Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Rafeek from california

My Rio trip

Posted Jun 13, 2015 on Hotels
very refreshing
3 out of 5
by Imran A from DHAKA . BANGLADESH

It could have been better if Hotel have elevator .

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
we had good time as the Hotel is in Lapa . Lot of clubs & Restaurent . Very convenient to all amenities .
3 out of 5
by David from Belo Horizonte

Good location on a quiet street.

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was in good part of town. We were there just to visit the US Consulate which was within walking distance. Hotel was dated and could use a complete renovation, but at least it was clean. Staff was nice.
2 out of 5
by Jimmy F from Australia

Maybe give it a miss

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
Close to Lapa Steps and Lapa nightlife which is great. Service good. The rest is pretty average. Room minimal and old and paper thin walls in a loud area. Practically cannot shower as floods the bathroom. Breakfast is at another hotel which is weird (not that good either). No lift. The street and immediate area could certainly be considered a bit shady at night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Horrendous!!!

Posted Jul 7, 2014
We paid £80 for a double room for 1 night (due to World Cup inflation). We we completely ripped off, this was the worst hotel we have seen in 5 months round South America. Located on a dingy dark road, not at all safe at night. Decor from the 1970s. Dirty room. Strange plastic pillows/duvet which leave you very hot! Wifi only works in reception. Breakfast not included. Staff only speak Portuguese but were friendly, using google translate to communicate. Most I would willingly pay for this room is £5-10. Definitely advise finding a different hotel.
1 out of 5
by NJ and Mo from USA

The Spanish Steps (Escadaria Selaron Steps)

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
We had a terrific time, but this hotel is very old; rubberized pillows, poor bedding quality, and thin walls; not for the Faint of Heart. Internet is superb! The best we found in Rio! Great location, very nice and helpful desk people, but the hotel is far below the standard you would see in North America. The area was very Bohemian, and we loved it, but some people might find it scary except young men traveling in a group. Cab ride @$15.00 to Copacabana Beach, and it is a 5-10 minute walk to Downtown Rio which is well worth a see or a daily walk. The restaurant across from the Spanish Steps (which are 3 doors down) is a GREAT place to eat called The Gastronomia Da Lapa....cheap beer and lots of good food! Lots of security because of World Cup; we felt totally safe, not sure what it will be like after it is all over.
4 out of 5
by Laurentp11 from USA

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel. Simple and no thrills but the staff was excellent. Very helpful in helping us get around Rio. I would be more hesitant to stay there with small kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crédito carda no working

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels
I must paíd in cash. It was very expensive the second reservation
5 out of 5
by Fernando from Atlanta

DONT GET SCARED WHEN YOU GET THERE

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels
My friend and I stayed for 7 nights and it was wonderful. The staff was superb. I will be coming back and stay at the same hotel. i love it.
2 out of 5
by aflo from USA

Unsafe location

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel and rooms are subpar for the price of the nightly rate. This is worst then a motel but except is more expensive then a motel. I would not go here again.