Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Off the beaten path.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The beauty of the landscaping and the laid back atmosphere.
Cons: We asked about things to go do/see and the only things they would tell us were the things they charged extra for.
Location: Llanos de la Cortez falls outside Bagaces; the mirrador at Las Cruz and coastline beaches; Hacienda at La Rosa
After driving over a half hour on very rough roads we pulled up in front of the reception area and we were a little worried. It was rough looking to say the least, but once inside the resort it was very well laid out, clean and neat. It had cute bungalows with colorful hammocks on the front veranda. The grounds were beautiful with botanical gardens, butterfly and hummingbird gardens. There were hot springs to soak in, a mud bath area, a fresh water pool, a natural pool, restaurant and a very nice gym.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Good and Nice hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: you have to drive around 27 miles outside the international highway and most of the road is in really bad shape. don't go there with a sedan
The hotel is actually a nice place to stay for a couple of days... Dont stay just for one night!! This place have nice facilities such as restaurant, hot springs and a couple of swimming pools. The surrounding nature make this a perfect place to step a side from the daily rush. Overall gardens, rooms and other facilities are good but the worst thing is the road to get there... nightmare!! You have to rent or have an off road or SUV car to feel that you will get to the hotel in one piece. Since there is no other options around to eat but to go to the restaurant beware it could be a little expensive, even thought the food is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
We are extremely pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay. To clarify about the road - its all paved until the final 15 km and the ride is part of the holiday, so try to come during the day. After turning off the main highway, the scenery begins to transform, leaving behind the dry hot Savannah. Climbing eastward, there are mountain ranges and large farms, then a large wind farm and then the rain forest. The residents mostly getting around on horseback. The dirt road is bumpy and having a vehicle with high clearance is recommended. You will have arrived at the north (Caribbean side) of Rincon de la Vieja, the only side of the volcano in the rain forest, with blue rivers,natural mineral hot springs and views of smoking volcano crater. Once here, there is as much or little to keep occupied with as you want. Take dips into 5 pools - 3 natural mineral hot springs and 2 fresh water pools (and bullet water slide) - and the sparkling blue river, Rio Azul. Meander the Botanical Gardens with over 700 varietals, fish turtle and caiman ponds and the hummingbird sanctuary. Take a natural mud bath and sauna in the gardens. Visit the Butterfly Gardens. Kids love the miniature horses and donkeys and the many dogs. There is also the gym and Blue River Spa. Then set out on Eco-adventure tours into the jungle - Zip Lining and Tarzan Swing; Water Tubing; Horseback Riding to the Grand Waterfalls and the blue river Rio Penjamo; Rafting. There are romantic packages and tours that take longer, like snorkeling. At the Tiki Bar and Restaurant we serve up a variety of local and American meals. In comparison to equivalent places, the prices are kept intentionally reasonable. Our chef Jorbis has been with us for many years and takes great pride preparing and listening to particular requests. I hope this information has been helpful. Thanks again and we hope you return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and hot sprigs

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Excellent river close by...good food and service. Additional activities can be arrange easily
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola from Blue River Resort & Hot Springs! Thank you for your kind comment. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Somethings different very nice and I'll recommend to the guy's at work shalom
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola and Shalom from the staff and owners of Blue River Resort & Hot Springs. We appreciate your review! I recognize your picture of one of the small waterfalls inside our private park. Again, thank you and thank you for your recommendations. We hope you visit again. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
by DONALDO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Maria

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Hotels
scabies/
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mini vacation

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Staff
Cons: Restaurant Hours and transportation to and from hotel.
Location: Nothing near by or transportation
The hotel and staff were very nice. I want to thank Lester in reception and Kevin The guide for the horse gallop. The rooms are spacey. Not a lot of mosquitos considering the location. The rooms and its surrounding were very clean. The restaurant staff were nice specially Raquel. Food was tasty. Want to The bad 1. Very expensive transportation. 2. No restaurant choices 3. Restaurant closes at 900 after that no where to eat 4. No room service for late night snacks No phones in the room not even In house phone to call office in case of emergency.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Nettes Resort am Fuße des Vulkans

Posted May 5, 2016
Nettes Plätzchen zum Ausspannen für 2-3 Nächte, aber auch nicht länger, soviel gibt es dort auch nicht zu machen. Die Service-Mitarbeiter im Restaurant sind manchmal ein wenig verpeilt, aber alle sehr nett...und eine eigene sehr saubere Hütte im Regenwald für diesen Preis bekommt man nicht überall, gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis! WLAN ist allerdings schwach bis schlecht und nur im Restaurant oder an der Rezeption verfügbar, nicht in der "Cabin"...aber dafür gibt's Satelliten-TV ;-)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Beautiful place, location, facilities.

Posted Apr 28, 2016
We loved our stay there. The staff was so friendly and helpful, everyone made sure that we had a lovely time. The food in the restaurant was delicious. The hot water pools felt amazing even in the hot weather. Highly recommend going there! Be prepared for a rough journey though as the road there is mostly unpaved.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Schweiz

gutes kurzurlaubsresort

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Tolles essen; ausbaufähiger service im gastrobereich (freundlichkeit, bestellungen vergessen etc.); gartenanlage im flussbereich (schmetterlings- und orchideengarten sowie schlammbad und natursauna) sind dringen und umfänglich verbesserungsbedürftig, v.a. wenn damit bei der ankunft vom rezeptionist geworben wird. Grundsätzlich ein schöner und weiteremphelenswerter aufenthalt (wenn auch nicht auf höchstem niveau).