Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Relaxing hot springs resort

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Stayed at this resort during a 2.5 week tour through Costa Rica. The staff is fantastic, friendly, accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. We arrived around 0200 hours, (flight delayes) and the security guard was waiting for us at the gate with the key and another security guard met us by the room to help us in. This was prearranged but still very greateful considering we weren't supposed to arrive that late. The hot spring are a wonderful way to relax and enjoy the day. The cabanas are large and spacious. Restaurant provided us good food and the breakfast included was certainly a bonus! The property is well maintained and beautiful. Be sure to enjoy the hammock on the porch. Nice and relaxing. A couple of days here is perfect as this resort is a bit secluded and food options are limited to the resort only. Wifi is limited to the front gate or if you are lucky the restaurant but who cares, you are on vacation. We did a hike booked with the resort, shows as 3 hours, was only 1.5 hours at the most. Slightly disappointing. Otherwise awesome place to stay while visiting the beautiful country Costa Rica. Wonderful staff and a must see!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by K, Hotel Management
Hola! We are grateful for your review and appreciate what you point out (will be changed). There is indeed lots to do, with many short Eco-adventure tours and 1-day Eco tours.We hope you return soon. Yours truly, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Great place to unwind!

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: We were there for peace and quiet, but I imagine some people might say there isn't much night life?
Cons: The only thing I would do would be move it to the coast, but it wouldn't be the same then!
Location: It is quite a ride out to this resort and we thought we must be lost a couple of times, but we did find it! Lots of things to do in the outdoors!
This is a jewel in the middle of nowhere! It was beautiful and a great place to unwind. The staff is great and couldn't be more accommodating! The food was excellent and plentiful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by K, Hotel Management
Hola and thank you. Pura vida, but its not possible to find closer location that has either a lush rain forest, natural hot springs and blue rivers. Add to that waterfalls and our many amenities. Again, with appreciation - We hope you return soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine USA

Nice place away from everything

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The hot springs the walking paths and all the animals and birds
Location: Beautiful River and waterfalls. Plenty of bird watching and animals. Even got to see a sloth!
The hot springs and the walking paths were awesome. A great place away from everything but make sure you stop by a shopping center before heading up as there are no snacks or places near by to buy food. The restaurant was decent and they served delicious fruit smoothies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by K, Hotel Management
Hola! Thank you for your kind words, which we share with all of the staff. Indeed, the blue rivers and waterfalls are an awe inspiring natural display. Add in the many Eco-adventure activities to the different natural spots, like horseback riding, zip lining, water tubing, walking trails and now, Dino Park. Again, with thanks, Kevin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Rural rainforest area.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Out of the way rural area.
Cons: The government needs to step up and provide better roads to major attractions and hotels.
Location: Near national volcano parks, blue river hikes to waterfalls, Dino park, horse back riding.
Be ready for some bad roads. This is a beautiful rural rainforest area and suggest a 4 wheel SUV and GPS if you do not know the area. You can rent a local GPS unit at the car rental store. Don't expect big neon signs to the hotel so suggest you drive in daylight. If you drive at night be careful of anything at anytime on the roadways e.g. dogs, cattle, bike riders without reflectors and people walking around in the middle of nowhere. Speed is not your friend. Drive carefully and enjoy the local people and countryside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing in everything!

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Was an experience of a lifetime. Authentic and incredible resort.
4 out of 5
by WILLIAM

There's a Light... Over at the Frankenstein Place

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived at the Liberia airport just before 4:00 PM local time. By the time we got through customs, got our rental car and were on our way, it was about 5:30 PM. It started getting dark on the drive up the mountain to Dos Rios and the wind, rain and fog moved in. The roads deteriorated from nice pavement to an awful rocky and muddy track. Our GPS kept losing signal in the mountains and trees, so it was a good thing we had a good paper map as backup (bring your own, the rental car maps are not detailed enough). It took us almost three hours to get to the hotel. The resort didn't look like much at the entry, but we found a veritable Shangri-La once we entered. Beautiful property, wonderful staff and quite an oasis in the wilderness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Nice resort

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very nice and large rooms. Small balcony with hammocks. Large bathroom. Pools and botanical gardens also very pleasant. Sometimes problems with water supply or air conditioning but problems quickly resolved. Helpful staff. Not luxury but excellent value for the price and pleasant stay. Amazing variety of birds. Dinopark close to the hotel was a success with the children. Would have liked to see more of the blue river and swim in it. Recommended for a few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Off the beaten path.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The beauty of the landscaping and the laid back atmosphere.
Cons: We asked about things to go do/see and the only things they would tell us were the things they charged extra for.
Location: Llanos de la Cortez falls outside Bagaces; the mirrador at Las Cruz and coastline beaches; Hacienda at La Rosa
After driving over a half hour on very rough roads we pulled up in front of the reception area and we were a little worried. It was rough looking to say the least, but once inside the resort it was very well laid out, clean and neat. It had cute bungalows with colorful hammocks on the front veranda. The grounds were beautiful with botanical gardens, butterfly and hummingbird gardens. There were hot springs to soak in, a mud bath area, a fresh water pool, a natural pool, restaurant and a very nice gym.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

not pleasant hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: the dino park, the facilities of the hotel was ok, the termal water is good, the blue river is beautiful
Cons: the staff service not good, in the restaurant too much time for serve the food, at night the hotel there´s not have much light
Location: is far away from the city, there not any thing close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
This place is beautiful and worth the bumps to get there. One of a kind with hot springs and amazing grounds!