Ratings based on 1,013 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Good location

Posted Feb 16, 2017
The hotel is old and in need of renovation. The staff is great and always eager to help, but not all of them speak a second language. The pool is tiny and always seemed to be packed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Ideal location for experiencing Zona Sul

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We had no complaints and top praise for our hotel experience at the Rio Othon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Great Choice

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast buffet, small but cozy swimming pool, great view, great location, walk 1 block up to Ave Copacabana and mega shopping in both directions.
Cons: nothing at this point. Hotel is older but well kept!
Location: oceanfront, great shopping even at night. A bazaar type strip row is set up on the middle sidewalk! Great food everywhere!
from the minute we arrived to the sad moment of our departure service was excellent everywhere!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Overall good stay and well priced... the rooms have outdated outlets, so be sure to bring an adapter. The breakfast is great and was included, good wifi reception. Great area, right on the beach and a safe location. A nice little street fair in the evenings right on Copacabana Beach just steps away from the hotel front door. Would recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and excellent breakfast buffet

Posted Oct 19, 2016
I stayed in this hotel for a couple of nights and I found my stay very pleasant. The location is great, just in front of the beach and the view from my bedroom was breathtaking. The bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotless. Breakfast selection was huge with all sort of drink and savoury and sweet food options. The swimming pool on the roof terrace was smaller than expected and overcrowded by screaming kids, it still worth going up there to check the view over Copacabana beach. As I was there for my birthday, the staff wrote me a birthday letter and gave me a sweet, I found it very kind of them. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was hot and sliding door did not lock. The el

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Not enough restaurants near by.
The room was hot the sliding door did not work and the elevators where too slow. Breakfast was not good, it was cold and si not have bacon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel in a fantastic location

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Cons: The housekeeping service was a little inconsistent across floors (we had 3 rooms in our group to compare).
Location: The better end of Copacabana - close to Ipanema's lovely restaurants and bars.
Would certainly stay in this hotel again. The location is excellent, and the views are simply unmatched in Copacabana - it is one of the tallest hotel buildings along the beachfront. It was definitely worth paying extra for the superior beachfront rooms - the added extras were a nice treat, like VIP check-in and rooftop VIP breakfasts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Lovely hotel on Copacabana beach

Posted Sep 18, 2016
E joyed my 12 night stay. Close to beach bars and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect location, close to all

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Front desk service very poor, the staff is not friendly at all, check out took over an hour wait.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Must return!!!!!