Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockholm/Sweden

Väldigt trevligt hotell vid stranden

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Vacker utsikt trevlig personal som pratade bra engelska.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Deluxe hotel next to the beach

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Good hotel , with a great location , pool area is a little old, but facilities are nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Un moment inoubliable à Rio, une expérience à renouveler !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Rip Off

Posted Jan 10, 2016
For what you pay this place is a joke. Service is non existent, room never cleaned properly. Complained but they don't care. They apologise a lot then just carry on. Hotel drinks are expensive, they are building by the pool and the noise is unbearable. Don't stay here till after the Olympics when pool works will be done. OK location, not a private beach at all, but safer then others. don't even think about swimming after a storm, sea is full of human waste. If I paid $100 a night I would rate this 5 but for what I actually paid the service was disgraceful. Stay here only after the Olympics and if you don't mind shoddy service. Also 1 last thing, they keep trying to get you to use their black cabs taxis which are more expensive, just refuse point blank. we were dumb enough to use one and we kept breaking down on the way to the airport which was terrifying inside a tunnel with cars swerving to miss us. yellow cabs are great. a final point, the road outside the hotel becomes 1 way from 6:30 am to 10:30 week days so if you catch a cab back to the hotel at these times the driver has to go miles round the back, they aren't trying to rip you off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Nice hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Our view was amazing.
Cons: Complimentary Internet and water.
Location: Its close to copacabana beach.
Its a 5 star hotel but still you need to pay for the Internet to use.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Great hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Loved the kids club. It is small but they watch kids and take them swimming in pool. Free of charge. Ypu need to catch cab to go out. In my opinion the restaurant inside hotel was not good and nothing to eat is within walking distance. But the kids club makes up for everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beachfront Hotel in Nice Area of Rio

Posted Dec 14, 2015
Pros: Shuttle Service, Helpful Staff, Great pool and beach
Cons: pool tile ready for re-tiling
My wife and I spent this past Thanksgiving week at the Sheraton Grand Rio for our visit to Rio de Janeiro. We reserved a Junior Suite for the week and were very satisfied with our choice. First, we visited several so-called ‘ocean front’ Copacabana and Ipanema hotels; we found congested lobbies requiring a walk across the main boulevard to reach the beach. These factors made us really appreciate the pleasant, uncongested and expansive lobby and private beach adjacent the huge pool area of the Sheraton even more. Some have written about the location of the Sheraton on the outskirts of Leblon as a less desirable location; we found the opposite to be true. Walking from the hotel to Leblon is a short 15 minute walk, but the real gem is the free shuttle that drops you off and picks up at multiple locations along the main drag of Leblon, Ipanema, and Copacabana. We found the concierge staff very helpful in scheduling our shuttle trips and setting up tours of the wonderful sites in Rio. The hotel staff was very friendly and the restaurants served excellent food both at Bene Italian Restaurant in the hotel and at the poolside restaurant, which also had an excellent pizza kitchen. The pool is very large and has an excellent lounging area, and the beach is both visible and accessible from the pool area. There are both poolside and beach attendants to assist with food, drinks, chase lounges, umbrellas, or practically anything else requested. Our room was very comfortable and roomy. W
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel agradável, mas muito caro pelo que oferece

Posted Dec 1, 2015
10 reais por uma água é demais.. Café da manhã que eu achei que estava incluso na diária foi cobrado a parte, 55 reais por pessoa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Holiday to Rio

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: location and really helpful friendly staff
Location: Not much really close by, but within a 15 min walk you can be in the town or 5 mins in a cab which are really cheap and quick too.
We found this hotel to be in a really great location. Staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had an enjoyable stay. Leaving messages on our room phone regularly to check if we had everything we needed. It seems like a really well priced package on expedia and we felt like we got value for money on everything from eating in the restaurants, having drinks by the pool and ordering room service. Pool and beach staff were particularly helpful - one day even bringing down cold flannels for us in the scorching heat. A very welcome surprise. They couldn't have really done more to help make our stay more pleasant. We defo recommend this hotel which is only a short walk or cab ride from Leblon city centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wien

Schön gelegenes Hotel mit Strand, nahe Ipanema

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Sind um 8:00 angekommen und mussten auf unser Zimmer einige Stunden warten. Okay, das war so vorgesehen. Haben die Zeig am Pool verbracht. Das freundliche Personal hat uns das Umkleiden und Aufbewahrung von Gepäck und Kleidung leicht gemacht. Generell sehr freundliches Personal. Etwas langsam jedoch an der Rezeption. Pool ist in Ordnung, etwas älter, Poolliegen in sehr schönem Zustand. Standard Zimmer haben einen schmalen Balkon mit großer Schiebetür. Sehr schönes SPA. Zimmer sind angenehm ausgestattet und in gutem Zustand. Sehr gute Betten. Insgesamt zufrieden, wenn auch der Preis für brasilianische Verhältnisse etwas hoch ist. Diese Information ist von einem Vielreisenden, der sehr viel Zeit in Hotels verbringt ;-)