Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Sean from Townsville

Noisy, but really a great hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
My room faced the street and was *very* noisy with cars beeping and just general road noise. I would recommend to management to install thicker glass doors (these were quite thin) and use thick heavy fabric drapes, rather than the thin curtains they have now. The air conditioner is also about 20 years old and is a) very noisy and b) very dirty - i had to take the filter to reception to get it cleaned. Even so, after the first night I did not use the air conditioner again because it is full of dust and made my throat sore. However, the staff really saved the hotel for me, everyone was very high quality and spoke english, very knowledgeable about local area and able to recommend good tours et cetera et cetera. I would recommend earplugs but i'd give the hotel a solid 4 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel very friendly helpful staff

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Great trip and fantastic helpful hotel staff. Andrea on reception is a credit to the hotel. As are the front reception, restuarant staff and maids. Loved first visit in November 2015 was back in Rio Feb 2016 and chose same hotel for closeness to beach and restaurants and hotel staff who were always so helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2015
It was ok. SWimming Pool small. Hotel need To be renewed. Breakfast ok. Great location. Rooms aré nice. Bathrooms need To be renewed. Very clóse To storeS, bars, restaurantes and Beach. The staff is very kind
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington,NZ

Great hotel close to copacabana and Ipanema beach

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: An easy walk to both Copacabana and Ipanema beaches. We like walking so also walked to the cable car station for sugarloaf mountain.
Location: The beaches, Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon. We walked down to the rocks one evening to see the sunset.
we arrived at the hotel at 11pm and the bell boy and reception were ready for us. A very smooth check in. The free wi-fi was a bonus. The breakfast was also very good. The air con units are old and noisy but did not stop us from sleeping.
5 out of 5
by David from Brisbane

Great hotel. Great staff. Totally great!

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
What a great hotel! Great value for money. Excellent staff. Comfortable room. Great location. One of the best 3 star hotels I've ever stayed at.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Construction and wi-fi conection terrible

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location
Room was okay, very simple but okay. On the other hand the wi-fi connection was terrible and very slow. We had to go to the bathroom to have bellow average speed. I have stayed in other hotels in Rio before and never saw such terrible conection. Staff did not know what to do to improve. Moreover, they had remodeling work starting at 8:00 am and did not tell us in advance. Worst the front desk did not know. I had to call and ask them to do something… I would not recommend this hotel at all.
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Dublin, Ireland

Good hotel in excellent location

Posted Jun 20, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay in Augustos. Location is excellent. Room is nice and cleaned every day. Breakfast is lovely great selection to choice from. Stayed here for a week with my partner and felt really comfortable. Only bad thing is the AC is very noisy but everything was excellent
4 out of 5
by sunil

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Steve from nebraska

rio

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Breakfast included was average, price was very high, triple the normal rate since it was carnival. Hotel staff gave bad information to me twice regarding transportation, but they were very polite.
4 out of 5
by Blair from Michigan

Great Vaca

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
My stay at the hotel was awesome. My only issue with the hotel was that I would have liked the floors to have swept a little better. I don't like walking through my hotel room and needing to wipe my feet after a few steps. I know being by the beach, had a lot to do with it but still... But the service was spectacular. The staff was always helpful, and not being able to speak the language, there was always a staff member at hand that was at least bilingual. This hotel was fabulous!!! I would not only recommend but plan on staying again, if ever back in Brazil.