Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel in residential area.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Beaches, restaurants, bars, shops.
Excellent front office staff. Both Claudia & Gilbert went out of their way to assist us. Gilbert even walked us to the restaurant the day we arrived. Busy hotel within walking distance to Copacabana beach. Room simple but clean. Lots of restaurants/bars within walking distance. Locals strolling their babies & dogs in the evenings. Safe area close to everything. Low crime rate due to obvious police force & plain clothes cops abundant. Feel free to dine out at night. All beaches & lake close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Posted Sep 2, 2016
It was great. The breakfast wasnt that good. But its a great location and friendly staff. :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Convenience and Comfort at a reasonable price

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: rooftop terrace and pool deck, friendly staff, short walk to beach
This hotel is on a quiet residential street but very close to major attractions. The cross street Joaquim Ribero connects Copacabana beach with Ipanema beach. And the main subway station is three blocks north. The rooms are simply furnished, but it gives a stay a pleasant retro feel as if you were travelling in the 1960's. Breakfast is truly homemade and you can see the cook at work when the kitchen door opens. The rooftop terrace and pool deck are two full floors and are excellent. I had two business meetings scheduled in the lobby and we moved to the enclosed terrace. The visitors loved it. You can see all of Ipanema Beach, plus Sugar Loaf. If you like to work out, Rio Fitness around the corner has day passes and week passes. There is also a Rio Sul supermarket a block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Carnival

Posted Feb 13, 2015
I actually really enjoyed my stay at Atlantis. The location is perfect being only a couple blocks from Copacobana and a short walk to Ipanema. The staff was pretty friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was decent for the are I did get a great night sleep after a long flight to Rio. My only complaint would be spotty wifi in the room which is pretty consistent everywhere in Rio. I'd def. stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

NYC Traveler to Rio

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location , location, location!!!!!!! Free wifi, full real breakfast included! Meats, eggs, fruits, desserts , juices,etc!!! .. outdoor pool topFloor
Cons: Wifi, ocassionally signal is week. ,
Location: 5min walk ipanema and copacabana beach!!! A walk to different and local restaurants and metro 5min walk.
Great location, hotel is 5min walk in the middle and border of copacabana and ipanema beach. The area is safe! Hotel staff is nice , there is a shell gas station a block if you are driving with your car, Have an outdoor pool and a bar on the 11th floor with a panaromic view of the entire city... the prices in the reception in the lobby for tours are higher so its better to book direct in the tours you like... Free wifi and real full breakfast with desserts and fruits . Overall im satisfied on my stay! I come to Rio to enjoy and explore the whole magical city not to stay and be a couch potatoe on my hotel.... Not a 5star but a decent hotel that will satisfy your needs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Unclean and Ancient

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: It's location. The view from the roof.
Cons: Renovate. Fix the plumbing. Take an interest in the customers. Explain all charges. Heat the pool and jacuzzi.
Location: Copacabana and Ipanema beaches.
The room was dirty with ancient features. The floors were cold, dirty tile. The noise from the hall was too loud. The toilet belched sewer gas in your face when you flushed. The staff didn't help carry up the bags or pay attention to the clients. The receptionist left us waiting for hours in the lobby. The free breakfast was quite poor. Neither the pool nor the jacuzzi were heated. A mysterious $183 charge showed up on our credit card after we arrived home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry from Detriot, MI

Nice location to the beach. Nice bbreakfast.

Posted May 6, 2014
Room is a little bit small. But location is good.They provided hot water for free! (drinking water).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Canada

Great Location betwen Ipanema & Copacabana Beaches

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Only good thing to eat in the restaurant were the fries-bring your own ketchup-I couldn't find any good stuff in Argentina or Brazil.
Location: Easy walk to the beaches-about four blocks to either Ipanema or Copacabana. Found neighbourhoods safe at night. No problems on either beach.
Staff I dealt with were excellent. Spoke great English and were very helpful. Willing to exchange US dollars for Reals at front desk. If you want room cleaned when you are out - hang the sign on the doorknob I thought breakfast buffet was fairly good to perhaps very good, however, Do Not Eat in the Restaurant. Nice little cafe down the block. Get help with the menu if you are unfamiliar with Portugese. Portions are usually good for two people. Beer available in every little shop and on the beach- buy from the guys with coolers that patrol up and down the beach-best price. Food very expensive at kiosks on the beach and not the best. Had trouble in the room getting the A/C to not run continuously. My wife thought that hotel had slight musty odor to it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Natasha from Vancouver, Canada

perfect location: between 2 famous beaches.

Posted Nov 10, 2013
Pros: same here.
Cons: Breakfast was always the same.
Location: beaches, shopping etc.
very simple room, but clean and conditioned. Staff is polite and speaks English (no one in the country does). Will come to the same hotel again,