesome breakfast (prosecco and smoked salmon) Great dinner too, with a great waiter. 5 minute walk to harbor, 5 more to old town.
2 out of 5
by Dennis from UAE

Tired hotel I good location

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean But getting to the hotel even with a GPS was difficult parking was less than assured as I found out, the rooms need some refurbishing(the bedspread was town and tattered) and breakfast was below standard
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Marina Rogovic, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our Grand hotel Bonavia during your stay in Rijeka. We use this opportunity to inform you that we take the impressions of our guests very seriously in order to always be able to truly fulfill all the expectations. Furthermore, through this opportunity we send our sincere apologies due to the situation with the bedspread. All the needed measures will be taken in order to prevent the recurrence of such situations in the future. In the hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again we send our best regards, Grand hotel Bonavia, Marina Rogovic, GM
4 out of 5
by Radmil from Tampa, FL

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
This is hotel we use for the time we need to stay in Rijeka proper. it is nice older hotel centrally located. The room was nice and large. Very clean, but carpets could use definite replacement. Overall a nice place to stay but quite overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2016 by Marina Rogovic, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Rijeka. We use this opportunity to inform you that we take the impressions of our guests very seriously in order to always be able to truly fulfil all the expectations. Furthermore, through this opportunity we send our sincere apologies due the situation with a dirty carpet. All the needed measures are already been taken in order to prevent such problems in the future. In the hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again we send our best regards. Grand hotel Bonavia, Marina Rogovic GM
5 out of 5
by Iulian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels