Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

beautiful venue during holiday open house

Posted Dec 4, 2016
you can call them because they had no heat & hot water. didn't stay. want a refund
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Posted Nov 21, 2016
No bathrooms or shower you have to walk outside the room in the hallway to go take a shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for Halloween weekend.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel for Halloween weekend. There were mysterious stains on the duvet, cracked window panes for a drafty night of slumber, and a nest of flies living in the chandelier. Their radiators did not function, but there was a space heater in the room. The room could use a vacuuming and the bathroom could use a major scrubbing. Water in sink took 30 minutes to get luke warm. The shower head was encrusted with gunk. We killed several flies when they descended from the chandelier and some other bug in the bathroom. There was no wifi in the room. When I spoke to the front desk after the first night, they said they will look into the heater and that wifi is really spotty because of the stone walls. The heat was still not working the second night. Breakfast was sad. The first morning's breakfast did not have hot water for tea. The second morning, the toaster was broken. No one could be bothered to man the front desk for check out. It's just a basket to drop off the key. This is not the magical, romantic experience they advertise. I feel ripped off. Would not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Step Back in Time

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: The staff is so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Complimentary breakfast on the patio or in the dining room is simply charming.
Cons: There isn't anything about this hotel that I don't like. If I had to choose something I would say I saw a cobweb behind the TV.
Location: Dinner at Arta is a MUST. Woodbury Common, the BEST high-end outlet, is 1/2 hr away. Harness Racing Museum and Hall of Fame is 40 min away.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous place to stay

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
BEAUTIFUL place. It felt like I was stepping back in time. The staff is incredibly friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Castle and Botanical Gardens

Posted Oct 17, 2016
We had a two night stay and the hotel had no heat or hot water for the entire first day and most of the second day. We liked the facility and the staff with this obvious exception. No efforts or accommodations were made to satisfy the guests and some checked out due to this issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Vintage glamour & stunning views

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Historic, romantic, beautiful
Cons: Path to parking lot lights, hard to walk there for seniors at night, safety questions
Location: Hiking paradise, bring good shoes!
Who knew this was in northern NJ... If you love charming castles without a children's amusement park view out your window, it's the place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pocono Pines, Pa

Power outage

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful, historic mansin
Cons: See my comments above
Location: Good location to fine restaurants.
We were in the King Albert Suite. Power went off. I went downstairs to s the "wedding planner" what to do. There was no concierge other than this woman who was not part of the staff. She had experienced this before. Room should never have been rented. We went to the breaker switch closet. She showed me how to flick the switch. Well. before we left for dinner, the power went off 5bmore times. Down the hall I go to flick the switch. Went to dinner. When we got back we figured our to turn off the chandelier. That helped. No more power outage. As far s staff was concerned, there was none. Saw the wedding planner and the housekeeper. Reviews had said there was a person to greet you, make restaurant recommendations, sat with you late in the night (I didn't need that) and then prepared the awesome breakfast the next morning. Room had some trash in the trash can and a beer cap on the floor. The shower dripped, but I expect that in an historic, old mansion. Looks like great place for a wedding, but the guests might be disappointed in the rooms. For the price, I'd like my money back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York State

Could have been nice

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The gardens!
Cons: Make it easily accessible and workers could be more courteous to visitors. Not act like they are going out of there way when it's there job.
Location: The gardens were nice around the castle.
It was a nightmare! Small room can barely fit a bed. It had a sink, closet and no bathroom.The room was not advertised as having to share a bathroom with other guests. The fan was cracked and the windows had not curtains. The parking lot was located far from the Castle. I did not have a very friendly person at check in. I left asap and am anticipating getting a refund. It was a place that I would never recommend. It was awful!
3 out of 5
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels