Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Location excellent between the Ipanema and Copacabana beach
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Disappointing, that's it!

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Placed in a very nice neighborhood, the hotel cannot award a rating better than "disapointing". The staff work hard to give you support, but some basic issues are missing: the air conditioners don't work properly (and if you experience this situation at night, as happened to us, you'll find the staff unable to fix the problem); some rooms are under reform providing a noisy background to the whole floor, from 8 am until 5 pm; the furniture is really old; the room space doesn't provide confort for 3 persons. IN SHORT: NO VALUE FOR MONEY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel and handy location between the two beac

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Cons: Access on the street is a bit limiting.
Location: Handy to everything
Room was quite spacious and very good. The breakfast area is really nice. We didn't use the pool but it looked good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2016 by Priscila, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Priscila Machado General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Overall, great experience. Great location, great staff & very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Adriana, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Priscila Machado General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good hotel, convenient location near the beach.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Hotel is currently being remodeled, which I'm sure will improve the overall experience. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The room was clean and comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Jun 22, 2015
I used to have better experience on Mercure, in bathroom the doors were falling off and moisture all over the place. If you are on business, like me, and need wifi, it's a disappointment, too slow, falling away. But hotel staff was very friendly and good English, they raised my experience level.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Tatiane Ramos, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The hotel is going to be refurbished soon in the common areas and apartments and the renovation is planned to begin until the end of the year. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Genral Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NoVA USA

Great location and value

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: Great location, wifi works fine, roomy unit, good value.
Cons: The furniture is a little battered and the dresser in the closet had a broken drawer. I understand that the units will be renovated in the next year.
Location: The magnificent beaches, walking, surfing, beachfront shopping.
This is a suite hotel with a separate bedroom, bathroom with shower, and living room with kitchenette in each unit. It is only a couple of blocks to either Copacabana or Ipanema beach and within 10 minutes walk of a Metro station. The location is quite safe in the daytime (I did not go out walking at night). The front desk staff speaks English and there is a little market within a couple of blocks. The hotel has a nice breakfast, though it may be an extra when booking through Expedia. The unit was generally clean but the shower had a good bit of mold around the door edges. The kitchenette had no cooking pans or utensils, but a 2-burner stovetop, microwave, and fridge--better for reheating carry-out than for preparing a meal. The sink in the kitchen was small, no stopper, and cold water only. Hot water in the bathroom only. For this area, it was an excellent value for the space.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

It's just ok.

Posted May 8, 2015
Our room was not cleaned at all until I called and requested for them to clean it. Around 3pm, no one had come. I called to inquire about housekeeping. I was told that they come by 4pm. That sounded bad, but I accepted it. At 5pm, no one had still come to the room. I called again except this time, I asked them to come now.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Hotel was great value for the location. Room could use a refurbishment but it was clean ans spacious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gabriel from Chile

Nice hotel. Problems with registration

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Rooms were nice. Location excellent but I lost more than hour with my kids and wife because there was a problem with the information transmited by Expedia. If I pre paid more than a month previously, I expect that their informations problems wouldn't need my help before assigning me the rooms