Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely hotel, but not for the price!!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
If this was a £100 a night hotel, or even £200 a night hotel, I would have raved about it. We wanted something more intimate, more off-piste and not a big industrial block - however this is one of the MOST EXPENSIVE hotels in the whole of Rio. Don't underestimate how much more expensive this place is compared to other more industrial 5* hotels. So I expected some basic love and attention. We got instead, no free water, intermittent wifi, intermittent towels, a tiny room (until we complained). What annoyed me the most was at over £400 per night breakfast was extra - are you kidding me! However to their credit, after we complained the hotel threw in breakfast within the cost of the room and upgraded us. The pool area is very small, but pretty - however expect to be bitten to shreds by mosquitos - a few anti-mosquito candles would have made a world of difference and this is what I mean by missing the 5* small touches....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Simon M.

A little gem with some quirks

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Ebookers
I booked the Santa Teresa hotel for two nights before heading to Copacabana for the rest of my stay in Rio. I wanted some place where I could relax and chill out, and the hotel's perfect for that. There's not much to do in the Santa Teresa area - a couple of sites to see, and a fantastic restaurant called Aprazivel, but apart from that, there's not much going on, and it's quite a way into the city (60 Brazilian Real with the hotel's driver to Copacabana). So two nights here suited me perfectly. The staff at check-in were lovely and really helpful. My room was absolutely spotless, and really nicely decorated. The view from the pool is pretty spectacular, and the bar has been voted one of the most romantic, although travelling alone I can't testify to that :) The quirks? Well the wifi is really, really patchy. It struggled to cope with me uploading a photo (so I gave up). But not a big deal really. Also you do notice the security presence at the hotel - which I can totally appreciate as the area does border some favelas, but a friendly 'ola' didn't really result in any answer. I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on that. In short, I enjoyed my stay in Hotel Santa Teresa, and would recommend it - there's a great cafe called Cafe Dos Altos two minutes walk away which does a buffet breakfast on weekends and has an English menu. Some people say the street the hotel's on is incredibly steep, but I didn't find it that bad at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholas

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel muito bom e confortável, embora caro para o que oferece. Pontos positivos: piscina, restaurantes (apesar de muito caros - relação custo x benefício não compensa) e quartos. Pontos negativos: recepção se comunica com equipe por meio de walkie-talkies (hóspedes não precisam participar desse tipo de comunicação), roupas de banho, ar condicionado irregular, televisão pequena, falta de cafeteira.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Lovely views, disappointing reception service

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is set in a lovely location - wonderful views across Rio. The pool area is great in particular. The restaurant is quite pricey thought the food is really high quality. The bar is relaxed and the serving staff at both were great. HOwever the staff at reception were not helpful in helping us to understand the area which was disappointing. The Wifi is so slow as to be virtually useless. Some of the bath products were all used up after night 2 but none were ever replenished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Felipe from Rio de Janeiro

Outstanding

Posted Aug 28, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcio Cristiano from Rio de Janeiro

Um ano de casados em grande estilo

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
A princípio tive um problema com a reserva porque o site Hoteis.com mostra fotos de suíte júnior onde deveriam ter apenas fotos de suíte deluxe. Assim, quando chegamos me decepcionei com o quarto, pois alugamos a suíte deluxe com a imagem de um quarto maior em mente. Porém, mostramos na recepção o ocorrido e nos mudaram para a suíte júnior, o que demonstra a seriedade e a preocupação do hotel com serviço de qualidade. O hotel é maravilhoso, ideal para descansar em meio a natureza e para curtir datas especiais (no nosso caso, um ano de casados). Piscina muito agradável, com linda vista para o pôr do sol. O restaurante Terèse e o Spa são imperdíveis, mas não pudemos usar o Bar dos Descasados nenhum dia pois houve casamentos sábado e domingo no local.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muito romântico

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Meu marido e eu comemoramos nosso aniversário de casamento e foi perfeito
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Anonymous

Beautiful hotel in a peaceful setting

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Ebookers
Nathalie from the front desk was very nice, helpful and service oriented. The food is below average, it must be a lot better for this kind of hotel.