Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

Nice hotel near Rincón de la Vieja

Posted Aug 28, 2016
There are a lot of activities to do and places to go. There are a lot of waterfalls you can swim and visit. Also the National Park of Rincón de la Vieja. The breakfast is included, the food is great. The room is comfortable with air conditioner. Its better if you rent a car because the distance are long to walk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Beautiful setting inside a national park

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: It was on a working ranch, I got to milk a cow the first morning I was thee.
Location: Not much of anything near by yet enough to see and do at the hotel that sits on a huge amount of property with ample security throughout hotel grounds
$90 adventure pass gave us a 8:00-6:00 day of zip line, white water tubing, horse back riding and hot springs in the most beautiful surroundings I have seen. This also included lunch!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great activities

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Nothing fancy - decent hotel room - but lots of great hikes and other activities. Impressed with the hot springs, national park hike and canopy tour. Food is ok and expensive. Swimming pool is cold. Stay for a few nights if you want to have time for hikes and waterfall swimming.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley from Florida

Dream Getaway

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
The only negative was surprisingly the coffee. It was terrible quality, which is highly unusual for Costa Rica. It seemed old, brewed and held too long.
5 out of 5
by Denise from San Mateo

Great activities and great value.

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
I think this hotel is a great value. I got there early in the day and took advantage of so much of what they had to offer. The waterfalls were great and the hot springs were the best. I could not believe how much was included with the room. I got the room for $65 on hotels.com and it was the best $65 I spent. Staff was great and property was exceptional.
3 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall Experience

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent. The tours were excellent, too.
Cons: Signs on the highway, on the road could be improved. The thermal water in the Spa was not running so it was dirty and it was cold.
Location: There is nothing, it is very isolated. But the hotel does offer several tours that we enjoyed. Very unique.
Outdated facilities. Wi-Fi slow and poor connection in the rooms. Maintenance very slow. AC hardly working. Buffet food had no signs so, you did know what to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

A tucked away place of tranquility.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Outstanding staff, well manicured gardens, and convenient adventure tours make Hacienda Guachipelin an unforgettable experience. This facility could easily be a five star hotel with a few improvements - a reliable availability of hot water in guest rooms, more flavorful cuisine, better food variety and the inclusion of cultural shows. I would love to see Hacienda Guachipelin evolve into an all inclusive 5 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay immensely and plan to visit again.
4 out of 5
by Marcela from Puntarenas

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
La atención del personal fue excelente, colaboradores y muy amables...