Ratings based on 213 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach -

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: see above
Efficient staff - great view of the Pao de Acucar - convenient to Metro - very good value for money.
2 out of 5
by Denise from new york

Friendly staff in a very old and run down hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is clean and the staff is nice but it is in serious need of upgrading. The bedding, furnishings and fixtures are very old and ratty, the light in the bathroom flickered and the place was just not comfortable. I think they may have been remodeling some of the rooms because a strong smell of paint thinner permeated my floor, but it may just have been the chemicals they use to clean.
5 out of 5
by Robert from New York City

Lovely people, lovely hotel.

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
The people of the hotel (and the whole city, in fact) COULD NOT HAVE BEEN NICER. The only reason for not giving all 5 stars was that there was no dedicated concierge, so if the desk was busy with check-ins, we had to wait for directions, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Eric from Toronto

Nice Balance of City and Beach

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Loved the location...didn't want to just be at the beach but could walk to city and had Flamengo Beach just across the street. Very Central.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2016 by Reservation Department, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Eric Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Novo Mundo. We are glad to hear your comments abou our Hotel. We hope to see you soon. Yours sincerely, Hotel Novo Mundo
4 out of 5
by RP

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice for the price and close to Flamengo Beach

Posted Nov 8, 2015
During its heyday this hotel was really nice. Now expect one of the four elevators to be out of service most of your stay. It is fine, not in bad shape, and for the amount of time you will likely be in the hotel, perfect. Our room was updated and comfy, bathroom looked great, shower pressure was awesome, and view was great. There are soccer courts right in front with big lights shining on them and probably into your room until the AM so definitely draw the curtains.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2015
An old hotel with reasonable prices. A very convenient location, close to domestic airport and downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami florida usa

Posted Aug 16, 2015
staff very helpful and very nice the hotel is in good location the beach is across the street stores a block away and a very good neighbor hood.
4 out of 5
by Amy from Chicago

Nice place, great view

Posted Jun 27, 2015 on Hotels
Good place. Clean, safe and convenient to everything. Very close to both metro Catete and Flamengo park/ beach area. Slightly down at the heels feel. Be prepared for slow elevators or take the stairs. Internet slow. But Novo Mundi is a classic old place with a good feel to it. Nice Jazz in the restaurant in the evenings. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Unpretentious. It's my go to place in Rio.