Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible treatment for Expedia guest

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Staff are so terrible . Thay "choose" for Expedia guest the worse room at the category . The room was small the bath was so tiny, no stream sower . The condition were terrible . When we arrived thay said that the parking is free but at the end thay asked for 20ero
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location, old style hotel, very unique

Posted May 10, 2016
Old glamorous hotel, fantastic and best hotel in Rimini but no air condition till mid May and it's hot in the room, if you are offered upgrade to sea view don't take it, between the sea and the hotel a life music beer bar that play life music till 5 AM, so if you are willing to sleep in a room without air condition with closed window and with plugs, still music in your head! Choice room with garden or parking view, for the rest very nice hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Recent Stay

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: n/a
Cons: More information on the main hotel and the annex building.
Location: Location was ok.
Deceiving as I was not aware of another building called Residenzia so booked a room thinking we were going to be in the main hotel, very disappointing. Clients should be informed about the Residenzia, or as they call it "annex building".
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Faded Elegance

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Attentive room servicing (turndown etc), friendly and helpful staff, grand setting, convenient for seeing the best bits of Rimini
Cons: The internal finishes, clarity on additional charges for items one would assume are included in 5-star room rates
Location: Promenade, lots of fish restaurants and bars, a small fun fair and big wheel and regular events that take place in the park outside the hotel
We walked past this hotel on our first visit to Rimini as a young couple on our first holiday together, gawping at the Lamborghini's parked outside. 10+ years later, married with two children we were able to stay there and I was very much looking forward to it. The hotel itself is quite tired and we were staying in the residences annex across the road, which I hadn't appreciated when we made the booking to be honest. That is equally tired but very much of its time. It was comfortable and everything worked as it should but I wouldn't call it 5 star by modern standards. My biggest disappointment was the additional costs we incurred. The room information gives details of the beach facilities which one would assume is included in the room rate paid - given its 5-star status. We went down to the beach to be told by a very helpful attendant that the beach facilities were not included in our room rate. I was not aware of this nor was it made clear by Expedia. However he said as it was quite late in the afternoon (3pm), a bit overcast and dull and practically empty, we could use it anyway because 'he was a nice guy'. All great service. Come check out however, there on the bill was €43 for the cost of using the beach. I didn't complain, I don't know who was to blame and was not in the mood for a broken English argument. It isn't the money so much as the principal and so this hotel has lost me as a customer now. Positives were that generally the staff we very attentive & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paulette from Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Relax and feel pampered

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: room size and front desk staff
Cons: having to pay extra for access to the private beach
Location: wonderful, relaxing area to end our Italian holiday in
This was a beautiful resort hotel. We felt pampered from the moment we walked through the doors. Very large room with huge bathroom. The meal on the terrace was pricey but quite good, with lovely entertainment. If you stay there you should check out the bar Coconuts down the street. Fun place with inexpensive drinks. An overall relaxing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South bay, Ca.

Bait and switch game

Posted Sep 21, 2012
Pros: Lobby and the grounds
Cons: The annex building
Beaware of when booking the hotel since they bait and switch went there to check in, then they tell you, your in the room down the street in the Annex building..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

harry london

Posted Aug 29, 2012
Pros: the beach lunch
Cons: the staff were not very friendly
Location: rimini itself was not great
A lovely old historic hotel, the only let down were the staff and service. the food was pleasant and by no means great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by N. Kryzhanovsky from Toronto, ON, Canada

Grand Hotel Rimini

Posted Aug 19, 2012
Pros: Staff and other guests
Cons: Small rooms
Location: Rimini has a lot of beaches, but it feels like it has passed its prime and locals aren't doing much to improve it.
While some complain that this is not a true 5 star hotel it is heads above anything else you can find in Rimini or Riccione. It was our first stay at the Grand Hotel Rimini, one could feel a certain amount of the old world charm that still drew regular guests. The staff everywhere went out of their way to make us feel welcome, and it was especially pleasing that a point was made to remember our names everywhere we went: be it at the restaurant for breakfast or on the beach, when you are about to lie down for your day under the sun. I have stayed at newer more advanced hotels, and in more interesting locations than Rimini, but I thoroughly enjoyed the style of the Grand Hotel exuded and the atmosphere that hung in the air.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from S.C.

Elegance on the beach

Posted Jun 13, 2011
Even though it rained every day while I was there, the comfort of the Grand Hotel made it worthwhile. Great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Australia

Beautiful, Grand, Old Hotel.

Posted Sep 13, 2008
Our arrival at this hotel was very pleasant right from the start. Attention to detail was great. Had booked a superior room and were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment on arrival. Extemely busy moto grand prix weekend, but no stress for the hotel. Staff on the front desk spoke very good English and nothing was a problem for them. The hotels private beach area is a really relaxing way to spend your day although the price for using the facility is pretty heavy. Overall a lovely old nostalgic hotel, with a great feel for history. We had a very happy experience at this hotel.