Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lodge mit viel Herzlichkeit und Schokolade!!

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Pros: Die Herzlichkeit von Ana und Pablo und dem gesamten Team
Cons: Vielleicht könnte das Abendessen etwas gemütlicher gestaltet werden. Etwas gemütlicheres Licht würde den Wohlfühlfaktor noch mehr erhöhen.
Location: Für Naturliebhaber und Ruhesuchende optimal, da die Lodege recht einsam liegt.
Wir haben uns in den geschmackvoll eigerichteten Bungalows sehr, sehr wohl gefühlt. Die gesamte Anlage ist wunderschön, der Gesamteindruck sehr sauber und ordentlich. Die Schokoladentour mit Pablo ist informativ und nur zu empfehlen.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lowell, MA

Great place to stay in Guanacaste!

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: We loved how there are a minimum amount of people who can stay, making it a much more enjoyable experience!
Cons: It would have been better if the price of the meals was built into the nightly rate. When we checked out we owed $120 for food (12 meals)
Location: Vida Adventura Park (1 hour away) was $75 per person for biplane, horseback riding, lunch and mud bath. Very fun experience!
My husband and I absolutely loved staying at La Anita Rainforest Ranch! We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the chocolate tour (which was very fun and informative, cost was $40 per person) and hiking on the property. Pablo and Ann were extremely organized and gracious hosts! They let us borrow boots for hiking and set us up with a tour guide to do a half day trip in the rainforest where we were able to see monkeys and go in natural hot springs. The food was delicious and the dessert always had chocolate in it! There are only 10 cabins on the property, so you really get to know the other people who are staying there as well. Be sure to FOLLOW THE MAP given by Pablo and Ann; we followed google and ended up on a road so bad we had to turn around. Their map brings you a much better way. We thought we would be "roughing it" a bit at this location, but we found the whole place to be extremely clean and comfortable!
5 out of 5
by Frank from Herrenberg, Germany

We liked it very much.

Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
We liked it very much. It was quite a bit expensive for 5 persons. However, clean, helpful & friendly. Allover, just a good atmosphere. Very good to calm down. Will come again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston tx

A wonderful, authentic experience

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Ana and Pablo have a piece of paradise in Costa Rica at La Anita Rainforest Ranch. The hotel and surrounding property is breathtakingly beautiful. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner served with organic food either grown on their own property or from the nearest local town. They help you set up varies activities with the locals or direct you to the nearest place that can serve your needs. Ana and Pablo treated us like family and made our experience genuine and better than I could have even imagined.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful cabins secluded in the mountains

Posted Feb 12, 2016
The setting is breathtaking, with the volcanoes and rain forests surrounding you and gorgeous wildlife throughout. The hosts Ana and Pablo are incredible warm caring people who have unmatched hospitality. The tour of the chocolate plantation is a must - samples were delicious. Eat the food they prepare; it is fresh, tasty, and they can accommodate vegetarians. Most guests had rented a car because getting there requires some smaller gravel roads through tiny towns. The facilities are done with excellent taste, and there is wifi in the main cabin. Perfect getaway! We can't wait to come back! Gracias Ana y Pablo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado & Argentina

Peaceful and beautiful place.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
We truly enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous property with amazing views. We received a great service by the owners Pablo and Anita whom made us feel at home. The food was tasty and the chocolate tour was incredible. We recommend this place and looking forward to return someday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Authentic

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The resort feels intimate even though it's located on several hundred acres. There are 10 well-spaced and spacious cabins with covered verandas.
Cons: If you're looking for pool bars and 24 hour room service, look elsewhere. The noises of nature are everywhere...birds, lizards, frogs, monkeys.
Location: Located on a real cocoa plantation, learn about the history of chocolate. Climb a volcano, horseback treks, wildlife river tours.
If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, the La Anita Rainforest Ranch resort is the place to go. You are about 2 hours from Liberia in the Guanacaste region. If you like mountains, forests, rivers & wildlife, you will fall in love with the area! Catering to active couples who enjoy adventure tourism, the resort owners (and your gracious hosts) Pablo & Ana can suggest and arrange a wide variety of activities to customize your stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
We had an excellent time at Anita 's! Ana and pablo were most helpfull and made our stay the best in costa rica.
4 out of 5
by Gérard from france

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
Un peu difficile à trouver
4 out of 5
by Diane from Richmond, IN

Cabin in Paradise

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
You will have to endure bone-crunching unpaved potholed roads to get to Finca Anita, but once you are there, you will be warmly welcomed by owners Pablo and Ana. The cabins are well designed; their main asset is a wide front porch with two rocking chairs and a hammock. The views are spectacular. By far the highlight of our trip was the tour of the cacao plantation, which also involved tasting a lot of chocolate and learning the process for growing and processing the cacao nibs. There is wifi in a common area near the chocolate processing building. The inside of the main lodge is set up to serve meals. There are no menus or prices posted so you might worry that the hosts would take advantage of the remoteness of the place and overcharge. In fact, beer and glasses of wine were billed at three bucks, breakfast was under ten bucks and dinner (three courses---salad or soup, meat with vegetables and dessert) was fourteen dollars. Pablo was accommodating in terms of setting up hikes or adventures for guests, and had the uncanny ability to remember every guest's name, despite there being nine cabins. It was a very personal experience. On the cautionary side, there is no hot water in the bathroom sink for shaving. It is helpful to have the flashlight app on your phone so you can safely traverse the path back to your cabin after dark. There are two friendly pooches to pet and a couple of horses fenced in front of the cabins.