Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Roy

Like being at the fountain of youth

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fantastic, the only thing thst seemed strange is no bartenders at swim up bar so you had to get the waiter for drink then go to the bar with no one there kinda takes away the fun.But we just went with it .Still unbelievable gorgeous and breathtaking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
It was incredible experience and would recommend to every
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Te activities were A+ and the guides were apt of fun. My only criticism is that the food was not up to par with the other restaurants we visited over our 3 week stay. If however you are looking for an amazing natural hot spring river this one far surpass any of the others we visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quite hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel staff was excellent, the hotel facilities were nice. The day we arrive was very cold and with a lot of rain. You have to use the use the hotel restaurant, there are not a lot of option nearby. A small town called Bijagua is at about 10km, 20 minute ride in a bad road. We went to the park to walk to Rio celeste, it is a 2-3 horas walk around the forest. Regarding the hotel my girlfriend and I get a good but not excellent massage one night. Also we didn’t were able to get a room with a king bed ( and we asked for it) and our bathroom didn’t have a bathtub like the description said. I am Expedia gold member and didn’t get any special treatment from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Luxurious remoteness

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The outdoor shower.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: Tenorio rafting, Tenorio National Park hike to waterfalls
This is the kind of place I was looking for when I thought of Costa Rica: In the middle of nature, but very well cared-for. We arrived in our own rental car, but we were glad we'd rented a sturdy vehicle as the roads are rough! I understand that they offer shuttles from the airport, but this was part of a larger road trip around the country for us. We only stayed for two nights, but we found that to be plenty of time. Staff helped us book our Tenorio rafting excursion, and guided hike of Rio Celeste and Waterfall in Tenorio National Park (guide not needed, IMO). We also hiked their private trail to Rio Celeste and got in the water. It was beautiful! The pool and hot tubs were a lovely way to end the day. The only food available in the area is their own restaurant. It's lovely and the food is decent, but I found it overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was included and very good. The outdoor shower was a highlight! The staff were very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great property bit off the beaten path

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: signage
Location: white water rafting , rappelling , zip lining
lovely sites and property with very helpful kind people staff very nice and friendly a bit out the way on dirt road by very close to all natural parks tiki bars and 3 jacuzzis unfortunately they had received some damage from the recent hurricane around thanksgiving 2016 the main restaurant had a great deal of international and non dishes their meats are devine I enjoyed the sound of the rain which was soothing and made it worth while and compensated its location not too easy to find the hike was beautiful and the view of the waterfalls stunning lots of activities near by - Id gladly recommend it to friends and would love to come back again more signage would help other travelers especially at nigh time and driving yourself the rooms were a bit musty probably from the enormous amount of rain falling in that area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful resort in the rain forest

Posted Nov 27, 2016
After 10 km on a rocky road, which is now being paved, we reached this wonderful place. The grounds are gorgeous, the hotel staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The restaurant serves very delicious meals, like a very tasty and creativity presented palmito salad and ceviche. Go for a hike in the nearby volcano national park and experience the really blue waters of the river, waterfall etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Beware of staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel is pretty, clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Staff is friendly and Restaurant is good. But, be careful to leave your belongings out. Somebody will selectively steal them. They stole my wife's shoes, lingerie, and swim suit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great property

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Rio Celeste was great. As others have mentioned, the road to get there is very difficult to navigate because of all fo the boulders and rocks. Once you get there, it is a lovely property with plenty to see and do. There is a nice hike on the property down to the river, which is the magical green/blue that you see in the pictures. The hanging bridge was very cool. The hike to the waterfall is just down the road from the hotel, and we were able to do it easily with our 7 year old son. It was only about a mile or so to get to it, so we were in and out in less than an hour and a half. There was lots of wildlife within the hotel grounds. We even had a white face monkey come on our deck. The only negative was that the food was very expensive and mediocre. You really have no options, since there is nothing close once you get to the resort, which is why I think they probably overcharge. I think we payed close to $100 for the three of us to eat and a few beers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden Paradise

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The tranquil ambiance that was created by the resort and the uniqueness of the amenities.
Cons: The furniture was absolutely stunning but uncomfortable to spend a lot of time on during rainy days.
Location: Delicious local food nearby, national park and tenorio volcano down the street. Lots of tours within the vacinity.
After a long day of travel from leaving the states and flying in to San Jose then driving to our resort we were graciously welcomed by friendly staff, complimentary freshly puréed tropical drinks and an ambiance that melted away any stress and weariness we once had. Throughout the stay the staff was kind and considerate. The amenities were above and beyond expectations. The design of the structures was amazing and anywhere you ventured on the property you were immediately overwhelmed by the tranquility surrounding you. We were very pleased with our decision to stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway and we are looking forward to our next stay there.