Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A cheap place to stay

Posted Sep 16, 2015
Staff very kind and friendly but rooms are very poor in confort and design
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Benito TX

Location is Great

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: It is in a great location, 3 min walk to the beach, restaurants and stores aplenty a block west of the hotel.
Cons: They need to make sure the internet is always working, only threats to contact Expedia caught their attention. Get rid of the daytime clerk
Location: 3 minute walk to Flamengo beach, it is safe during daylight hours, do not recommend going alone at night. $5 taxi ride to Sugar Loaf mountain
The hotel is very close to Flamengo beach and I was able to go jogging there every morning.The hotel is old, with one of the oldest elevators I have ever been on but it worked. My room had two beds, a full and single, the full was rock solid and unusable, so i slept on the narrow single. The internet did not work in the room for the first few nights, despite multiple complaints to the daytime front desk clerk who became more and more hostile with every complaint. The TV also would not work properly, their maintenance men (Neverton and Josue, both extremely friendly and helpful when allowed to be) worked on the TV and got it working. Regarding the internet, the front desk clerk refused to have the internet fixed until I threatened to call Expedia.. within hours it miraculously started working.....I should point out that other guests told me they had also complained about the internet but received the same hostility.... The staff (excluding the daytime clerk) were extremely friendly and helpful, though none spoke English, some spoke Spanish) The included breakfast is about standard for the area, bread roles with butter, cheese and ham, cereal crackers and fruit. Coffee and orange juice were plentiful and tasty. The girl in charge of the breakfast area kept the area spotless and tidy, the food area always clean and well stocked...I was really impressed with her. I would be happy to stay here again despite the issues.
3 out of 5
by Lan from Vietnam

Very good location

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
The location is great, walking distance from metro and the beach. The neighborhood is safe too. The rest is average except if you have a room with the park view. I especially don't like non-white bed cover but it's just my pet peeve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

1 day in Rio

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Helpful staff. Close to beach. Hotel needs repair.
3 out of 5
by Xavier from Usa

Good for value

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels
Old facilities run down but clean
4 out of 5
by stuart from scotland

friendly staff

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
hotel had good location,very easy for bus and metro to many destinations around rio. comfortable,clean with friendly helpful staff at as good a budget rate as you will get in zona sul these days.i would surely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jorge from New York, NY

Great deal, excellent location, poor towels.

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Location, price
Cons: towels
Location: Excellent, close to Catete Station of Metro and the Catete Palace
A great deal for the price. Excellent location, close to metro. Very helpful staff. Only complain is that the towels emitted a dull, greasy smell. Had to shower again after using the towels to dry myself. Next time will bring my own towel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Continual Maintenance Challenges

Posted Jan 17, 2013 on Hotels
We were shockingly disappointed. We THOUGHT it was close to copacabana area - it was not. Of the 4 nights there - there was NO water two of the night/days and there was no hot water two other days. The elevator - (we were on the 5th floor) was not working for a time - and so we had to hike up 5 floors. The experience was one of the worst ever in 45 years of travel - if not THE worst. We were extremely disappointed - The internet DID work - there was a breakfast - and yet it was not close to a full breakfast - nothing hot - except the beverage. It was rather disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from San Jose, CA, USA

Great hotel for a family looking to save money

Posted Sep 5, 2012
Pros: price and cleanliness
Cons: Noisy area because of nearby playgrounds
Location: Great location for families
Hotel was clean and had the minimum essentials. Front desk attendant didnt speak English. Beds were very stiff and hard. Shower was extremely small, couldnt turn sideways without my shoulders rubbing the wall and I'm very skinny. This particular part of the beach is for families. A LOT of kids on the beach in this area. Plenty of soccer fields, basketball courts, and playgrounds seconds away from the hotel. If you dont have kids I would recommend staying in Copacabana instead of here (Flamengo). My favorite thing about this hotel is that it's clean and simple. Had a small tv, small fridge, and was affordable.
1 out of 5
by Ricardo C

Hotel Velho é péssimo

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Uma porcaria de hotel. Poucos quartos reformados e o resto em péssimas condições. Não volto mais!