Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Lana

christmas getaway

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
the property is amazing, as is all the staff (very friendly and helpful). The food was close to being inedible, we ended up ordering the pizza every night as it was the only edible dinner item, the other dishes were awful especially at the price ($20+ USD per dish). Although we enjoyed the river tubing, the guides on it were obviously not trained and if you fell out you were pretty much on your own (the guides were more focused on flipping the tubes back over, not ensuring people cam up from under the water).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic hotel with many awesome outdoor activities

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Staff was amazing, food was ok, room was clean. O luxurious. NO HOT WATER (terrible!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hotel for adventure and volcano tours

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hacienda Pinilla is a great place to stay. It is located at the epicenter of any adventure tour you might want like zip-lining, tubing, thermal waters, volcano, etc. It also has a nice restaurant and serves as the hub for any adventure in the area so you can do a tour, come back to eat or change and continue. It is a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Playa Samara, Guanacaste

A hotel for Early Risers

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: The beds were comfortable. The food was fine.
Cons: More soundproofing. Have a specific area for families and another for couples. Invest in more wifi routers. Have a backup hot water system.
Location: Mucho stuff: ziplining, hiking, rafting, hot springs
I was a bit disappointed in my stay. The walls were paper thin and we had a family with a young boy who liked to wake up a little after 6 a.m.and talk loudly. His parents seemed unaware that there were other guests sleeping. There were lots of cows mooing quite early as well. The room had no wifi although they claimed to have it and it rained most of the time. The room and beds itself were nice. The TV was fine. There was very little warm water. We went to the Simbiosis Spa which was deserted and sad. The food at the restaurant was typical and fine. We were there to rest and take it easy for a couple of days. The resort caters to activities so I think I chose the wrong hotel. The security guard had a loud conversation outside our room at 3 a.m. one night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hb, ca

Great Hidden retreat in the mountains

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The best parts were the horesback riding, river tubing, zip lines and canyoning
Cons: The wi-fi system could use some improvement
Location: Literally natures paradise
We got a suite which was very large, beautifully decorated, had a private deck and yard, very clean. We had some hot water issues, but all of our problems were resolved in a timely manner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Great location plenty to do!

Posted Sep 16, 2016
The staff was great, very accommodating. I was late to check in, since the gates close at 10, I called before hand to let the staff know and Jeremy actually waited until I got there so that I would be able to check in. There is plenty to do. The food is really good at the restaurant. I will definitely stay there again. Also the scenery is breathtaking. Warning: There are bugs roaming around the hotel, they usually are not inside the rooms but you do see them around the different gardens. But what can you expect when you are in the middle of nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

THE hotel in Rincon de la Vieja

Posted Sep 9, 2016
If you're going to visit Rincon de la Vieja Park, stay here. It's in the park so you have easy access to stuff you normally wouldn't. It's got hot springs, waterfalls, Ziplines, hiking, horses, livestock. Restaurant is good. Bar is fun. Nice little all-inclusive feel that's great for a couple or family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxation

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Good and relaxing
5 out of 5
by Bellina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Nice hotel near Rincón de la Vieja

Posted Aug 28, 2016
There are a lot of activities to do and places to go. There are a lot of waterfalls you can swim and visit. Also the National Park of Rincón de la Vieja. The breakfast is included, the food is great. The room is comfortable with air conditioner. Its better if you rent a car because the distance are long to walk.