Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Hey It's Rio. Once a week this hotel has a fantastic Market outside it's front door. Freshest fruit, fish , vegetables room has cooking facilities.
Cons: nothing - feels like home . I've been here 14 years ago under a different name and I'll come back again.
Location: just off Rua Figueiredo Magalhaes in central Copacabana
Beaches Hang gliding, mountain top views, beaches, Christ it's got everything. Botanical gardens, cheap buses going everywhere, favela tours, beaches, dental floss, shopping, theatre , carnival, stage shows. beaches. cable car rides. good restaurants close by. Bistou and Estacao Minas are my favourites. Ethnic food everywhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very simple and old fashion place.

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Very small and not well equiped kitchen. No microoven snd had to ask for s toaster. Living room had no sofa nor easy chairs. Bunk beds do not make a living room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, AUS

Decent budget hotel, close to the action

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Location was great.
Cons: Get fly screens to stop the mosquitoes There were no mugs No detergent or sponge to wash No basic kitchen utensils (i.e can opener, knives, etc...)
Location: Close to Sequiera Campos metro station Close to Copacabana beach Close to shopping
The hotel is well situated, only a few blocks from a metro station and from the beach. Lots of eating and shopping options within 3-4 blocks. Hotel staff are hit and miss with only 1 of them speaking really good english. There are no flyscreens which means the mozzies get you, especially if your windows don't close properly as was the case in room 202. There are no basic utensils such as a sharp knife, can opener, detergent, sponge, etc.... There was no mugs for tea. If all you're after is somewhere comfortable to sleep the nights, then this is a pretty good place, but if you're after anything more, you're better off at a hostel.
5 out of 5
by Joe from Nyc

Great apartment

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels
I didn't expect the jucati to be more of a apartment building than a hotel, complete with full fridge and equipped kitchen but it was a nice surprise. The apartment was big with plenty of room. The location was about 4 blocks from beach but right near big supermarket and plenty of eats. Nice park that has a big farmers market every wed, I believe. Also there always some police parked by hotel which made me feel safe. The guys at front desk speak English and really helped a bunch.
5 out of 5
by anthony from las vegas

nice hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
hotel did not take credit card
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

Apartment few blocks from Copacana beach

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The proximity to beach and transportation
Cons: The customer service is terrible. Since they cater to tourists, it would make sense to be more hospitable.
Location: Copacabana beach, sugar loaf mountain can be reached easily by taxi. Christ the redeemer is a half hour drive.
We stayed at the apartment in December 2014 for 2 nights. It is 4-6 blocks from Copacabana beach in a quiet neighborhood. The apartment seems to be run by two brothers and family. One of the brothers is friendly but the other is not. Very hard to get information from them regarding how to use local transportation or where to flag down a taxi. Not at all communicative. I asked them if they had contacts with a local taxi company to order a taxi to the airport but one of the girls on duty rudely told me that she was not a taxi service and I should go flag down a taxi on the street. The apartment itself is clean - we were 4 people and one of the bedrooms had two single beds and the other had one bunkbed, breakfast table and full refrigerator along with a tiny kitchen with full four burner gas stove, oven and utensils. The room with the single beds had an AC which cooled down the room but the room which had a bunkbed did not have an additional AC unit, just a fan and it was quite hot. The temp was around 100 degrees when we were in Rio, so the second room was uncomfortable and hot. Towels were provided but nothing else. They have an elevator servicing the 4 floors. Nearby bakery and store if you want to purchase water, milk, yogurt, fruits etc. Breakfast not provided - nearby bakery had excellent freshly baked goods which we enjoyed. Also, they only accept cash payment which is due upon check in. Make sure you have local currency - their exchange rate for US$ is bad.
5 out of 5
by Maryam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean and good for families

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
We just had a 5 night stay at Jucati and overall it was a good experience. The apartments are located in a safe area only a 10 minute walk from Copacabana beach, close to several banks and a Extra supermarket which seemed to be permanently closed during our stay. The apartment was a good size, reasonably basic but well equipped and very clean. But the double bed and bunk bed in the living area was perfect for our family of 4. The only negative is that there is a public park opposite the building that was frequented late at night by different groups playing soccer and other games. This made it tricky to sleep until 2am on at least 2 of the nights that we stayed. I would recommend requesting an apartment at the rear of the building or bring a decent pair of ear plugs!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shoping from Costa Rica

Very convinient location

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: Credit cards are not accepted
Location: Very convinient
Love how close to Copacabana beach this hotel is. Note that they do not accept credit cards so be preprared to pay cash. WIFI worked well and staff was very friendly.