Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Used to be the best hostel in rio... Now abandoned

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Santa Teresa neighbourhood is great Lapa is very close for awesome nightlife LOLA the cat is the best cat in the world. I love her so much xx
Cons: Half under construction No-one staying there No soul Half abandoned Unclear where the door is to get in Dark... feels depressing No life
Location: It's on a massive hill which will kill your legs and make you sweat buckets, but the actual location of santa teresa is amazing and worth it...
Very sad to come back here and see the place in pieces. Under construction... literally, half a hostel left. This place used to be amazing, full of life, now a ghost town. I was shocked to find myself the ONLY person staying there... I have no idea what is going on there anymore but it is very depressing, lonely, and half shut off. I don't know why it was still open in November. I really hope they manage to reconstruct the place under new management because it used to be amazing.... At the current moment it is just not complete.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Carvial 2016

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
I spent the week in Rio for Carnival with a friend. We stayed in a suite (basic private room). The Hostel is situated on a hillside with great views and a nice chilled out bar and plunge pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Living on a cliff!

Posted Feb 14, 2016
The commute to this establishment was ridiculously difficult especially around the time of Carnival. NO taxi wanted to venture up the the long windy road this place resides on. When traveling on foot, it is a complete cardio workout. The trip to the hotel by the street is not hard to navigate but once you get to the the door there are steep stairs to go up. While the place is in and of itself Swanky with accommodations the pool the day I wanted to get it was not clean or clear. Out of desperation from the Rio sun I went in… only to be disgusted by the floating dead skin from fellow boarders. (Granted the 1 st day I arrived it appeared to be clean) . Oh and a few things weren't working while I was there the A/C in the room and the elevator. The people who worked there were in general really nice, some more helpful than others. If I had to do it all again…. I wouldn't.
3 out of 5
by Aaron from Mexico

Near Lapa and Great for the Carnival

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
It is a few bocks (Upstram) from Lapa, where most of the fun is during the Carnival. There are restaurants and markets around. Though the neighbourhood is not the cleanest nor the most modern. The hostel is old and so are the rooms. But is fun to stay here and is affordable during peak season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy hostel in Santa Teresa

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful (they also speak fluent English). Many tours are on offer at the hostel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liverdan from Pleasantville, NJ

Good for backpackers, ONLY.

Posted Dec 19, 2012
Pros: Great view of the business district. Close to Lapa and public transportation.
Cons: Attitude from one of the employees
Location: Close to Lapa
The fact that one of the employees were not welcoming was enough for me not to like this place. It's situated in a not very well known neighborhood which makes cab rides not so easy. The rooms need painting and repairs. It has a very small pool. Far from the beaches. I'll not go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lille

Hôtel Accueillant sur les hauteurs.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Joli petit hôtel niché sur les hauteurs de Rio. Le personnel est très sympathique et à l'écoute. Prendre son petit déjeuner à côté de la piscine dans cet environnement verdoyant est très agréable. Notre chambre possédait une petite terrasse avec hamac : très très appréciable. De là on peut écouter l'effervescence des fêtes nocturnes de Rio. Mais pour mériter cela il faudra faire un peu d'exercice pour monter les différents escaliers avant d'accéder au coeur de l'hôtel et à votre chambre ;)
4 out of 5
by Paula L

UN LUGAR MUY BOHEMIO EN SANTA TERESA

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
EXCELENTE. UN HERMOSO LUGAR HISTORICO, EN UNA CALLE EMPEDRADA DONDE PASA EL TRANVIA POR LA PUERTA (PASEO GRATUITO) CERCA DE LOS PUENTES DE LAPA
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from São Paulo - SP

Aconchegante, mas nada luxuoso.

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Preço - Localização (mesmo não sendo perto da praia, a noite nos fds na lapa são ótimas)
Cons: Apesar de amigáveis, os atendentes não são muito esclarecedores com os novatos.
Location: Noites de fds são animadas na região. O clima é boêmio, as e ruas são rusticas. Sem contar o bondinho que passa na porta e dá um charme especial.
Para mim que só voltava ao hostel para descansar no final do dia, o lugar era suficiente. Não há muito luxo e pelo preço nem acho justo exigir tal coisa.
4 out of 5
by Rodrigo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels