Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lowell, MA

Great place to stay in Guanacaste!

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Pros: We loved how there are a minimum amount of people who can stay, making it a much more enjoyable experience!
Cons: It would have been better if the price of the meals was built into the nightly rate. When we checked out we owed $120 for food (12 meals)
Location: Vida Adventura Park (1 hour away) was $75 per person for biplane, horseback riding, lunch and mud bath. Very fun experience!
My husband and I absolutely loved staying at La Anita Rainforest Ranch! We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the chocolate tour (which was very fun and informative, cost was $40 per person) and hiking on the property. Pablo and Ann were extremely organized and gracious hosts! They let us borrow boots for hiking and set us up with a tour guide to do a half day trip in the rainforest where we were able to see monkeys and go in natural hot springs. The food was delicious and the dessert always had chocolate in it! There are only 10 cabins on the property, so you really get to know the other people who are staying there as well. Be sure to FOLLOW THE MAP given by Pablo and Ann; we followed google and ended up on a road so bad we had to turn around. Their map brings you a much better way. We thought we would be "roughing it" a bit at this location, but we found the whole place to be extremely clean and comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston tx

A wonderful, authentic experience

Posted Feb 15, 2016
Ana and Pablo have a piece of paradise in Costa Rica at La Anita Rainforest Ranch. The hotel and surrounding property is breathtakingly beautiful. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner served with organic food either grown on their own property or from the nearest local town. They help you set up varies activities with the locals or direct you to the nearest place that can serve your needs. Ana and Pablo treated us like family and made our experience genuine and better than I could have even imagined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful cabins secluded in the mountains

Posted Feb 12, 2016
The setting is breathtaking, with the volcanoes and rain forests surrounding you and gorgeous wildlife throughout. The hosts Ana and Pablo are incredible warm caring people who have unmatched hospitality. The tour of the chocolate plantation is a must - samples were delicious. Eat the food they prepare; it is fresh, tasty, and they can accommodate vegetarians. Most guests had rented a car because getting there requires some smaller gravel roads through tiny towns. The facilities are done with excellent taste, and there is wifi in the main cabin. Perfect getaway! We can't wait to come back! Gracias Ana y Pablo!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado & Argentina

Peaceful and beautiful place.

Posted Feb 12, 2016
We truly enjoyed our stay at this gorgeous property with amazing views. We received a great service by the owners Pablo and Anita whom made us feel at home. The food was tasty and the chocolate tour was incredible. We recommend this place and looking forward to return someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Authentic

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: The resort feels intimate even though it's located on several hundred acres. There are 10 well-spaced and spacious cabins with covered verandas.
Cons: If you're looking for pool bars and 24 hour room service, look elsewhere. The noises of nature are everywhere...birds, lizards, frogs, monkeys.
Location: Located on a real cocoa plantation, learn about the history of chocolate. Climb a volcano, horseback treks, wildlife river tours.
If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, the La Anita Rainforest Ranch resort is the place to go. You are about 2 hours from Liberia in the Guanacaste region. If you like mountains, forests, rivers & wildlife, you will fall in love with the area! Catering to active couples who enjoy adventure tourism, the resort owners (and your gracious hosts) Pablo & Ana can suggest and arrange a wide variety of activities to customize your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful ranch set in the rainforest

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Location, scenery, relaxation, luxury cabins, fantastic massage therapist.
Cons: Pool would be nice; athough the pools and hot springs are worth a day trip to Rio Perdido, I much preferred to stay at La Anita.
Location: Variety of outdoor activities offered locally, including hiking, horse riding, hot springs.
Private cabin and deck set in gorgeous grounds between two volcanoes. Flowers, birds, wildlife calling in the distance. Absolutely loved it for rest and relaxation, as well as excursions (horseriding in the rainforest; day trip to Rio Perdido hot springs; tour of chocolate farm). Meals have a local flare and food was excellent and plentiful. Very grateful to Pablo and Anna for a wonderful vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Exquisite experience with very caring hosts. Impr

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The wooden lodges and the space The gardens and the massage area
Cons: Nothing Should stay just as it is
Location: Horse back riding, mountain climbing Bird watching
The rooms are very exotic, and the site is fantastic, birds all around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new england, usa

Cacao lovers paradise

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Owners hospitality and simple relaxing nature.
Cons: The only thing that we debated was a pool for down times. Not sure whether this would add to the experience or take away from the true "getting away"
Location: Being in Ricon de Vieja area, they are located near all of the hiking and outdoor activities of this volcanic area. Cacao tour was a special treat!
Wonderful experience on a beautiful organic ranch that includes a full cacao production. CR Owners were fully involved in all aspects of the operations, sharing their passion for their country and their work with all of their guests. Remote location in Ricon de Vieja rainforest, the owners were happy to help plan activities hiking, horseback riding, cacao tour, zip lining, and more. Facilities were simple and kept in pristine condition. We learned so much during our stay. What a wonderful introduction for these first time visitors to CR.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Remote and Lovely

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Location: Rincon de la Vieja Park - 1 hour and 15 minutes.
Very remote but very beautiful. The cabins are clean, spacious and modern. The food is basic but very good. The hosts are kind and caring. A great place to relax and enjoy the environment - very low key. Works well also for those willing to travel an hour or so to explore the area. Very peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Unique and authentic

Posted Mar 2, 2015
We enjoyed every minute of our stay in this rainforest lodge that is located just outside a small village. The lodge is remote and basic but also quiet, peaceful, very clean and comfortable. Anna and Pablo are excellent hosts--they greeted us warmly each day and helped us plan our days when we asked. We did a wide range of activities and ate well every morning and night at the lodge. The other guests were delightful. We loved watching for birds while eating breakfast and finding constellations after dinner. This was a perfect vacation for us.