Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located near the sambadromo.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Nice place in a colonial neighbourhood. Freindly staff. Some facilities could be better maintained. Some things were a bid old and worn but the overall experience was very nice. Like the breakfast a lot!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel require travel to attractions

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Area is beautiful, great views, hotel has very nice grounds and the staff is attentive and helpful. It requires significant travel to many of Rios main attractions, use of private hotel car is more costly than easily available taxi. The rooms are definitely not five stars, comfortable but basic
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotels for couples

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Pros: Really helpful staff
Cons: Improve internet connection and water providing system
Location: Close to the center and the train of santa teresa. Also the bar and restaurant are great
Really nice staff. Flexible check in time and check out time based on availability. But their English is not really good. Internet Connection from my room is close to zero and not really sure the phone is working. Junior Suite is just a little bit bigger than the Deluxe room. Don't believe the pictures. We had to wait for a long time to have the warm water for shower. The location of our room might be the cause to blame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Great hotel, to badd for the Poor Internet Access

Posted Mar 2, 2016
My stay was a business stay since I had to work in downtown Rio. The service and accommodations are great and the food is high quality. The view from several rooms, the pool and the restaurant are also very nice. The only problem is that the room where I stayed had no internet coverage. The only place I could have descent internet access was at the lobby or the pool which was a problem in my case when I wanted to work on the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholas R.

Good but not great

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Ebookers
Santa Teresa is a wonderful location in the hills above the cliche tourist haunts of Copacabama or Ipenema and the hotel itself is an elegant, even quaint, late nineteenth century coffee-grower's farmhouse. It was refurbished only a few years ago but is looking worn - or to put it politely, shabby chic. A couple of irritations not least illumination - the rooms are so dark you can't read in them and the stairs are so dark you could fall down them - and it's unacceptable that they don't provide bottled water in the rooms each day even though they warn the tap water is not suitable for drinking. Even so, it's better than the usual hotel chains and on balance I'd just about recommend it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Lovely hotel, but not for the price!!!!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
If this was a £100 a night hotel, or even £200 a night hotel, I would have raved about it. We wanted something more intimate, more off-piste and not a big industrial block - however this is one of the MOST EXPENSIVE hotels in the whole of Rio. Don't underestimate how much more expensive this place is compared to other more industrial 5* hotels. So I expected some basic love and attention. We got instead, no free water, intermittent wifi, intermittent towels, a tiny room (until we complained). What annoyed me the most was at over £400 per night breakfast was extra - are you kidding me! However to their credit, after we complained the hotel threw in breakfast within the cost of the room and upgraded us. The pool area is very small, but pretty - however expect to be bitten to shreds by mosquitos - a few anti-mosquito candles would have made a world of difference and this is what I mean by missing the 5* small touches....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kevin P.

Christmas in Rio

Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Ebookers
We stayed in hotel Santa Teresa over Christmas period 2015 and loved it. We would definitely recommend it as the place to stay in Rio. Overall the staff were very helpful and would call out the two female receptionists who worked in the evening who were very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Simon M.

A little gem with some quirks

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Ebookers
I booked the Santa Teresa hotel for two nights before heading to Copacabana for the rest of my stay in Rio. I wanted some place where I could relax and chill out, and the hotel's perfect for that. There's not much to do in the Santa Teresa area - a couple of sites to see, and a fantastic restaurant called Aprazivel, but apart from that, there's not much going on, and it's quite a way into the city (60 Brazilian Real with the hotel's driver to Copacabana). So two nights here suited me perfectly. The staff at check-in were lovely and really helpful. My room was absolutely spotless, and really nicely decorated. The view from the pool is pretty spectacular, and the bar has been voted one of the most romantic, although travelling alone I can't testify to that :) The quirks? Well the wifi is really, really patchy. It struggled to cope with me uploading a photo (so I gave up). But not a big deal really. Also you do notice the security presence at the hotel - which I can totally appreciate as the area does border some favelas, but a friendly 'ola' didn't really result in any answer. I didn't eat in the hotel, so can't comment on that. In short, I enjoyed my stay in Hotel Santa Teresa, and would recommend it - there's a great cafe called Cafe Dos Altos two minutes walk away which does a buffet breakfast on weekends and has an English menu. Some people say the street the hotel's on is incredibly steep, but I didn't find it that bad at all!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely views, disappointing reception service

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is set in a lovely location - wonderful views across Rio. The pool area is great in particular. The restaurant is quite pricey thought the food is really high quality. The bar is relaxed and the serving staff at both were great. HOwever the staff at reception were not helpful in helping us to understand the area which was disappointing. The Wifi is so slow as to be virtually useless. Some of the bath products were all used up after night 2 but none were ever replenished.