Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Very nice hotel, an exceptional view from our room

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The view
The view from our balcony was really nice, the hotel is on the highest point of Santa Teresa. The staff were very nice, helpfull, always there for us, specially Liz, Sarah and Denis. I would recommend.
4 out of 5
by jacques from Oakville Ontario

Overlookin the city is priceless!

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
My Wife and I stay 3 nights at the Villa. We whent by Taxi from Leblon but the driver went around the city instead of going direct and we end up paying double price. He though we didn't nothing about the distance, but we new... The Hotel is far from city center and tourist attractions. The overlooking of the city is priceless! Good food at Jack & Jack restaurant. Dog barking can be disturbing but overall it was a good stay.
5 out of 5
by Karen from Bristol

The best views of Rio

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
This is an exceptionally good hotel for the price! The staff were also really helpful, with the exception of the night person who was more interested in using the computer than the guests. The room had amazing views over Rio and was beautiful. Good breakfast too.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of the worst

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
the first night, the toilet was not working properly and i called for room service to fix it and they told me the maintenance team will be here in the morning. the next morning i there was no water at all in my unit and i though its like that for the hall hotel but i found its only my room. When I asked to change my room they said all rooms are occupied then I told them i'll go out for 2-3 hours and i hope it will be fixed. they promised to be fixed once i'm back. after 3 hourse, the room still without water. So, i decieded to check out and they told me that i'll be refunded but still nothing happened... I never had such an axperiance before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Rhiannon D.

Stunning Hotel!

Posted Apr 5, 2016 on Ebookers
This is a a little hidden gem of a hotel in the bohemian hills of Santa Teresa with possibly the best views of Rio including Sugar Loaf mountain and Christ the Redeemer. Perfect for couples enjoying a romantic break. The hotel staff are lovely and helpful and they have a swimming pool and restaurant on site which serves a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit, ham and cheese, fresh fruit juice and cereals. The location isn't central so you will have to take a taxi to Copacabana and Ipanema but taxis are very cheap and only costs £6 to get to the beaches. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Georgia from Las Vegas

Villa Rio

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful. Probably one of the best views in rio. We stayed in the Ipanema suite. It was the best. Loved it. It was a shame that their pool wasn't very clean and poorly maintained. Other than that it was perfect.
4 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Best views of Rio from your own terrace!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: The views!! The hotel is a handsome property overall. Breakfast was good and we had a nice meal in the restaurant.
Cons: Some upkeep needed here and there. Internet is not very good. Not all reception staff speak English. Access to coffee outside breakfast and dinner.
Location: Nothing else close by unless you like walking steep hills; you have to rely on taxis. The restaurant is fine, so you don't have to go out for dinner
We stayed in one of the suites with a private terrace for a couple of days and enjoyed it very much. The view really is unbeatable, specially at dawn! Our room was nicely designed and beautiful, but perhaps not the most practical. Our A/C was struggling when it was 35 C outside. The sliding doors didn't really slide very well and the lack of a door to the bathroom (by design) felt a bit awkward to us, a couple with a child (10 years old). We had an extra bed in our room for our son, which worked fine, but this really is a couples' place. Stairs are steep so not suitable for smaller children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great place for a authentic Brazilian experience

Posted Jan 2, 2016
The rooms were clean and updated. The staff was friendly but sometimes there was a language barrier when communicating. We had problems with the wifi the whole time and had to ask for fresh towels and our fridge to be restocked. Nothing major. The restaurant is basic and not always opened. So be prepared to go out for food. The pool and view is beautiful. Although it is about a 15-20 min taxi ride to the main beaches it is really cheap and well worth it to stay in Santa Teresa. We never had problems getting around. This hotel was more authentic and less of a tourist trap in comparison to the major chain hotels on the coast line. It really depends on the kind of trip you are looking to have. We loved our stay at the Villa Rio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Stef, Thank you for your review, your feedback is very important for us in order to serve you better everytime. We feel glad for being able to provide our guest glad moments and we hope to have you back as soon as possible in Rio de Janeiro. Best regards,
5 out of 5
by LEOVINA from Miami- Florida.USA

Second Honey Moon

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was great , services great . Carlos & Luis in the front desk are very helpful. The young guy in the cafeteria, every morning with a good smile and care about any detail that what we need . For me was like a second best honey moon ever.. Very quiet neighborhood, awesome views . The only recommendation from my husband side, he suggest to put air conditioning in the lobby.. Mosquitos are very big. Beside that no complaints.. Good memories
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2016 by Carlos, Hotel Management
Dear Leovina, Thank you for your review! The hotel feels extremely glad in being able to provide memorable moments to our guests. We hope to have you back, please feel always welcome at the Villa Hotel. Best regards, The Villa Staff