Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 10, 2017
Great hotel Great local Beautiful view Perfect in front of a castle Lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from solihull

Great hotel, quiet location in the forest

Posted Dec 1, 2016
We stayed for two nights whilst visiting the local Xmas markets. The hotel is in the middle of the forest with great walks and scenery. It is next to the schaumberg castle. Buffet breakfast was great, staff where very helpful and the rooms were spacious and clean. You would need a car as the hotel was about 40 mins from Hannover airport, we were touring round the area and visited Rinteln , Hannover and hessich oldendorf ... all lovely towns.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed our one night stay, driving back from our holiday. Joined the Knight-dinner party which was conveniently held that evening. Love the castle, you should definitely climb the tower.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
A lovely hotel not far from motorway, brilliant breakfast great value. Very clean.
5 out of 5
by Philip from Texas

Dream come true.

Posted Jan 8, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect in every way! Dream trip for my wife. Can we stay forever? Beautiful area, hotel, room, and food! The Castle just steps away and right out our window! Even the rain and cold couldn't take away how great it was!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great escape

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
A great escape. The castle is open to the public and you can climb the old guard tower (XIIIth century, 50m tall maybe) free of charge. Hotel's restaurant is tasty but pricey.
5 out of 5
by Simon from Cardiff

Fantastic stopover

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic stopover on a drive from Calais to Berlin. We arrived very late after the restaurant had closed but the staff still made a lovely supper for us. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by Edwin from Wrexham

Pleasant out-of-the-way hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2015 on Hotels
A pleasant hotel out in the countryside but rather difficult to find. Good parking. Some English speaking staff. Were not warned that the restaurant was serving Thai food that week.
5 out of 5
by Judith from Buffalo, NY

Mountain-top amazing!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing location! We didn't have a clue we were going to drive up a mountain and stay next to a "castle"! The hotel is fantastic...it looks modern enough with renovations to pass for a somewhat swanky hotel, but the rooms inside are very charming and homey. We were on the top floor and had a view of the trees and off into the distance. We were totally enchanted. After checking in we went over and explored the palace and castle remains. There's a restaurant over there that overlooks the valley below with insane views, but it wasn't open. I don't even know how people know to come eat here it's so hidden! The restaurant attached to the hotel was booked, so we didn't eat there, but it looked pretty amazing. The free breakfast buffet was fantastic! And the staff is incredible attentive. They're really, really nice (and speak English). We had a problem with our tv, and this very nice woman came right up to help us. The wifi is a little shoddy, but that's ok. We really, really enjoyed our night here and would stay again if we ever decided to go back to Hameln.