Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was not impressed

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: I do like the cleaning service at this hotel.
Cons: The food is horrible. The size of the showers are horrible. The bed is crappy. The AC is good.
Location: The location was a good area. There are plenty of stores in the area.
This is not a three star hotel. This is a 1.5 to 2 star hotel. If you're looking for an economy, then take it but it you're looking for comfort, this is not it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location but average condition

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Our stay here was good as we were looking for something private with some cleaning standards compared to our hostel. However the condition of the rooms and decor is very dated. Everything worked fine and it was a good location for food and buses. Just dont have high expectations for a hotel.
3 out of 5
by Ivan from Calgary

Nice location but need renovation

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Location is good. Price is reasonable. Staff is friendly.
Cons: Everything inside the hotel room.
Location: LAPA, restaurants
It was not a bad hotel but should be renovation soon. Everything is old and looks dirty. The only good thing is the location. Walking distance to Lapa. The staff is really friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice team in the hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2013
Cons: my problem was the shutle, because never pick my up in the airport, an them make the same problem the las day, never pick my in the hotel.
a firsth day and all time, this people made my feeld like friend, and inclusive the food in the restaurant field good and good flavor.
2 out of 5
by GC from Dallas, TX

Better places better value

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Cons: rooms, parking, a/c
Location: not good area in front of a super busy street and super market
we arrived it is in a not so good area the parking lot is 4 blocks away (paid) the rooms are not nice the a/c did not work decided to move out the next day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely basic but clean and cheap

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Tired old building but its all about the price - I used for a quick overnight whilst changing planes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not really so nice...

Posted Jun 24, 2013
The rooms are old, the bathrooms really need updating, and the air conditioner did not work. The upside is that the staff was very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V DANELLE from Atlanta, GA, USA

THE HOTEL FOR PARTY TOURIST

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: MORNING BREAKFAST AND STAFF
Cons: THIS PLACE IS A GOOD PLACE TO STAY. THANKS STAFF:)
Location: PARTY TIME
THE HOTEL STAFF IS VERY VERY VERY KIND THEY ARE REALLY PROTECTIVE OF WHO COMES TO VISIT U, OVERALL IT WAS WORTH THE MONEY
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Paul, MN

Rio's "Nice" Hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2011
The name of this hotel is misleading, as is the picture of the hotel lobby and rooms they show on the website. Although this hotel is not terrible by any means, it's very old and not very comfortable. The bedroom was decent, it had a good bed, tv with cable, and a desk. The air conditioner was alright too, but it wasn't too hot outside during our trip. The bathroom, however, was terrible. The shower was extremely old and small, and the only way to adjust the water to the right temperature required soaking your arm to reach the controls once the water was on. The toilet plumbing blocked the seat from going fully up, requiring you to hold it(for guys) or having it rest on your back(for girls). Towels and vanity(small) were fine. The bathroom was very no-frills about extras: It only had two small bars of soap, no shampoo/conditioner/lotion/toothpaste, and no hair dryer. The hotel room uses a normal key, not a sliding security card, and you turn in the key at the lobby desk every time you leave(which I liked). I didn't feel unsafe during my time in this hotel. I stayed there for 3 nights, and the price on this website was very reasonable. Consider Hotel Monte Alegre instead, it's just down the street, and looked much nicer. The neighborhood has plenty of bakeries, bars, and there are 2 supermarkets(one right across the street). Nice restaurants are hard to find, however. Many taxis to be found right next to the hotel entrance. Great Breakfast Buffet!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Preço bom, simples mas aconchegante

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Cafe da manhã, cama, atendimento e simpatia dos funcionários
Cons: Box muito pequeno, ar condicionado estava com as paletas quebradas, e travesseiro muito fino
Location: Local muito bom, bares e restaurantes próximos, mas como qualquer local do centro do rio meio perigoso dependendo da hora.