Ratings based on 532 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W- St Augustine FL

Great beach retreat in a bustling city

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The hotel grounds are absolutely stunning! Loved sleeping with the window cracked so we could hear the ocean waves crashing right below us. It was so nice to come "home" to our hotel after long bays out on the town to relax and have dinner on the expansive patios. The hotel food was delicious. And the staff were terrific! Everyone was warm, friendly and authentic. I'd go again in a millisecond!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Could be better for a 5 Stars!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The checking was not as I expected. The room on the picture looks different in reality. I had to pay for an upgrade. Had to force myself to speak Portuguese just because my name is Portuguese Italian. Parking is very expensive.
4 out of 5
by german

Very good hotel with a very bad breakfast

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel breakfast demerits the hotel as a whole. Too expensive for such bad quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

alllllllmost perfect

Posted Jan 19, 2017
the hotel itself is perfect, the staff as well. it's on it's own little quiet beach which is exactly what we were looking for as we wanted a quiet stay. it's a very nice sheraton property and if it weren't for the amount of kids running wild and screaming, we would definitely rerurn. the only negative is not the hundreds of kids running wild and screaming all over the property, it's the inconsiderate parents who allow this behaviour. i think sheraton should keep some areas adult only. for example, the club lounge- especially during happy hour or the restaurants after 9pm. there were kids running and screaming through the italian restaurant at 10pm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

This is the place to stay with kids

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Pros: Kids Club, Big Rooms,
Cons: Con: You need a taxi to reach the first set of restaurants, shops etc. Pro: It is is not close to the busy parts of Rio.
Location: Beach, Shops, resturants
This is the second year that we stayed at the Sheraton. Its THE place to stay with kids. They have a great kids club (Free of charge) which my children love. It is the only hotel that has beach access.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well appointed hotel a little out of town.

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: The pool area.
Cons: The gym facilities and concierge. Some concierge staff were excellent while others were not so helpful. The system for using hotel cars was unclear.
Location: The hotel is outside the main areas of Rio, making it difficult to access some the of key tourist attractions or restaurants.
Reception were excellent. We had an issue with a leak in the bathroom that was attended to but then we had another wet spot appear in the hall. Otherwise the room was excellent. There was a good pool area and a gym. I was disappointed that fitness classes weren't available as I had used at the Sheraton in Vina de Mar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from istanbul

Nice hotel with private beach

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Enjoyed the beach and the hotel facilitlies. If you wish to be close to night life you may prefer to stay not in Leblon but other places. Hotel personel is pleasant, rooms are clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good quality, reasonably priced, beach hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was generally clean, but a little tired in places, and the rooms were not immaculate - some silly little details like sinks not properly cleaned, damaged bed spreads, etc., but it did not affect the overall experience - Rio Sheraton Grand is a very good 4*+ hotel. Check-in was great, very efficient. The bar & restaurant staff (especially at the Lobby Bar, Martini Bar and L'Etoile) were excellent. (Cosmopolitans in the Martini Bar were delicious. We had the Taster Menu at L'Etoile - it was wonderful, but make sure you're hungry, it looks like tiny dishes, but it's a lot of food! And although the table flatbread is absolutely delicious, try not to fill yourself up and spoil the last couple of courses!) Pool & pool area generally were great. I was not expecting the heat in the adult spa-pool - it was like a hot bath! Poolside drinks service was a wee bit slow - I probably saved myself a fortune - but there was no chance of over-indulging, unless you went to fetch drinks for yourself! Location was super for us as we wanted to be on the beach, but didn't really want to be right on Ipanema or Copacobana. Taxis (& Hotel Cars) were plentiful. Go for a room higher up in the hotel if you can - the views (toward Ipanema in particular) are wonderful - also, in the lower down rooms although you are a stone's throw the beach, you are woken by bird 'song' VERY early in the morning. I also personally felt that higher floors were better from a security perspective.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise in Rio

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Couldn't have asked for better staff who offered us with recommendations and no language barrier.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comment! We are truly happy with your words! Looking forward to see you back! Warmest regards, Isabel Soares dos Santos Quality Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for the family

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great. Staff is very friendly. We'll definitely be back.