Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great activities

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Nothing fancy - decent hotel room - but lots of great hikes and other activities. Impressed with the hot springs, national park hike and canopy tour. Food is ok and expensive. Swimming pool is cold. Stay for a few nights if you want to have time for hikes and waterfall swimming.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley from Florida

Dream Getaway

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
The only negative was surprisingly the coffee. It was terrible quality, which is highly unusual for Costa Rica. It seemed old, brewed and held too long.
5 out of 5
by Denise from San Mateo

Great activities and great value.

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Hotels
I think this hotel is a great value. I got there early in the day and took advantage of so much of what they had to offer. The waterfalls were great and the hot springs were the best. I could not believe how much was included with the room. I got the room for $65 on hotels.com and it was the best $65 I spent. Staff was great and property was exceptional.
3 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall Experience

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent. The tours were excellent, too.
Cons: Signs on the highway, on the road could be improved. The thermal water in the Spa was not running so it was dirty and it was cold.
Location: There is nothing, it is very isolated. But the hotel does offer several tours that we enjoyed. Very unique.
Outdated facilities. Wi-Fi slow and poor connection in the rooms. Maintenance very slow. AC hardly working. Buffet food had no signs so, you did know what to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

A tucked away place of tranquility.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Outstanding staff, well manicured gardens, and convenient adventure tours make Hacienda Guachipelin an unforgettable experience. This facility could easily be a five star hotel with a few improvements - a reliable availability of hot water in guest rooms, more flavorful cuisine, better food variety and the inclusion of cultural shows. I would love to see Hacienda Guachipelin evolve into an all inclusive 5 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay immensely and plan to visit again.
4 out of 5
by Marcela from Puntarenas

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
La atención del personal fue excelente, colaboradores y muy amables...
5 out of 5
by Tash from USA


Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
relaxing, adventurous, picturesque setting
5 out of 5
by Alex

One Night Getaway

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Would do again. Great value
4 out of 5

hotel cómodo en una gran finca

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel cómodo con un centro de aventuras y varios senderos para recorrer