Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located and safe

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Safe and very centrally located hotel. Close to metro, beaches, downtown Rio, and Santos Dumont Airport. It also provides free access to an excellent gym across the street. Very reliable WIFI. The only drawback was the lack of natural light in the room.
4 out of 5
by Arthur from Sandy, Ut

Front Desk Manager Great!

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is In the Catete district. two blocks to a metro but, with. 4 of us, it was easier to take a cab. Breakfast is okay. You won't starve but, the selection is small. I had a problem with my room and the front desk manager, I've forgotten his name was very professional, spoke English well and changed my room. He was helpful for this situation and any questions I had about Rio. There is a small fridge in a receiving area in your room and there are plenty of markets on Catate St. Would I stay here again. Yes It is not the Marriott but, it worked well for my budget.
4 out of 5
by paul from montana

Great location/good deal!

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
Not crowded in hotel. Breakfast with real eggs and good coffee. Staff helpful. Lots of marble tiles and small fridge which can help with stuff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
British 3 star standard. Friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Charged us for 4 beers despite only drinking 3 from the mini bar. Had to leave so didn't argue the point. Safe area close to centre and beach. Get a yellow cab to local attractions as the hotel organised cab to sugar loaf, which was more expensive than the return in a yellow cab.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Evrything was great

Posted Nov 6, 2013
This was my third time staying at Mengo Palace ,so y know that I liked,very nice .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

a $1.50 Coke can ruin a stay...

Posted Aug 24, 2010
My wife & I stayed here at the beginning of August. The price was reasonable, & the location was great for us in Flamengo. Nice neighborhood, several supermarkets in the area for us to get some snacks & drinks to have in the room. But there is a minibar. When we checked in, the bellman was very helpful, even helped park our rental car in the garage, which was a little crowded. Front desk staff were polite, but not overly friendly. One of the two elevators was out during our stay, & after the first night, the internet was not working, but these things happen. There is an internet cafe right next door, so this was not a big problem. The room was very clean, comfortable bed, & big bathroom. During our first 3 days, the cleaning staff did a very good job. The day of our check-out is was not so good. The cleaning staff came into the room after we had put the do not disturb sign on the door, and they charged us for a drink from the minibar which we did not drink. We disputed this with the manager/owner, even told her that the maids came into the room with the do not disturb sign on the door. We were told that the maids did indeed make a mistake by coming into the room, but it is not possible that they could have made an error in counting the minibar, & we still had to pay for the drink. When a manager/owner of a hotel is willing to let a $1.50 Coca-Cola ruin our perception of their establishment at the last minute, I get the feeling that we will be staying elsewhere next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Facil acesso no bairro Flamengo

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Limpeza dos quartos
Cons: Cafe da manha
Foi OK, nada a reclamar. Staff educado e correto! Salão de jantar bom, porém preços caros
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anailton

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jorge

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Personnel accueillant et très professionnel