Ratings based on 821 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from São Paulo

Carnival factors

Posted Feb 12, 2016
I stayed with my family during carnival. It is a nice hotel, but: 1. Check-in was crowded. Hotel knew the congestion and prepared the poll and rope to make a zig zag line. I would like to recommend to the hotel to prepare welcome drink and cold wet towels, too, if they expect such congestion... 2. Surprisingly, restaurants were not so crowded and it was not so difficult to find a table. Elevators were a bit crowded and I had to wait for 10 minutes x 3~4 times. It is carnival season and I have to admit that it is acceptable. 3. The pool on the top of building was designed for 10~15 people at the maximum, but the building has 30 floors and all the rooms are sold out. You can imagine the difficulty to get couch there. 4. Since it is impossible to stay at the pool, everybody rushes to beach. The hotel offers free parasol, couches and towels, but surprisingly, they do not have enough stock to attend the demands. I believe this is a big mistake of the hotel. 5. Still, the hotel is one of the best at Copacabana beach. The room is clean and ocean view is just fantastic, but I do not believe that I will repeat this hotel for the price I paid.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The rooms are beat, and the reception personnel

Posted Feb 8, 2016
The rooms are beat. The reception staff are SO badly trained!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tokyo

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: good view
Cons: the elevator botton is not functioning at 6th floor. checkin time 15:00 is late and I had to wait for a long time.
Location: location is the best
location is good and ocean view is marvellous. but some of the elevator botton were not functioning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

hôtel tres bien proche de la plage

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: emplacement face a la plage la chambre le personnel la restauration
Cons: les horaires d enregistrement
Location: la plage et les commerces et restaurants
personnel sympathique chambre tres confortable petit dejeuner et restaurant panoramique tres beau
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel, shame about the beach loungers

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Location right on the beach
Cons: A clearer, easier and more organised arrangement over the deckchairs/loungers and umbrellas on the beach.
Good, well located hotel right on the beach at Copacabana. Good rooms, good (if very busy over New Years) breakfast facilities, good service. Only quibble was the arrangements on the beach. Although the hotel was supposed to provide access to deckchairs/loungers and umbrellas (indeed this was one of the reasons for booking this hotel), it was not where these were to be found or how to obtain them. And, the hotel clearly doesn't have enough to go around, so unless you arrived on the beach early, they had all gone and you had to rent them from other providers anyway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2016
5 hours to check in. No iron or lotion available for the rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

De lo mejor de Copacabana, muy buena ubicación.

Posted Jan 9, 2016
Este hotel está gerenciado por buenos profesionales, están al servicio del huésped. Muy recomendable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced hotel with a nonfunctioning facilities

Posted Jan 4, 2016
From the moment I checked in at this hotel, I knew that it was going to be a very overpriced and unsatisfactory stay. The elevators were barely working and could not accommodate the number of guests that were there for New Year's eve. On any given moment, I would wait 20 to 30 minutes for a elevator to get me. I almost missed my flight because I physically could not get out of the hotel. When I called the front desk to inquire about checkinh out via the telephone, since I could not get to the 27th floor business lounge to check out, the hotel stuff basically told me that I was out of luck and that I had to check out physically. When I inquired how I was supposed to get to the 27th floor with my luggage and then back down from the 27th floor out of the hotel, they had no help for me. They told me that I was a VIP guest and part of the business class floor, but they checked me into a 12 floor room that was unsatisfactory for the price. I was not on the business floor but paid the business price. Bottom line is that I would never stay at this hotel again, never recommend this hotel to my many American friends living in Brazil, and would have asked for a refund if I thought it would have made a difference.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Overrated hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Location and view
Cons: Almost everything.
Location: Located within 30 minutes of cab ride to all the tourist attractions in Rio
Our experience is not dissimilar to other Expedia reviewers who have reported disappointing ratings. It appears that the hotel management does not take the feedback seriously. The issues that have been pointed out previously and also were our experience include delayed and extremely inefficient check in process, poor bathroom/toilet condition, majority of the staff did not speak english, prehistoric wifi speed, and poor guests/elevator ratios. The lobby has foul smell. The hotel location and beach views are the only redeeming features. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would not stay at this hotel again. I hope that Expedia has taken up these recurring issues with the hotel management. Although Expedia website indicates that 94% of respondents were satisfied with their stay at this hotel it is hard to gauge the denominator, i.e., total number of guests booked for this hotel via Expedia and number of respondents.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel that is centrally located

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Overall experience was good with the exception of checking in...it took us almost an hour to complete the process. Other than that, it was a good stay.