Ratings based on 101 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

nive hotel near the beach and the metro

Posted Jan 25, 2017
We had booked a double room but were given a triple with little room for luggage but other than that it was very nice. Great breakfast. Beach and metro within about 5 min walk, good seafood restaurant opposite the metro.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good medium-budget hotel

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was decent. The good: - Wifi was fast - Breakfast was great; had a lot of variety and everything seemed fresh - Generally friendly staff who could speak enough English for guests to get by - Close to metro station (Catete) as it was just up the block to the right - Very accessible by metro and bus (praia do flamengo) - Neighborhood is quiet and seems generally safe The bad: - The hotel has a very heavily scented perfume smell throughout the halls - My room initially smelled like mothballs and had to air it out a bit to get rid of the smell - Not much of a gym - Minor nit: you call the elevators one by one, so this leads to delays
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield England.

Hotel is conveniently located to access beaches

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Location: Easy access to beaches, suger loaf mountain Rio centro, either walking or using public transport
Enjoyed my stay. The staff were friendly, helpful and spoke English. Hotel is easily reached using the bus from the airport.
4 out of 5
by Anh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Franklin from Auckland

good location for to stay in Rio

Posted Jan 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very well located in a nice neighborhood. very safe area and at walking distance from the beach and metro station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value for money

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Extremely helpful staff, extensive and great quality breakfast
Cons: Rooms could do with a little bit of modernisation but not a major issue
Location: Good location - easy access to all areas of Rio and airports
We stayed at Regina twice in October as a group of 4 and then 5 on a 2 week break in Brazil. Both times the hotel was excellent, extremely helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms and a fantastic breakfast offering. I would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by Elisabeth

Free condoms in the closet?

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
This is a business hotel, with no pool and not much in the way of vacation amenities. It's well located close to the center of Rio and has great access to Catete metro station, but the rooms are dated and the layout of the floors is labyrinthine, especially if you happen to be 3/4 of the way around from the elevator. And speaking of elevators, the hotel has two, and during our entire 3-night stay, one or the other of them was out of service. The breakfast buffet was quite nice, and the staff, though there were very few English speakers, were helpful and professional. There was a cardboard box in the closet, about the size of a box of 20 teabags, urging the use of condoms. However, it was empty (I guess the previous tenant finished them off.)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A staff that makes the difference

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Regina is far from being the best hotel I have stayed in my life. But has surely one of the best staff a hotel can have. And it makes a huge diference
Cons: We feel lack of simple things like hair dryer and iron. Also the air conditioning system is very old and noisy and could be upgraded.
Location: Regina Hotel s very well located, with everything very close. Bank, supermarket, drug stores and a very big street shopping.
This is not the first time I stay in Regina a Hotel and surely won't be the last. The breakfast is very good, the lunch buffet if just enough and the staff is outstanding.
4 out of 5
by christine e from sydney

no surprise

Posted Jun 4, 2015 on Hotels
hotel was as expected with no surprises
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable in Great Neighborhood

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very courteous and helpful staff. Facility a bit dated, but fine for general comfort. Not a business hotel however - no iron available for example.