Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Vibrant atmosphere inside!

Posted Feb 20, 2018
Like from fairy tale. Great hikes around and beautiful New Jersey botanic garden.
5 out of 5
by Yelena

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not what you would expect

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: The grounds are lovely. Close to many outdoor activities. I did receive a restaurant recommendation that we loved in nearby Ringwood.
Cons: Upgrade the mattresses and TVs! Also, improve the check in process and leave staff overnight.
Location: Ringwood State Park is close by. Apple picking, hiking and the lovely town of Warwick, NY are nearby. Boating, fishing, hiking, site seeing,shopping
Your visit starts by parking in a lot that is not even attached to the hotel. If you arrive after dark, you are given a flash light. Keep in mind that the only person running the place leaves at 11 and locks the front door. There is NO STAFF at night to speak of. The rooms are not modern. Bedding and mattress are older and not comfortable. We opted not to shower, the fixtures were rusted. While the grounds were beautiful, staying in our room was not comfortable. Our TV could receive one or two channels and the remote was non functioning. We stayed for the continental breakfast. I saw so many reviews stating that the breakfast was marvelous! Not so. Standard hotel fare. Finally, if you do decide to stay here, please upgrade to the bathroom en suite, as most rooms share facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning Castle

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
The castle and the grounds were absolutely amazing. To sit down to breakfast in the courtyard with the views of all the flowers, statues and land was breathtaking. We went for a walk on the grounds to see the flowers and it was fantastic. Only issue is the location, it is a 10 minute walk from the unlit parking lot which is spooky at night. There is no food on the grounds so the closest restaurants are a 16 minute drive away. Don't come hungry!! Though I would strongly prefer there being food at the Castle. We went to the Renaissance Faire earlier in the day before check-in and the experience was surreal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Still Loved it

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The gardens
Despit the fact that the accomodations are not luxurious, and that the bathrooms are shared, the gardens were magnificent. We would return just for the gardens. The biggest issue I had while there was that there were not enough electrical outlets to charge 2 phones and a tablet. I ended up having to move furniture and unplug lamps to free up some outlets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Disappointed

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Hotel look nice but room was Dirty and dusty , the room was sauna hot ,a.c did not work , there was no one to fix it , they didnt gave us another room , so we split! Went back home same day disappointed
5 out of 5
by Joann

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
I would like to the opportunity to go back however no date available can you make this ha5
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a place for us

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived after dark and because of the parking situation, we felt uncomfortable with a long walk in the dark on bumpy roads from our car to the hotel. We didn't realize that we were sharing a bathroom with four other rooms, and wouldn't have stayed there if we had. We were disappointed that there was no coffee until 8am. and no place to get coffee, no coffee makers in the room. There were no blinds or curtains on the windows and the door to the hallway had a window where the hall light came through all night.
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by kimberly

Stay in a Mansion

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
i loved this place. it is a beautiful turn of the century stately home on the grounds of the new jersey botanical gardens. stay here!!