Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and terrible

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
A man who we assume was the manager was rude and aggressive & treated us differently from other guests. We think out of spite he stopped our room being cleaned one day. The hotel is in a very noisy area- late night clubs and bars. The rooms are uncomfortably hot. The other staff were helpful. Breakfasts were just acceptable. Rooms small. our first room had a hole in the wall. If you are not South American do not stay here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for travelers on a budget

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The Villa Rica is not a luxurious hotel by any means, you get what you pay for. We found the location to be great as it was in a local area with very few tourists around. A couple of blocks away is the Lapa district where you can enjoy live music and a few drinks. The subway station is a 3 minute walk and will take you straight to the beach. The subway is safe and clean to use. Our room was never cleaned during our 3 day stay but that didn't bother us. The front desk did not speak much English but tried their best to meet our needs. Overall a great experience, I would recommend for those on a budget.
4 out of 5
by Joseph from Los Angeles

Great price for a room during the Olympics...

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great price for privatw room, even cheaper than a lot of hostels. Decent breakfast including scrambled eggs, fruit, etc..
3 out of 5
by Wubetu from Middle East

My GIG Hotel Stay

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel for budget travelers and for a tourist who doesn't spend much time in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by Alan from Toronto, Canada

Posted Feb 13, 2016 on Hotels
great no frills hotel, friendly staff. Good basic breakfast, right in the LAPA neighbourhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, Canada

decent hotel near everything

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Pros: decent breakfast. Fridge in room, computer station, good location.
Cons: none
Location: walkable to restaurants, shops and transit. Near opera house.
room was clean and quiet. Decent breakfast. Computer station available. 4 blocks to metro station and bus at Cinelandia. Good value for price. Stayed 3 nights. Easy walk to restaurants and shops. Room had fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Clean, well-kept hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Good breakfast, excellent shower, refurbished rooms. Centrally located.
Cons: A security box in the rooms would be nice.
Location: Very vibrant neighborhood. Not the quietest place that you can stay, but safe. You get to see a side of Rio that you would never see in Copacabana.
Pleasant surprise. Nice little hotel at a very reasonable price. Good breakfast, excellent shower, refurbished rooms. Centrally located. Near shopping, transportation, major tourist sites, night life.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel in downtown Rio

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
Family holiday in Rio. Area is clearly downtown Rio, with plenty of pubs inhabited by locals drinking beer, kids playing on the playground. Not a high-brow neighbourhood but felt perfectly safe enough. Short walk from Metro. Friendly staff (very cheerful night receptionist!), clean, cosy and functional rooms, fresh and plentiful breakfast. Highly recommended for the budget traveller.
3 out of 5
by Alvaro from Omaha, NE

Ok hotel in a great party area.

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is located in the Lapa area of Rio. The location is great is you're interested in bar-hopping and enjoying the nightlife. There are many of restaurants, bars, live music and clubs, only 1-2 blocks away from the hotel. The location is bad if you want scenery and silence. Throughout the night we heard people walking by yelling and playing music. To some the area might appear dangerous but there is a big police presence to keep the area safe. We never had anything bad happen during our stay. The hotel staff was friendly. They spoke Portuguese and a bit of Spanish, not sure if they spoke English. The breakfast service was decent, nothing spectacular. Don't expect a five star breakfast, but it did the job. The room was small and did not provide a closet. The cable tv was great with lots of channels. The bed was hard, it took some time getting used to. The bathroom was nice but you could clearly hear the people in the next room over, kinda creepy. So it is a decent hotel that is a great choice if you want to party and don't mind some noise. But is it not the best choice if you want peace, quiet, and scenery. For the price it is worth it.
4 out of 5
by T. CRANE from TONAWANDA, NY

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
Breakfast served "drink" and called it juice.....breakfast coffee machine made poor quality coffee..