Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Samui

Not five stars

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The service at the breakfast was good and friendly. The bed was big and clean. But after all for sure not five stars.
Cons: The hole area could be more comfy and homely. Now it looks like old shopping mall.
Location: The beach was hidden by a storm. The promenade is still broken an one side. Its closed to a big favela and you should not go too far away by night.
We chacked in quite late, but it took at least ten minutes due a lot of guests and just two man on the reception. the room where poor equiped. No iron, no tissues, no shoes, no coffee or tea. Not even a complimentary drinkingwater. We had three small water from the mini bar for a lot of money. On one day we made a trip. I asked the staff for a taxi. They got me a private car and he took three times the money of normal taxi as we asked for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Good Hotel.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I'm used to stay in 5 Stars Hotel. So I know how it looks and feels. This so is not up standard. You can hear the conversation from the other rooms, restaurant is not 5St, the Fitness is not from the hotel and it's like 3world. The people at reception are good and there's a shopping centre near. Great news is parking is free .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buzios

Nice hotel , just infront of beautiful beach .

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Pros: The view , the location .
Cons: The bathrooms .
Location: You have the Fashion Mall shopping , may be the best in Rio , and the beach just across the street .
Comfortable rooms , nice view , good breakfast and very cheap . With all the amenities of a 5 stars hotel .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty bedrooms & dirty breakfast rooms

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Cons: Everything
Very dirty Hotel. No sauna and no restaurants. All closed due to financial crisis hotel is in and many staff laid off. No premium tv really available either hence no football. Dirty room food poisoning and bed bugs. Peeling enamel and rotting doors and carpets everywhere! This hotel appears to therefore be below 5 star standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodland Tx

Very close to the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2016
My experience was very nice. Travel all the way from New Orleans to Rio. The staff was very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: efficient staff
Location: a safe beach
I loved walking along the promenade in the morning 1 hour walk, then breakfast and relax at the pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never ever stay in this hotel!!!

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Worst 5 star hotel I've stayed: orange water; mouldy smell; asked for an adapter, got after two hours; terrible wifi connection, couldn't even send emails with one page PDF; worse customer service, didn't know, or worse, didn't want to tell how to find a supermarket; I checked out one day earlier!!!
1 out of 5
by Renata from Toronto

A low 3 stars

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
The room was dirty, not well kept and I was participating in an event at the hotel and they lost my marketing materials (even though they were received and signed for by hotel staff). Difficult access to the hotel and not very safe neighbourhood.
2 out of 5
by KimberlyL from San Francisco, CA

This hotel doesn't count on return guests

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
The location and especially the views from this hotel are great - built perpendicular to the beach, every room has a great view of the beach, sunrise/sunset, and the Tijuca forest. As for the hotel itself (coming f/ someone who has traveled to Brazil numerous times), the service left a lot to wish for. Don't bother calling front desk, given all they do is transfer you to different departments until you are back talking to the same person you originally called - in my scenario we were given a room where the AC did not work (while outside temp was ~ 90-100deg Farenheight) and had asked for an outlet adaptor to be able to charge our phones. Front desk quickly made not that we could buy an adaptor at the gift shop, though when you are paying US $1000 per night, they better be able to provide you with an adaptor if they expect to get a foreign clientele. We were told someone was going up to our room to fix the AC all afternoon, we finally gave up on waiting and decided to enjoy the beach for the day. Coming back from our New Year's Party - the AC was still not working, the room was incredibly hot and humid, it wasn't until I (once again) went downstairs and complained about the horrible service we were receiving for a so called "luxury hotel" that they provided us with a different room. I do not recommend this hotel for anyone to stay.
3 out of 5
by LaurelB from MSP

eeds work and better location

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
THe worst flaw in this hotel is the location. It is an expensive cab ride to anywhere. So if you were in Rio for twosome, then its great, but if you want any museums, nightlife, or other restaurants or touristic spots forget it. The entry and restaurants were of first quality, but the rooms were drab,old, and used. The service was the same as the hotel. The first floor sign ins and restaurant service were exceptional, but in 5 days, our room was only made up twice. No new towels nor was the bed made.