Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Very GOOD experience for our stay of two days . Very GOOD. Very good
4 out of 5
by ANA LUISA from Heredia

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
small beds need better pillow, small room good food, sevice and enviromental
5 out of 5
by Charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highlight of our trip

Posted Dec 26, 2015
This hotel was amazing. A truly great experience, from the accommodations to the staff, etc. The owner is right there and has a very interesting story to tell. The food was excellent as well. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Vilma Jasmin from Brooklyn, NY.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
location is convenient for visiting Tenorio National Park. Eclectic and creative meals served in a warm and inviting environment using local ingredients to fuse French and Costa Rican fare.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Different than anyplace I've ever stayed

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful, meals were tasty.
We had a very nice experience at this property but it is not for everyone. It is a very small property with very basic rooms. No televisions, no pool, the hot tub was not operational when we were there. The grounds and scenery were beautiful and the location great for getting to Tenorio National Park. The meals are included and were great but it is important for people to understand that the meals are what they are. They are served at one time and you get what you get. There is no other menu to order from or other choices. They have a small bar and include water and juice with your meal. Everything shuts down at 10pm. We enjoyed our time there, the staff was fantastic, we would return under the right circumstances.
5 out of 5
by Michael from london

a birdwatchers paradise

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay of two nights, the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is set in large gardens full of wild life as is the surrounding area. Great views from the dining/lounge areas and the dining arrangements afforded the opportunity of meeting fellow travelers. The road up to the lodge is rough but we only had a small 2WD car and by driving slowly had no problem, in fact this is an advantage as we saw many interesting birs on the way. A 4WD vehicle is a must to visit the National Park however we walked there in less than an hour. We would really recommend this lodge to anyone interested in nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Columbia, TN

Nice lodge close to Tenorio National Park

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: The staff was very helpful and everyone was so nice. The food was exceptionally good. They even prepared to-go lunches for a day hike.
Location: Tenorio State Park is very close.
The lodge staff was so nice and very accommodating. The food was excellent gourmet quality and included in the price of the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eco-friendly

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Environmentally-friendly
Cons: The food lacks love and flavor albeit healthy and supposedly good for the environment
Location: Rio Celeste and Celeste Mountains are nearby - lush and green - a wonderful place to stay for the location to trails
Very friendly staff that will tell you if you left your hotel bathroom light on during dinner. Be conscious of your carbon footprint if you want to stay here. Cute boutique hotel surrounded by beautiful scenery.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Charleston, SC

Two days in the clouds. Great view of the Volcano!

Posted Dec 26, 2014 on Hotels
Nice property.Interesting Eco concept. Friendly staff and owner. Very good local food, full after every meal.