Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Top Hotel in the Rain Forest

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Restaurant, staff, grounds
Cons: Can't really think of anything
Location: Rio Celeste is pretty remote. We took a half day tour in the National Park and a short tour of coffee plantation. Both were good.
The staff were terrific. Helpful and accommodating. The grounds were beautiful. The restaurant was first rate - the best dinners we had in Costa Rica. I thought they must have brought the chef in from Paris or New York, but the waiter said he was a local. Dinner was something I looked forward to every night. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Being in the rain forest, you should expect everything to be dank and you may see small creatures in your room. Nothing to worry about, but some people get freaked by a frog or lizard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Great Service

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great Service, the food was delicious and the Rio Celeste trail was amazing !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, Arizona

This place is a GEM.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The Hideaway is just that, a hidden gem. The grounds and rooms are beautiful, the online photos don't do it justice. We were greeted by the super friendly staff with a cool towel and welcome drink then were taken to our gorgeous rooms. The staff told us about the trail to the river and we were off! It's an easy hike, the river is captivating and just right for a cool (not cold) swim after the long drive from Nosara. We would have loved to stay for a longer time but would not hesitate to return-book this place, you won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Orange County

Beautiful, Romantic Hideaway!

Posted May 11, 2017
Location: Definitely check out Rio Celeste! Breathtaking hike and waterfall!
We stayed here for only one night, but we wish we could have spent more time here! The resort is not kidding with the name "hideaway". It is in the middle of the rainforest and is absolutely gorgeous! As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with awesome hospitality. We arrived at night so we didn't realize the beauty of the resort until the next morning, but we've never been surrounded by so many lush trees, plants, and flowers. You are in the middle of the rainforest, so be aware that you will run into bugs, insects, and other wildlife. Just the one day we were there, we saw frogs and a variety of birds. The staff was very accommodating and very friendly, and made us feel welcomed and like we were family. They definitely go out of their way for you! We shared a room with our close friends for the night and the room was absolutely beautiful. It would make for a very romantic getaway with a loved one! When we go back to Costa Rica, we will definitely be planning to spend more time here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

BEAUTIFUL property!

Posted May 3, 2017
Great staff, great food! Gorgeous grounds!! Have to try a shot of Cacique! Note to self: don't go in the jungle at night!! Thanks for everything! Pura vida!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers< Florida

Excellent view,all that nature was wonderful.

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Very clean and nice decor.
Cons: THE FOOD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: National park, coffee farm , horseback riding, Nature walk to the river and a nice hotel about one mile down the road to have very good local food
Hotel staff very supportive Marilyn at the front desk is one of the nicest and most professional people I have ever encounter in a hotel setting. I travel for work and spend at least 2 weeks a month in hotels, she is by far the best attentive and full of information. The restaurant staff where also exceptional. The restaurant food was very inconsistent in portion size and the way it was prepared. The breakfast was very repetitive, the pancakes thick with no taste. dinner and lunch menu very limited. Dinner where over priced , portion poor size and no to little flavor. I plan to visit again but will not dine in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location and facilities.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location and setting
Cons: Staff, client information, details in reservations.
Location: Rio Celeste
Beautiful location, one of the most beautiful natural settings I have ever seen. There are definitely nicer rooms than others. Missing some five-star hotel details such as signals, information, buffet presentation and professional staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hideaway couldn't be more accurate.

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Outdoor shower attached to spacious bathroom and front porch.
Cons: Better quality sheets.
Location: Hike to National Park right from hotel--no car needed.
We arrived just after dusk--meeting our objective to conquer the final 1.3 k, the only remaining dirt portion of Route 6 leading to the Rio Celeste. Warm greeting, a cool welcome drink, booming frog voices and one of the nicest rooms we've enjoyed anywhere awaited us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville, FL

Absolutely loved it!

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Orbitz
What an incredible place, truly a one of a kind. I can't wait to go nack. The only drawback was the dinners, it's was only "fair". It's disappointing to get a $28 steak that's tough and bland. But that would not keep us from going back at all. Just don't go there thinking you'll have a gourmet dinner.
4 out of 5
by walter

Beautiful rainforest location

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Awesome location close to the park and has a nice hike on the property to rio Celeste. It poured rain while we were there but you barely feel it in the rainforest. Really enjoyed the outdoor hot tubs in the rains