Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sheet was dirty

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was good. Location was good.
Cons: clean bed sheet. suitcase stand in each room to be ready for use.
Location: beach
1. Bed sheet was dirty -- there was a yellow water trace on the bed sheet. For the price & star level, this kind of condition was not acceptable. We request the price adjustment for this as we did not expect this kind of clean level for our payment to stay in your hotel. 2. There was no suitcase support stand in room. Had put your suitcase on the floor, very hard! This should be the most basic room equipment. 3. Room was noise, could hear traffic outside. Breakfast was good. Location was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Nice hotel on Copacabana beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Great location, on the famous Copacabana beach. A very comfortable bed. The room has a balcony with a view of the beach.
Location: Excellent location. There is a pool with great views and they also have chairs on the beach. Close to Sugar Loaf. Staff is very nice and helpful.
A very comfortable bed in a nice room with a view of the beach. There is a pool on the 20th floor with an incredible view. The breakfast buffet has many choices, including fresh tropical fruits. It also has a great view of the beach. The staff is very helpful. Comfort, location, and great views! I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Top notch choice in Copa! look no further

Posted Nov 27, 2016
If like myself you have stayed at the many other choices in Copacabana and have been frustrated over the years with the quality of the rooms available and what you are paying. Look no further!!! This is the 3rd time I am staying at the PortoBay and I don't plan on booking another hotel in Rio anytime soon. The Staff is super friendly and helpful, the location speaks for itself, the rooms are big and extremely well constructed, the food is awesome!!! and compare to what you are paying going to other spots around town, it still is the best bet! I love this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The staff were so friendly and helpful, and we could see both Copacabana beach and Cristo Redentor right from our balcony!
Cons: The wifi performed intermittently and needs to be stronger.
Location: The hotel is right on Copa beach and has easy access to the Metro. Everything feels accessible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel facing copa cabana -

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Highly recommend Portobay . we had a wonderful experience . full mark we will book with you again for sure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very friendly staff and close to the beach

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The Concierge was excellent (I think her name was Isabel) , and spent a lot of time making us comfortable with her excellent English vocabulary. The breakfast was superb, as was the view from the roof top pool and lounge area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

This hotel is Across from The beach of Copacabana

Posted Aug 29, 2016
We spend a 8 days to me is the best hotel Great location great food very good service all employees and personal are great Very secure we feel great when we left the hotel I even cry thanks for all the great service to Carlos and Jose in the restaurant and the pool bar Carlos made us the best caipiriñas that I ever taste he's great to me this is a five star hotel and I travel a lot
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

To me this hotel have all Best location great foo

Posted Aug 29, 2016
My husband and I travel a lot to different cities and hotels this is one of the best hotels that I ever been people are great I will never forget The great service in the breakfast restaurant and the pool bar especially Carlos and José they were great I think these hotels is a five star hotel they really know how to serve the guests when I we left the hotel I was sad and crying I felt I was leaving a family house thanks for a great time I recommend it to anyone who are traveling to rio is best location rio de janeiro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Great Hotel right across from the Beach. Clean, friendly helpful staff, and very safe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trip to Brazil

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Hotel was Eco friendly
Cons: Fitness center need updating
Location: Hotel is located on the Copacabana Beach. Walk to restaurants, shopping and ten steps from the beach
The staff was the best. Had a great time Gorgeous roof top sundeck and pool with bar. Free breakfast had a very fresh fruit bar.