Ratings based on 223 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great activities

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Nothing fancy - decent hotel room - but lots of great hikes and other activities. Impressed with the hot springs, national park hike and canopy tour. Food is ok and expensive. Swimming pool is cold. Stay for a few nights if you want to have time for hikes and waterfall swimming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall Experience

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Staff was excellent. The tours were excellent, too.
Cons: Signs on the highway, on the road could be improved. The thermal water in the Spa was not running so it was dirty and it was cold.
Location: There is nothing, it is very isolated. But the hotel does offer several tours that we enjoyed. Very unique.
Outdated facilities. Wi-Fi slow and poor connection in the rooms. Maintenance very slow. AC hardly working. Buffet food had no signs so, you did know what to eat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles CA

A tucked away place of tranquility.

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Outstanding staff, well manicured gardens, and convenient adventure tours make Hacienda Guachipelin an unforgettable experience. This facility could easily be a five star hotel with a few improvements - a reliable availability of hot water in guest rooms, more flavorful cuisine, better food variety and the inclusion of cultural shows. I would love to see Hacienda Guachipelin evolve into an all inclusive 5 star hotel. I enjoyed my stay immensely and plan to visit again.
3 out of 5
by Jamy from Bosschenhoofd

Mooie omgeving

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel ligt in een super leuke en mooie omgeving. Maar het hotel zelf stelt weinig voor. Kamers zijn erg simpel en oud. Ontbijt valt erg tegen. Personeel is wel super vriendelijk en behulpzaam.
3 out of 5
by Lindsey

Not a bad hotel, but food is not great

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for three nights because we wanted to be close to different adventure activities! It is an okay hotel, but we did not love it. The rooms were fine, and the service was good. It was also close to some ziplining, water tubing, horseback riding, and waterfalls. We kind of wish we had done these activities elsewhere, because we think this is not the most exciting region of Costa Rica. On a previous trip, the ziplining and tubing we did was much better. We also did not think the food was very good at the hotel. The only sauces they have are ketchup and mayo (they must think tourists like these a lot?), and they put it on everything. The tacquitos had ketchup and mayo. The pizza was made with ketchup instead of tomato sauce. There is only ketchup and mayo available for everything. By the end of our trip, we were very tired of looking at the menu. The breakfast buffets were also not very good. Three days was probably too long to stay here. The rooms were fine, but the wifi was only at the reception area. We enjoyed our trip, but would probably book a different hotel next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel, aber sehr touristisch.

Posted May 2, 2016
Hotel, Restaurant und Service war sehr gut. Allerdings muss man sich nach 10 Tagen "Einsamkeit" erst wieder an so viele Menschen gewöhnen. In der Saison würde ich hier nicht sein wollen. Einziges Hotel auf unserer Reise, das keinen Kühlschrank im Zimmer hatte.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place, nice pool and good mix of activities.

Posted Apr 23, 2016
It was an ok place. Pretty average for Costa Rica. Food was good. Room was ok. AC could due with replacement. Close to Liberia. No real complaints, just wouldn't want to stay more than 2 nights. Went on the horseback riding and river tubing excursion. The guides were good, and the horses were gentle and calm. The tubing was refreshing and fun. Saw some monkeys along the river.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Excellent point to access Rincon deLa Vieja area.

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Orbitz
We chose this hotel to visit Rincon de la Vieja national park. The hotel itself owns couple beautiful waterfalls and also hot spring. The hotel provides shuttles to this points and to the park entrance as well. The hotel is also a working farm with horses and cows. They have options to get other activities like zip lining, horse back riding for additional fee. The front desk stuff was very helpful and explained everything. The breakfast included with the room was ok. You will probably use their restaurant for lunch and/ or dinner as there is nothing else close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good rustic type lodge

Posted Apr 20, 2016
The lodge was good. Food was good/average. A reasonable value for the price. Very close to the Ricon de la Vieja national park. Very good activities on site/property included in the rooom price - waterfall hikes, hot springs.
2 out of 5
by Jorge from San Jose

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
The room was fair, for $130' + 20 for extra bed I would have expected mor, such as Btv set and a shower with hot water. The only positive thing was the nearby springs. Dinner is mediocre and expensive. Last time there