Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D. Orlando, Florida

Relaxing hotel in Santa Teresa

Posted Mar 2, 2016
I spent several days in this unique hotel. I say unique because I felt like I was staying in a home. I was treated like a family member who had been away on a trip and had returned . Breakfast was always nice as I had the chance to just sit and chat with the delightful staff and other guest. The hotel is within walking distance of many places to eat and bars. When you stay at the hotel you'll start to feel like you're at home and not just passing through !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

Posted Nov 14, 2015
Bed too small, uncomfortable. Interesting area (Santa Teresa) Nice garden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Beautiful Latin America/colonial style decor

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Great looking /characteristic rooms outdoors great place/setting to relax
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful guesthouse, lovely neighbourhood

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful, friendly place, they couldn't do enough for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Friendly place

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, esp. Gasper.
Location: Santa Theresa is an artsy district, up on the hills away from downtown Rio. Good to be away from the chaos of downtown Rio, awkward to get to places.
Seemed empty when we got there, not sure if it was time of year or what. Artsy décor in an arts district. First day it took a long walk to get into bustling Rio. On second day more people around, Gasper helped us take a bus to Metro and had exciting rides on local buses. Got to Metro and could easily travel anywhere that went. Relaxed dinner that night at the place with self-cook frozen pizzas they sell there. Also have beer, soft drinks, and caipirinhas (potent rum-like drink with lime). Though Santa Theresa is small, there is a lot of noisy street traffic (cobblestones) at night. Ask for a room away from the road.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid too much even for world cup period

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: close to stadium
Cons: Front desk, breakfast
Average hotel in a fairly non discript city. Charged exhorbitant room rates pre FIFA world cup.
4 out of 5
by Alan Tenanty from UK

Charming laid back place

Posted Jun 30, 2014 on Hotels
Very good public areas but room was basic. Interesting (and famous) neighbourhood. Wifi only available in reception area and NOT in the bedroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Friendly off the main track hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2011
A friendly and cozy quiet posada, in historic and quite typical Santa Teresa. Very quiet as a little off the main street. Location is great if you want to be in Santa Teresa. However, entertainment and restarants in the area are only a handful and tend to be overpriced - Sunday nights around is when you get the most vibrant beat of Sata Teresa, monday nights, very not much happening (your best option then becomes Espirito Santa with a place that looks a little like a whole in the wall, but has very delivate and top quality food. You will also have to deal with taxi drivers that don't like much going up the hill. Apart from that, we definitely loved our hotel and especially the warm welcome from Domonique and Samia. Very reasonably priced. Probably your best option for the area. They privided us with a whole lot of travel tips and information, arranging for even longer trips on our behalf, very, very helpful !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pousada com ambiente de hostel

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Trata-se de uma pousada com ambiente de hostel. Precisa entrar no clima do lugar para aproveitar melhor a sua estadia. Não recomendo a suíte onde fiquei que fica no andar inferior da casa e possui pouca ventilação, além do teto ser muito baixo. As pessoas que trabalham lá são muito simpáticas, mas faltou atenção a detalhes básicos tal como a reposição dos itens do café da manhã.