Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hard to Get there, unwelcoming entrance, but a gem

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: We loved the cabin we stayed in, the pools, and gardens.
Cons: The office was difficult and we almost left.
Location: It is a hell of a drive from Liberia, but the grounds are beautiful.
Since this was wet season, the road was long, difficult to drive, and we had been there twice before, we expected that the rates would be reasonable. However, they were surprisingly high, and the entrance was unattractive so we hestiated staying. Luckily, I had seen that Expedia had good rates for them and I went outside the office and made reservations for ourselves and guests. The cost was reasonalbe for the season. Our guests, however, were still not convinced this was a good place to stay. After we checked in, we drove to our room and saw the grounds and our friends loved the room and everything about the place. We do recommend the place, but do some price shopping on-line first.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Plenty of potential. Seems as if they are just getting started. Probably a great place to stay, in a couple of years. However currently, I'd pass.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola John, Not sure of the meaning behind the comment. The amenities here are very special and the nature is sublime. Some updates are underway, but nothing that takes away from the guest experience.
4 out of 5
by Eric

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
All of us, staff and owners read reviews and appreciate knowing you had a nice time. We hope you return soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised.

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Not what we expected at all. There is no access to Rincon de la Vieja from the hotel, it is an hour and a half away. Also no access to the Blue River shown in the picture unless you pay 50$ person for a guided tour. I was hoping to do some hiking and was disappointed to see that only expensive 'adventure tours' were available. There is no mud bath, just a bowl of mud you can spread on yourself and the 'thermal saunas' were not warm at all, and were in fact just old wooden structures covered in mold, so no one in my family felt comfortable going in them. My kids enjoyed the water slide, but other than that it was not at all what we expected. Once you are at the hotel there is nowhere else to eat which is unfortunate because the restaurant was not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ca

An amazing place if you want to enjoy nature

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Orbitz
Nice bungalows, paradise nature and views, we liked the botanical garden and butterflies, it was really magnificent! The pools with the hot mineral water they are really worth that 25 min travel by that dirt road. The amenities in gym are old and not the best. But restaurant is good, the food was delicious and prices were reasonable. We spent there 2 days, but I wish we spent there a week. But don't expect to find there
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Relaxing hot springs resort

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Stayed at this resort during a 2.5 week tour through Costa Rica. The staff is fantastic, friendly, accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. We arrived around 0200 hours, (flight delayes) and the security guard was waiting for us at the gate with the key and another security guard met us by the room to help us in. This was prearranged but still very greateful considering we weren't supposed to arrive that late. The hot spring are a wonderful way to relax and enjoy the day. The cabanas are large and spacious. Restaurant provided us good food and the breakfast included was certainly a bonus! The property is well maintained and beautiful. Be sure to enjoy the hammock on the porch. Nice and relaxing. A couple of days here is perfect as this resort is a bit secluded and food options are limited to the resort only. Wifi is limited to the front gate or if you are lucky the restaurant but who cares, you are on vacation. We did a hike booked with the resort, shows as 3 hours, was only 1.5 hours at the most. Slightly disappointing. Otherwise awesome place to stay while visiting the beautiful country Costa Rica. Wonderful staff and a must see!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by K, Hotel Management
Hola! We are grateful for your review and appreciate what you point out (will be changed). There is indeed lots to do, with many short Eco-adventure tours and 1-day Eco tours.We hope you return soon. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great place to unwind!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: We were there for peace and quiet, but I imagine some people might say there isn't much night life?
Cons: The only thing I would do would be move it to the coast, but it wouldn't be the same then!
Location: It is quite a ride out to this resort and we thought we must be lost a couple of times, but we did find it! Lots of things to do in the outdoors!
This is a jewel in the middle of nowhere! It was beautiful and a great place to unwind. The staff is great and couldn't be more accommodating! The food was excellent and plentiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by K, Hotel Management
Hola and thank you. Pura vida, but its not possible to find closer location that has either a lush rain forest, natural hot springs and blue rivers. Add to that waterfalls and our many amenities. Again, with appreciation - We hope you return soon.
5 out of 5
by Vanessa

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola Vanessa! Thank you for your kind rating. Everyone here reads our reviews and your confirmation of our efforts and our product give us a great charge. Again, with appreciation and hoping you return soon. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome place!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola Thomas! Mucho gusto - with great thanks. Your rating is shared with the staff and we hope you return soon. Yours truly, Kevin
3 out of 5
by Elizabeth

NOT close to Rincon de la Vieja National Park

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Hotels
Nice cabins, BUT this place is NOT CLOSE to Rincon de la Vieja National Park. If you want to go to the park, you will need to drive 90+ minutes to get there. Also, this hotel is in a remote area and there is nothing to do nearby unless you want to pay the hotel big bucks to take you on an excursion. There are no nearby hiking trails that you can do on your own, and no other parks close by. In short, if you're here for the spa experience, and are okay with a gated resort that feels like mini-America, you'll be happy. It's a pretty place. But it was not at all what we were hoping for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Hola Elizbeth! Please permit me to comment on that which is not opinion in the review. The Blue River Resort & Hot Springs location is closer to the Rincon de la Vieja park than any other; however it is on the north side of the volcano crater, not the south. The differences are many. Only the north (Caribbean) side is a lush rain forest, is cooler, has natural hot springs, blue rivers and gorgeous views of the crater. The south side offers self guided tours inside the park for special volcano phenomena viewing; whereas ours are guided tours into different jungle for awesome nature viewing. I hope that is helpful to readers. Feel free to write us for more particulars. Yours truly, Kevin