Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia, Costa Rica

Cute hotel close to Rincon de la Vieja Nat. Park

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: The location of the hotel was nice, just in the middle of the mountain. Breakfast was very complete and delicious and our tour guide was the best.
Cons: Customer service in the lobby. One employee was very helpful while another one was the worst ever, not even paying attention to a request.
Location: Location is perfect to visit the Rincon de la Vieja national park and surroundings, most of the tours would give you that experiencie of nature.
This hotel is a nice option for those who want to stay in the vicinity of Rincon de la Vieja National Park. My family and I wanted to visit this park for a long time and we chose this hotel because it offers closeness and tour options. It has its own restaurant and the food was very good, particularly breakfast. The menu might look limited but the food is delicious. Our tour guide was outstanding and we walked and learn and enjoyed the experience the whole time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cali

Great, friendly, and cozy

Posted Jul 27, 2016
David was extremely friendly and helpful. He guided us on activities to do while in Costa Rica and even helped us book a couple of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by Rinconcito Lodge, Hotel Management
Thanks for your visit and comments
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Need a Vehicle to Stay Here

Posted Mar 15, 2016
The hotel was good but it was isolated from most activities in the area. If you have a car it would be okay but still expect to drive 30 minutes or more to the National Park. Next time I would choose a hotel closer to the Palais entrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Breath taking. Tropical rain forest & Mountains

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: The hotel is beautiful. The staff is customer services orientated and friendly. The bar and and restaurant are excellent. The swimming pool is clean.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location is great if you want quiet, peacefulness and a tropical environment on a mountain top. Set about 30 minutes away from the city.
I had an experience that surpassed my expectations. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The staff was also respectful and willing to satisfy your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great location

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Right in the forest a hiking trail leads from your front door, Toucans 100 metres away!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Sewer problems??????

Posted Feb 25, 2016
We arrived late in the afternoon, and were told our confirmed room was unavailable as 3 units had sewer backups, but not to worry because they were able to get us a room in another lodge not too far away. The alternate accommodations had no food services or swimming pool, but was adequate. We wondered if the lodge was overbooked and didn't really have a sewer problem....on top of that, it was our 1st day in Costa Rica, and I missed a step at the reception area, resulting in a very bad sprain to my ankle. This 3 inch step would not have conformed to any building codes in North America. The pattern of the floor tiles camouflaged the step. The staff expressed concern, and 1 told me he was a paramedic, however, he went back to his reception job, and I had to ask other staff to find me some ice for my rapidly swelling ankle, while we waited for someone to guide us to our new accommodation 4 kilometers away on a very rough road. This was a very upsetting start to our vacation. Every conversation my husband had with reception staff, involved attempts to upsell additional experiences such as horseback riding. A week later, my foot is still swollen, even after treatment at a hospital in Liberia. This hotel failed to provide the services we purchased, and there was no acknowledgement of monetary compensation for the failed service or personal injury.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Feb 20, 2016
We were informed upon arrival of various tours & adventures offered by the lodge. We indicated a desire to give those offerings further consideration during the evening hours but that for the current afternoon our group wanted to explore the area on our own. The lodge manager then met with us and stated that the hotel was overbooked, but he contacted another similar lodge and rooms were reserved there for us. It took a bit more conversation before we received back the full amount we had paid when making our reservations at Reconconcito Lodge, but we did receive the full refund in cash. The alternate accomodations were fine!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Setting

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Nice cabins, clean, bathroom was small. Beautiful gardens and pool surround the cabins. There is a great hill above the lodge to watch sunsets with the cows in the pasture. We didn't really see much on our night-time nature walk, probably because the wind was ripping. If It's very windy I would skip the night walk. The Internet is basically non-existent, so don't count on that. The restaurant was okay, nothing special, on par with typical mediocre Costa Rican food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

We arrived late

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Arrived late and woke up staff to check in. Very nice and accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice rustic lodge in a peaceful setting

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Higher water pressure, wifi speed
Location: Near volcanoes and national parks.
The lodge is surrounded by nature and it will take you 40 min drive from Liberia to access it. We stayed couple nights and took a horseback riding combined with a hiking tour to visit thermal bath, mud pots, waterfall. It was windy so animals were mostly hiding but still saw spider monkeys and toucans. The room was basic but clean. Good thing is that the restaurant of the hotel is decent so you don't have to drive to Liberia to eat. The staff is really nice and was eager to help whenever we asked for extra bath towels or something. Note that the hotel wifi is pretty much not useable at night and basic in morning so you may want to plan ahead.