Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great old fashioned place

Posted Oct 9, 2016
If your looking for nice old place, good condition with that nostalgic feel stay here. The man operated elevator, old wood work marbleel spiral steps. Easy walking to restruants, historical sites. We loved our stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Awful smell on the hotel and the room I stayed

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hotel is -1 star. I paid a VIP stay room and they put myself on a -1 star room. The cleaning staff said they reserved that room for people smoking and looks dirty. Was not my case. Expedia.com should take care when hotel like this wants to joining the time of the goods hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV.

A little R&R

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: The location and the price
Cons: The thin walls you can hear your neighbor clearly but that did not bother me to much.
Location: The hotel is located downtown and dozens of restaurants to chose from. Lapa is also nearby good night life Thursday thru Sunday.
The hotel is downtown I have stayed in this hotel before. The hotel is close to public transit and close to many places to eat. You are downtown so a little noise and lots of traffic. The weekend are pretty dead downtown not much going on. Lapa is not a far walk as a museum or two are also nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Delray beach Fl

Old hotel close to Rio Sdu airport

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Check in starts at 3 pm (later than everyone else), hotel has no parking nearby, elevator is so old that has to be operated by an employee, hotel is really old and obsolete. R$ 24.00 for wi fi in room. The only plus is the location, literally across the street from the airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Very central, close to everything tourist need

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Can paint the rooms and furniture and make bathrooms more modern, but that may make it expensive. Keep few rooms ready as some flights arrives early.
Location: Shopping, tourist spots, market, museums, churches, downtown, beaches, marina, buses all close by.
Do not arrive before 3 as they do not have rooms ready. Facilities are old but work, don't wait for the elevator to take you down, just walk down the steps. Easy to find buses any time of the night to Central or Centro, close by. Easy access to key places. Just 300 meter's away from City airport and yet in downtown. Excellent breakfast included in the room rate, good and clean and reasonably priced restaurant. Avccess to Wi-fi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Central hotel close to Airport

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Its position, breakfast, staff
Cons: Room were a little tired as were corridors but a manual lift brilliant !!
Location: close to airport ( local flights ) about hour plus to international. Good Italian rest around the corner. Close to art and military museums .
We stayed here for one night as it was close to airport at the time olf booking didnt realise two airports ! Not a major problem and pleased that we did not stay at the Int airport hotel. Room was basic and clean with a very powerful shower !! Buffet breakfast was good. Hotel staff very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brazil

Worst hotel in Rio

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Room door was broken and wouldn't close. Had to barricade it every night! Constant noise from outside. Bed was very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It was a great experience. We had a great time in the Hotel. Great staff and good facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A little too old

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: It is near the Center of the city and Lapa area which has a very nice nightlife
It is an old Hotel with only one working elevator, the elevator is only for 4 persons and one is the staff member needed to operate the elevator. Otherwise is a nice hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don´t go there!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Change the staff
Location: Good location, near metro and buses lines
During the second day a smartphone and some minor jewels disappeared from a small suitcase in our room. The manager and the staff hinted it was a lie.They don´t even wanted to make a report.