Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Cory from LA

Nice hotel, price, and location. A bit loud.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
One block from the metro. The hotel was clean and modern with an excellent breakfast. The bar across the street had a party going on from 1 to 4am and the windows sounded like they were open, but hey, get your butt out of bed and join them! The neighborhood felt safe even at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Atlanta, GA

Nice, mid-range hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: The price. The staff. The breakfast.
Cons: Reputation will improve with time. Some hang-over from the "Magic Palace" name. But I would absolutely stay there again.
Location: Metro stop (Gloria) is within 2 blocks.
My wife and I stayed in April 2014 for 4 nights. A really great alternative price-wise to the rather expensive hotels in the touristy areas. This was extremely convenient to the Metro and we could be either at the beach, or central downtown area in a matter of minutes. We did everything in Rio - hiking, beaches, favela tour, and shopping, and this location served us well. Located in a neighborhood location as a 'working class' hotel, but largely safe. Room was basic and clean, nothing fancy; but that suited me and my wife perfectly. Good breakfast spread. The staff was very very good to us. We knew just enough Portugese to get into trouble, and some of the staff knew enough English to meet us in the middle when we had questions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive but out of the way

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is inexpensive for RIo but is not in the tourist area. Close to local airport (SDU) and the metro (Gloria). If you can afford $50 more dollars a night, look to stay in Cobacabana or Leme. Beds are not that comfortable, but you get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by Aseel Hashish from Cairo, Egypt

TERRIBLE!

Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels
Smelly lobby. Only one front desk representative spoke minimal English and wasn't always available. Horrible cleanliness of sheets and towels. VERY uncomfortable beds. insufficient amenities. We arrived at 9 pm, and needless to say we only spent the night since it took us a total of 24 hours of flying time to get there and of course we checked out the very first thing in the morning.
4 out of 5
by Lis.

Close to Metro and buses for convenient sightseein

Posted Jul 30, 2012 on Hotels
Room was good size and clean. Reception staff very helpful even with language barrier - went out of their to meet our needs. Located very close to all modes of transit - metro, bus and cab. Rates were good and facilities as required. Only negative was that the beds were "hard" - they did replace one small matress for a softer one but unfortunately no spare double matress available during our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgustingly Dirty

Posted Apr 3, 2011
This was the dirtiest place I have ever been, and I am not talking about dust, if you know what I mean. have been to very poor hotels before, even very small and humble B&Bs. This is by far the most dirty place I have ever been in. I was disgusted with the situation of the beds, linens, carpet, bathroom, etc. It was all very dirty and smelly. I can't be more specific, it was DIRTY and old (80s) and lacking any maintenance ever since. Stay away. It is dirty, did I say that already?
5 out of 5
by PAULO HENRIQUE ALVES DA

Bem localizado e instalações confortáveis

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
A combinação preço X localização X estrutura o torna uma opção muito boa!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aracaju

HOTEL SUPER BEM LOCALIZADO

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Limpeza, café da manhã, Recepção, conforto
Cons: nada
Location: Perto de tudo, bons restaurantes nas proximidades, perto da estação do Metrô
Fui muito bem recebido e tratado durante a minha estadia no Metrópole.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017 by Erica, Hotel Management
Obrigada por seu comentário!
4 out of 5
by Leonardo

Ótimo custo x benefício. Café da manhã muito bom

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
Ótimo custo x benefício. Café da manhã muito bom ! Estacionamento incluso e localização ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2017
Obrigada por seu comentário
4 out of 5
by Rodrigo

Bom hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Estadia boa, hotel agradável, funcionários simpáticos, bom para deslocamento por meio de transportes urbanos, fica a 50 metros do metrô Glória. Bom café da manhã, quarto e banheiro grande. Atendeu a expectativa. Padaria 24 horas em frente excelente.