Ratings based on 1,038 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel and location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
The hotel staff was nice and the floor we stayed on was clean and modern (25th floor). We had an ocean view room with an amazing view, but it was really noisy at night due to honking cars, sirens, and occasional music. I had to sleep with ear plugs each night. Other than that, the room was spacious and clean. Room service was good and so was breakfast at the sky bar for business members. The only complaint I have is the noise from outside, the slow elevators, and the $600+ deposit the hotel put on my card, that really left me with some problems and I couldn't fully enjoy my stay in Rio because of it. If it weren't for the extremely high deposit, I'd definitely recommend the hotel to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay there again.

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
During my 2 days the shower was cold as ice. called several times and always hearing that it would be fixed. It was less than 12 degrees in the city and we had to take cold showers. Besides this part, the rest was quite OK...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Nice Hotel Close to the Beach

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: I like the room , the amenities and the restaurant at the penthouse level. The breakfast food too is good.
Cons: Treat the tourist fairly and reasonably in selling goods in the hotel.
Location: location is excellent and shopping nearby
The prices of food commodities e.g coffee and room bar is extremely abusive and unfair. One particular experience is very unpleasant , I was charge for BR 350 reais or $167 for consuming some items in the room bar , where I only took 1 water bottle and 1 can of potato pringles, another incident is sipping 2 cups of coffee in the hotel lobby for $ 18 . It's a total abuse for the tourists.
4 out of 5
by Johnny from Washington DC

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
This is a decent hotel but is a tourist trap. They charge for everything. There is no IRON and you have to pay per day for anything you want ironed. If you have American plugs, they provide you two converters and will charge $$ if you lose them. In order to get the stay that we truly wanted for our 10 day excursion, we had to upgrade our room to one of their top of the line rooms. I would not recommend a basic room. The presidential rooms are more like standard American style hotel suites. Next trip, we will be renting out an apartment. It is great value. We spent just over $3000 for a comfortable stay, which was a bit over $300 a day + tips for anyone that brought our car around + tips for anyone that held the door open for you. The hotels in Copacabana are truly there to get paid by the tourists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Severance,Colorado USA

Anniversary/Birthday 4-23-16.....5-2-16

Posted May 9, 2016
Pros: Location was perfect, shopping, food,groceries etc.. was all within walking distance. Hotel taxi service available at all times.
Cons: The awful odor in the lobby woman's bathroom next to the gift shop needs attention! Having to hold my breath was unexpected:/
Location: The beach across the street with plenty of vendors to keep you busy.
Hubby & I returned from our trip almost a week ago. Our check- in-out..... was very professional & smooth.The entire stay, the staff was all so helpful & friendly! We did upgrade to full ocean view upon our arrival. Let me tell you it was definitely the most AWESOME VIEW seeing ALL of Copacobana Beach 23 floors up!!! At night it was simply breathtaking too. The King size bed was a bit hard for our liking though. Having our own personal robes & slippers was a comfy vacation touch after busy days. Fridge stocked (mini bar)at your cost of couarse. We had our own favorites :) Need to bring your own toiletries etc... their shampoo-conditioner was basic ,shower cap no good. Bar soaps smelled good. Our room was very clean on a daily basis, bathroom with large shower plenty of water pressure & spacious , private entry hall way # 2317 in the corner. The balcony was not made for a chair at all, standing room only. We ate breakfasts on the 30th floor, more great views.A variety too choose from,hot meal eggs, bacon, potatoes, mushrooms,etc...fresh fruits, variety of 6-7 juices, the coffee was good & strong ,breads, cereals,.....very tasty. If you left hungry its your own fault!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edmonton

Nice!!

Posted Apr 21, 2016
The breakfasts were great. We felt safe coming get and going, lots of good security. Great location. Really enjoyed our ocean front view.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Good location

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Location was great but my overall experience at the hotel was nothing great. Staff are not accommodating, In fact, they're just not helpful at all, overcrowded hotel, awful wifi, rooftop pool is tiny and covered so you barely get any sun and the elevators are extremely slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Mar 31, 2016
Huge problem with elevatots. Long lines. Breakfast room very crowded and disorganized.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Nice hotel on the beach.

Posted Mar 30, 2016
I enjoyed my stay here. The view from my ocean side room was amazing. Most staff spoke good enough English which is a major plus in Rio as it can be few and far between. Room service was prompt and the hotel was very clean. Get used to using a bidet! For a half sec I had flashback to Demolition Man and the 3 seashells. The hotel was able to answer or help with just about any question I had the city or getting around it. I also felt very safe in the vicinity of the hotel. There are some things I wasn't prepared for. The hotel puts an $800R preauthorization hold on your credit card when first entering. The check in for my Expedia package included fast track. Although this was a surprise because I had to go to the 27th floor with a one on one in a business office. There was a lot to go over. I almost felt like a kid being called to the principals office, but ended up in a good way with champagne and the like.
4 out of 5
by Linda K

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels