Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from Fargo, ND

Gavea Boutique Heaven on Earth B&B

Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 Star B&B!! We loved this place! Amazing omelettes for breakfast=Check, Feeding the baby monkeys=Check, Sweet view of the Christ Statue=Check, Hot Tub=Check!! This helped make our 1st trip to Rio that much more memorable! Now, trying to find the place can be quite an adventure! But its only 10 min. from Ipanema, AND away from the crowds. Book it before it sells out!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel, few cons

Posted Nov 2, 2015
This hotel was the highlight of our trip to South America. The suites were amazing. Dont get the villa though. Pros: Gorgeous views and we got to feed little monkeys every morning! My better half absolutely loved this. The rooms were well decorated and clean. Get a suite and pay the extra $10-20 per night. Its well worth it. Customer service was top notch. Being a boutique hotel we regularly interacted with the owner and manager, both of whom were very helpful and spoke English! Con: We originally booked the villa. The Villa is actually a smaller room rigjt above the street. No scenic view unless you like a dirt hill. The sewage from the street had a tendency to linger in the Villa if you left the doors closed. We moved to the suite (next size up) the first day. Perfect for couples even though it can fit more.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver

Room smells like a sewer

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Pros: The staff is very friendly, collaborative and accommodating
Cons: Need to re-do the pipes for the Villa, it makes the whole experience not good at all and speaks very badly on how the hotel is taken care of.
Location: It is in an interesting area where you can see the huge gap between have's (Gavea) and don't have's (Rocinha).
Stayed in room #7 which is advertised as a Villa. The room could be good if it didn't smell terribly, didn't have a mosquito pest and didn't need to escalate very steep steps to the lobby area, maybe 70 steps. The staff is very nice but impossible to compensate for not being able to sleep at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

a hotel in the city with a real tropical feel

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Pros: once inside the hotel the outside world feels a million miles away it has a real tropical feel , where you can see lemurs and toucans in the trees
Cons: the hotel was a little hard to find and there was no sign outside as it looks like a regular house
Location: just a few kilometres from all the popular tourist beaches copacabana ipenapa etc and in easy reach of sugar loaf and christ the redeemer statue
my husband and i had a relaxing pleasant stay the staff are first class and really helpful nothing was too much trouble .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with the hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: It had a beautiful view. That was about it.
Cons: The rooms need to have privacy for the bathroom. There is not privacy at all.
Location: It shows that is is 0.3 miles from Leblon, but it is much further and there is a Favela slums directly above the hotel.
The hotel details showed a room for 5. It only had one double bed and a sofa bed that is very uncomfortable. The baths did not have any doors, so there was no privacy for anyone who wanted to take a bath or use the toilet. It shows that is is 0.3 miles from Leblon, but it is much further and there is a Favela slums directly above the hotel. We had to move out, and the owner promised us a reimbursement for the difference. But when I requested one from Expedia, the owner did not give the difference that was owed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alice from Rio de Janeiro

Vale a pena

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
O hotel é super simpático. O quarto é muito confortável e bem decorado. Porém, alguns pontos me incomodaram: - o café da manhã é fraco - não tem porta na chuveiro. O quarto fica molhado. - a porta do banheiro banheiro estava emperrando e era difícil de fechar - o som da tv era baixo, mesmo no volume maximo - o Wi-Fi não pegava no quarto. Apenas se tivesse perto da porta Apesar de tudo, a vista é linda. Principalmente à noite. Tomar um vinho e ficar na rede na varanda é a melhor coisa.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Boa

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
O pessoal eh atencioso, mas acho que deveriam avisar sobre as escadas... Ficamos no último quarto abaixo da piscina. Muitos degraus. Alguém desavisado, que não pode usar escadas, tem que desembolsar um valor a mais para ficar no quarto mais acima, mas mesmo assim com escadas. A porta balcão não fecha totalmente, fica com um vão. E a porta de entrada do quarto também tem umas frestas... Fora isso, atendeu nosso objetivo que era só passar 1 noite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Robson from Manaus

Melhor Hotel do Rio de Janeiro

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
O Hotel é um verdadeiro Óasis no bairro da Gávea, proximo de Copacabana, Lagoa, e do caminho para Barra. É uma pérola incrustada na Mata Atlântica, mas ao mesmo tempo dentro da cidade. Nem parce que você está no Rio de Janeiro, mas com uma visão privilegiada do Cristo e da Lagoa. É um Hotel boutique estilo rústico luxuoso, com detalhes que fazem toda diferença. Equipe super atenciosa e café da manhã maravilhoso. Chegamos antes do horário do check in e não hesitaram em antecipá-lo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

Serene and outstanding view

Posted Sep 13, 2015
I believe this hotel is the best kept secrete in Rio...no party scene around. It is tucked away in a mountain in Gavea neighborhood. This hotel caters to visitors who appreciate superb personal customer service as well as beautiful city views... You MUST upgrade your room to obtain the view! The hotel rooms are spotless; I was very pleased about it since I am somewhat of a "germ freak." The complementary breakfast is quite complete. Sipping my coffee in the breakfast area and watching the small monkeys being fed by the staff was my favorite part of the morning. The setup of the hotel is in 6 or 7 levels, one to three rooms per level. There is a lot of walking involved so if you have difficulty walking, this will not be the hotel for you. I personally loved the exercise of going up and down the stairs; however, as much as I loved the hotel, I would not be able to bring my elderly father here. We stayed here a week and loved every minute of it; however, the hotel it is not perfect... a little too much chlorine in the Jacuzzi, lol, and the wireless internet drops from time to time... made us remember that there is no perfect world, lol. Rauber and Flavia, the managers, are multilingual and always are available and willing to help with suggestions of where to go or how to get there. I fell in love with every single staff member of this hotel; they are wonderful and are very gracious people. I will definitely come back to visit them again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carlos M from Brasília

Vale a pena

Posted Aug 13, 2015 on Hotels
Excelente ambiente para quem procura uma viagem romântica. Hotel pequeno e um ótimo atendimento. Vista linda e café da manhã simples, mas saboroso e com atendimento pessoal. Passamos ótimos 4 dias nesse hotel. Pretendo voltar.