Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Te activities were A+ and the guides were apt of fun. My only criticism is that the food was not up to par with the other restaurants we visited over our 3 week stay. If however you are looking for an amazing natural hot spring river this one far surpass any of the others we visited.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quite hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2017
The hotel staff was excellent, the hotel facilities were nice. The day we arrive was very cold and with a lot of rain. You have to use the use the hotel restaurant, there are not a lot of option nearby. A small town called Bijagua is at about 10km, 20 minute ride in a bad road. We went to the park to walk to Rio celeste, it is a 2-3 horas walk around the forest. Regarding the hotel my girlfriend and I get a good but not excellent massage one night. Also we didn’t were able to get a room with a king bed ( and we asked for it) and our bathroom didn’t have a bathtub like the description said. I am Expedia gold member and didn’t get any special treatment from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Luxurious remoteness

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The outdoor shower.
Cons: The restaurant.
Location: Tenorio rafting, Tenorio National Park hike to waterfalls
This is the kind of place I was looking for when I thought of Costa Rica: In the middle of nature, but very well cared-for. We arrived in our own rental car, but we were glad we'd rented a sturdy vehicle as the roads are rough! I understand that they offer shuttles from the airport, but this was part of a larger road trip around the country for us. We only stayed for two nights, but we found that to be plenty of time. Staff helped us book our Tenorio rafting excursion, and guided hike of Rio Celeste and Waterfall in Tenorio National Park (guide not needed, IMO). We also hiked their private trail to Rio Celeste and got in the water. It was beautiful! The pool and hot tubs were a lovely way to end the day. The only food available in the area is their own restaurant. It's lovely and the food is decent, but I found it overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was included and very good. The outdoor shower was a highlight! The staff were very nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great property bit off the beaten path

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: signage
Location: white water rafting , rappelling , zip lining
lovely sites and property with very helpful kind people staff very nice and friendly a bit out the way on dirt road by very close to all natural parks tiki bars and 3 jacuzzis unfortunately they had received some damage from the recent hurricane around thanksgiving 2016 the main restaurant had a great deal of international and non dishes their meats are devine I enjoyed the sound of the rain which was soothing and made it worth while and compensated its location not too easy to find the hike was beautiful and the view of the waterfalls stunning lots of activities near by - Id gladly recommend it to friends and would love to come back again more signage would help other travelers especially at nigh time and driving yourself the rooms were a bit musty probably from the enormous amount of rain falling in that area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Wonderful resort in the rain forest

Posted Nov 27, 2016
After 10 km on a rocky road, which is now being paved, we reached this wonderful place. The grounds are gorgeous, the hotel staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. The restaurant serves very delicious meals, like a very tasty and creativity presented palmito salad and ceviche. Go for a hike in the nearby volcano national park and experience the really blue waters of the river, waterfall etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Beware of staff

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel is pretty, clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Staff is friendly and Restaurant is good. But, be careful to leave your belongings out. Somebody will selectively steal them. They stole my wife's shoes, lingerie, and swim suit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Hidden Paradise

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: The tranquil ambiance that was created by the resort and the uniqueness of the amenities.
Cons: The furniture was absolutely stunning but uncomfortable to spend a lot of time on during rainy days.
Location: Delicious local food nearby, national park and tenorio volcano down the street. Lots of tours within the vacinity.
After a long day of travel from leaving the states and flying in to San Jose then driving to our resort we were graciously welcomed by friendly staff, complimentary freshly puréed tropical drinks and an ambiance that melted away any stress and weariness we once had. Throughout the stay the staff was kind and considerate. The amenities were above and beyond expectations. The design of the structures was amazing and anywhere you ventured on the property you were immediately overwhelmed by the tranquility surrounding you. We were very pleased with our decision to stay at Rio Celeste Hideaway and we are looking forward to our next stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Loved the staff and facilities!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Overall this is an amazing place to stay. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant, pool and short hike to the river. The only suggestion would be to get beds that don't make so much noise. We stayed with our daughter and anytime anyone moved during the night it woke us all up. Otherwise the place was amazing and we would definitely recommend it to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, United States of America

The best place to stay at Rio Celeste

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Cons: The beds were hard and uncomfortable. The pillows had chunks of foam in them. No blankets were provided.
Location: Great location. Less than five minute drive to the park
We loved the hotel and you can't beat the location. Even had its own path down to the river. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and lush. The rooms were huge and clean. The restaurant was expensive but the food was very good. The wine list left a lot to be desired.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Outstanding Staff! Awesome location!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great food and and beautiful location. Very peaceful and Rooms are huge and very comfortable. We had an awesome stay at this wonderful retreat!