Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff
Location: Short bus or taxi ride to shopping malls
Good clean hotel, great staff, over looking beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, VA

The hotel is simple.

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Across the street from the beach, staff was very helpful getting me situated and giving me directions.
Cons: Breakfast was a little weak.
Location: not a busy part of the beach, no sights to see at this end, right on a bus line that will take you almost anywhere you want to go, all the way to Coco
The hotel is simple. Furnished modestly, but comfortable sleeping, Nice breeze from the balcony, I slept with the doors open the whole time, did not turn on the AC. The desk staff spoke English but no other. Breakfast was okay. The hotel was very clean and , grounds well keep, pool area nice. Busy street in front, but great beach view and a little crossing street because of traffic flow, but very nice beach once you are there. The restaurant Hollandaise next door was nice, reasonable and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel in front of beach

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Across the street from the beach On a great bus route In a safe and middle-class area
Cons: Change the breakfast up a bit...don't offer the exact same things every day
The hotel is very simple and clean. All the staff was very nice and attentive; I quite enjoyed my stay here. My only suggestion would be that they change the food up a bit for the breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Atlanta, GA

Business and Leisure recommended

Posted Jan 23, 2014
I frequent Barra for business purposes amd have stayed at many nearby hotels. i thoroughly enjoyed Casa Del Mar for many reasons such as: Digital Cable so you can select alternative language, free wireless internet that has good bandwidth, breakfast selection was nice, in front of the beach, walkkmg distance to many convenience stores (Golden Sucos, Hollandaise, Mercante)....20 minute walk along the beach to Devassa. By car 5 minutes to New City Centre & Barra Shopping or 10 minutes to Rio Design. parking is free and underground....parking lot is tight space but is adequate and has a gate for security.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel for short stay

Posted Aug 27, 2013
This is a good hotel if you plan to stay for a couple of days in front of the beach at Barra. It is less expensive than the ones around it like Windsor or Sheraton. It does not have the glamour of the expensive hotels, but if your plan is not to stay in the hotel and enjoy Rio's surroundings, then this is a good hotel to go back by night and leave early in the morning after breakfast. I wouldn't suggest it for people with toddlers. The street is right in front of the hotel and at night it is quiet, but in the mornings traffic can become loud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eeeeh from Miami,FL

I love Barra

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: The area is so quiet and safe you can walk at night no problem!!!
Location: Barra shopping, Village mall are close. Most of Barra's main shopping mall/center are close
The are is near Barra shopping and Vilage mall takes about 10-15 min and 20 reals($0.44). Stuff are so friendly and helpful. I defenatly come back this hotel. Oh don't for get the beach is across the street!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent option if visiting Barra

Posted May 24, 2013
The beach opposite the hotel is excellent and the area is very safe for Rio. The staff were extremely helpful. I had a reasonably OK room with a few minor problems such as torn curtains, balcony door that was difficult to open and the shower had no hot water at times. The "fitness facilities" looked in very bad condition and I didn't even try and use any of the machines. The hotel is suitable for people with something to attend to in Barra. General visitors to Rio for tourism should check the location and transport options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel in a peaceful district of Rio

Posted May 21, 2013
Pros: Excellent breakfasts, good location.
Cons: Safety measures.
Location: A clean and not so touristy beach just in front of the hotel. Far away from the famous tourist attractions.
The experience with this hotel was ok. Don't expect any great luxury. Rio is an expensive place, so even for this price you don't get anything special. But the room was clean, the hotel had a great location with a beautiful view from the balcony, and every day they served an excellent breakfast with a variety of products. However, do bear in mind that the hotel is located quite far away from any Rio tourist attraction. Some safety measures need to be improved: - a room safe opened itself for no reason, - a staff member let me in to my room without asking for any credentials, - another tourist entered my room because of wrong card encoding. Also, one of the days, there was no warm water in the whole hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Orlando, FL, USA

nice hotel helpful staff

Posted Jan 18, 2013
Pros: staff and beach
Cons: location is long from anything you need a car
Location: nice on the beach but a long way from anyform of entertainment
Staff were very helpful. Allowed me internet access on the reception computor as they dont have a business centre of guest computor station
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alejandro from Miami, Florida, USA

Great location

Posted Dec 9, 2012
Pros: Its great location in front of the beach
Cons: The room needs update
Location: Excelent
The hotel needs urgently to undergo renovation. There was street noise in the rooms.