Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

copacabana view

Posted Feb 13, 2017
We had a beautiful suite overlooking Copacabana Beach. A lively hotel- highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Art Deco Glamour and Impeccable Service

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Suite, restaurants and staff
Location: Brilliant for copcabana beach and nearby is the bossanova club Bottles Bar - where Jobim played and remains a brilliant fresh live venue
A wonderful upgrade to the most superb Atlantic suite was our opening gift from the hotel. And it just got better and better. Thoroughly recommend the restaurants - just superb. Poolside is very relaxing. Staff are just superb. Take time to enjoy the Art Deco splendour of this beautiful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nutley, NJ

True 5 star experience

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet is amazing! Lounging at the pool with drinks or lunch is an experience not to be missed.
Cons: The bed was a little soft for my liking.
Location: Copacabana beach is across the street, very convenient with lounge chairs, towels and umbrellas provided by hotel staff.
I spent the last 2 nights of my trip to Rio at this hotel to treat myself to a 5 star experience. The Copacabana Palace did not disappoint. The hotel is beautiful and elegant, the staff extremely attentive and friendly and the accomodations luxurious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Beautiful Classic Hotel in a Great Location!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Beautiful and spacious suite, attentive housekeeping staff, great breakfast buffet, wonderful central location
Cons: Living room furniture beginning to show signs of wear; although staff is efficient and effective, everyone is not as openly friendly to guests
Location: Beachfront, restaurants, ice cream parlor, transportation all at your doorstep
Stayed in a suite facing pool and beach. Room was wonderfully spacious with two balconies. Generously sized bathroom with separate tub and shower and two sinks. Huge bedroom with nice closet and comfortable bedding. Great housekeeping staff kept room clean and fully equipped twice a day. Nice, expansive breakfast buffet with different choices daily. Beautiful pool area with full staff of attendants. I have been to Rio several times and have never stayed at a hotel any nicer. Can't imagine that there is another property any better. Look forward to returning and luxuriating in the classic elegance of the Copacabana Palace again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana, USA

Paradise on Copacabana Beach

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Although expensive, this hotel is gorgeous and immaculate with pleasant, attentive staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

gift

Posted Jun 28, 2016
My parents get a wonderful experience . They love it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Close to the Beach

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Staff were helpful and polite. Room was clean. Dining there was excellent. Good location.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from usa

Dont go there they dont respect your money

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Copacabana palace worst experience around the world, after you pay not for a cheap room!! They treat you like you are in kindergarden , they dont allow any all your friend or visitors they even stop you at the reception and treat you like a criminal, if you get 1 min later for breakfast forget , you dont get breakfast that day, the front desk personal specially the night manager horrible maners and hardly speak english A disaster, if you are looking for fun and a good time this is NOT the place to go
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Great hotel, the best we have stayed at in Rio.

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: See comments above.
Cons: I would suggest keeping up the great standards currently provided by the hotel staff.
Location: Very well located allowing us to do a lot of walking and sightseeing in close proximity to the hotel.
We were very pleased with our first experience at the Copacabana Palace. Everything was first class from check in to check out. The staff were excellent, our suite with ocean view was wonderful as promised, spacious and well maintained. We also enjoyed the restaurants on the premises throughout our stay, great service and great meals. The buffet breakfast was a terrific way to start the day overlooking the pool. We look forward to returning to the Copacabana Palace on our next trip to Rio.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2016 by Andrea Natal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was amazing to know about your great impressions and feedback about your recent stay with us. I do hope that you keep on returning. All the best, Andrea Natal General Director.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Among the Best Hotel in Copacabana

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: (1) Great breakfast @ Pergula. (2) Great Pool, much better than going to the beach. (3) Great location, close to many great restaurants
Cons: No complaint yet.
Location: Great restaurants near-by: Churrascaria Palace next door - best Brazilian BBQ Marius Degustare - Meat and Seafood Don Carmelo - Italian
This is a well-known hotel which has done a lot of upgrading and facelifting before 2014 FIFA Worldcup, and it shows. I have stayed many times in this hotel and it is my favorite other than JW Marriott (a more American friendly hotel) at Copacabana. The guest room is always bigger than other 5-star hotels in Copacabana. Very spacious room and the the feel of luxury. It is across from the beach, however, this hotel has the nicest pool that few can match in Copacabana. The pool service is excellent. I actually enjoy the pool more than the beach. The staff is younger now and better trained, and appeared to be less snobby than 5-6 years ago under Orient Express ownership.. I love the breakfast included in the Pergula restaurant which serves the best breakfast buffet I always enjoyed, lots of fruits. I notice from time to time a staff would inspect all the food for the temperature. Great QAQC. I tried the Mee restaurant with oriental theme. I think it's OK food-wise based on its price, though atmosphere and ambiance are quite nice. The service was great and attentive. If I am on a leisure trip, I would pick Copacabana Palace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2016 by Andrea Natal, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your amazing experience. The details display that you enjoyed your stay very much. It is applicable to mention that the ownership remains the same. It was just a brand name alteration. All the best, Andrea Natal General Director.